Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Hert
Posts: 7870
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Hert »

Le_Lion_07 wrote:then once the replication is done, rename it with "Événements" which is the correct word in french. Maybe an issue with the code ? (UTF-8 ?)
Try this;

Code: Select all

    if Catalog.EnumCategoryNamed (UTF8Decode('Événements'), ACategory) then        // enable this line instead of the next on to find a category by name
if not Catalog.EnumPropName(AParent, AStruct.Strings, AProp, True) then // also search synonyms; you could change that is desired
what to do to disable the research of synonyms ?


Lookup for the function here:
http://www.idimager.com/repository/docu ... atalog.htm

And you'll find

Code: Select all

function EnumPropName (AParentGUID: String; AName: WideString; AProp: TCatalogItemProp; AWithSynonyms: Boolean = False): Boolean;
This is a user-to-user forum. If you have suggestions, requests or need support then please send a message
Le_Lion_07
Posts: 99
Joined: 18 Sep 11 14:19
Location: Annonay, Ardèche, France
Contact:

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Le_Lion_07 »

if Catalog.EnumCategoryNamed (UTF8Decode('Événements'), ACategory) then // enable this line instead of the next on to find a category by name
Issue solved ! :D. Bravo !

For synonyms, I'll look at the documentation.

Thank you for all...
La poésie est inutile, donc indispensable.
L'importance du regard...
Tant qu'il y aura des étoiles...
Le_Lion_07
Posts: 99
Joined: 18 Sep 11 14:19
Location: Annonay, Ardèche, France
Contact:

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Le_Lion_07 »

Hi again.

Well, it does not work as I (and my friend) want. The idea is :
- when a metadata is a keyword (dc:subject), the label created in the catalog should be... a keyword ("Create keyword for this label" enabled),
- when a metadata is NOT a keyword (i.e., an event, or a person in image, or rights, or creator, etc.), the label created in the catalog should not be a keyword ("Do not create keyword for this label" enabled) AND the label should be mapped to its field (i.e., for rights : dc:rights, or for event : Iptc4xmpExt:Event, etc.).

My friend sent to me yesterday a (long) email, where he explains his first impress with PSU. He says that he used the import menu option "Import from MediaPro". But (if I understood well) the result was : all the metadata were converted (in catalog structure) in keywords and none of them (which were mapped to a field like "Event" ot "Creator", etc.) were mapped to the corresponding field. Maybe am I wrong ?

He was expecting that the import will create the original structure from his MP catalog : keywords as keywords (dc:subjects), events as events (Iptc4xmpExt:Event), etc. He does not want (and I must say : I agree) all his catalog label as keywords (except of course these which were keywords in MP).

No so simple to explain in english :( . Please tell me for more explanation...
La poésie est inutile, donc indispensable.
L'importance du regard...
Tant qu'il y aura des étoiles...
Hert
Posts: 7870
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Hert »

The MediaPro import does what the name says: import the data from MediaPro. How catalog labels are mapped to keywords or other fields is not part of the MediaPro import. The import gives him/her a big jump start as (s)he doesn't have to start from scratch but can start from the lots of data that PSU imports from MediaPro. How labels are mapped is outside of the scope of a data import.

If your friend don't want keywords for Events then he can make the Event category private. And if your friend wants to map catalog labels in the Events category then (s)he can configure the catalog labels to append to the Iptc4xmpExt:Event property.

BTW; in IMHO events and people should also be written as "keywords". The term "keyword" is not fully correct...it's named dc:subject and the event and people in the image are also subjects of the image.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you have suggestions, requests or need support then please send a message
Le_Lion_07
Posts: 99
Joined: 18 Sep 11 14:19
Location: Annonay, Ardèche, France
Contact:

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Le_Lion_07 »

Thank you for information. But is it possible to ask a script to do such thing ? I mean : a script is able to replicate informations directly from each photo to the catalog. Could a script also enable "Do not create keyword for this label" and automatically map the metadata to the correct field during replication (I have absolutely no idea of the answer) ?
La poésie est inutile, donc indispensable.
L'importance du regard...
Tant qu'il y aura des étoiles...
Le_Lion_07
Posts: 99
Joined: 18 Sep 11 14:19
Location: Annonay, Ardèche, France
Contact:

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Le_Lion_07 »

Well, my friend became from a few days a new user of PSU... He bought Photo Supreme.

We previously talked about dam - essentially Daminion and PSU. He finally chose PSU because of several reasons (as I know he looks from time to time at the forum - he'll explain himself with more details, if he wants), including PSU appearance and the full control of catalog structure. He is really affected with photo management and he is ready to "work" (hard) to build a nice catalog. But... he is part of these photographers who :
- already used an other dam (iView), so have their pictures with metadata previously included,
- use keywords for what they are, meaning : information about the content of a photo,
- use also other IPTC/XMP fields : events, persons in image, creators, etc.
- don't want a catalog label to be keyword AND event (or person in image, or creator, etc.).

As he said, by using Daminion, "All the job is done" : so he would have his complete catalog structure rebuilt from metadata, with nothing else to do. With PSU, he must rebuild himself the catalog. I know : he can use the import menu or scripts to replicate metadata from files to catalog, but... he now has to open each catalog label (except keywords, of course), to switch metadata parameters from "Create a keyword for this label" to "Don't create a keyword for this label" (it is faster to make the concerned category private), and, above all, to map each label to the corresponding IPTC field...

What I would say is : by discussing with several french photographers looking for a dam, most part of them don't understand why PSU does not operate as Daminion does... Build a catalog structure, ready to use, with catalog labels parameters in accordance with their status : keyword as keyword, event as event (= automatically mapped to Iptc4xmpExt:event AND not mapped to dc:subject), etc.

I am not a programmer (I was many years ago... far away) and maybe this is not possible. But if it is (as an option, for instance), I am sure that it would be very appreciate - at least by people who like the fabulous possibilities of PSU but who don't like to be obliged to do again what they previously did.
La poésie est inutile, donc indispensable.
L'importance du regard...
Tant qu'il y aura des étoiles...
Hert
Posts: 7870
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Hert »

Le_Lion_07 wrote:But... he is part of these photographers who :
- already used an other dam (iView), so have their pictures with metadata previously included,
- use keywords for what they are, meaning : information about the content of a photo,
- use also other IPTC/XMP fields : events, persons in image, creators, etc.
- don't want a catalog label to be keyword AND event (or person in image, or creator, etc.).
You mean work in the way that their former tool does and "use keywords in the way that some other tool does". I've been in the Image Management software for over 10 years and IDimager and later PSU have always worked to write catalog labels (including the event category) to dc:subject. Simply because an event is just as descriptive about an image as is the person on the image, as is the object on the image.
Never before did I receive remarks about this, not even from the many former iView/EM/MP users who already switched to PSU. If someone would expect PSU to be identical to their former tool then I would see no reason to stop using their existing tool. Switching tools means switching approaches and accepting differences within those tools. I personally would be very annoyed if my DAM tool wouldn't write events or people as keywords, only to conclude that most other products and services out there don't even know what events and people tags are and they will completely ignore that part of the metadata. No, please let PSU write everything to dc:subject....because everything is part of the subject.

But luckily there are just as "large groups of photographers" who have successfully converted from iView and ExpressionMedia and MediaPro and Daminion and iMatch and Aperture and Lightroom and ACDsee and Thumbsplus and what more to Photo Supreme.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you have suggestions, requests or need support then please send a message
vlad
Posts: 895
Joined: 01 Sep 08 14:20

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by vlad »

Le_Lion_07 wrote:... he now has to open each catalog label (except keywords, of course), to switch metadata parameters from "Create a keyword for this label" to "Don't create a keyword for this label" (it is faster to make the concerned category private), and, above all, to map each label to the corresponding IPTC field...
I think the main problem here is the each label part. You and your friend may want to add your vote to the label bulk-edit feature request, I've just added mine:
http://bugs.idimager.com/view.php?id=1475
Hert
Posts: 7870
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Hert »

I've acknowledged that ticket
This is a user-to-user forum. If you have suggestions, requests or need support then please send a message
Le_Lion_07
Posts: 99
Joined: 18 Sep 11 14:19
Location: Annonay, Ardèche, France
Contact:

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Le_Lion_07 »

IDimager wrote:But luckily there are just as "large groups of photographers" who have successfully converted from iView and ExpressionMedia and MediaPro and Daminion and iMatch and Aperture and Lightroom and ACDsee and Thumbsplus and what more to Photo Supreme.
Yes, I am one of these photographers.

I just reported what I talked about with other possible users of PSU... Fortunately, I began with IDi v.5 and I appreciate PSU for what it is : a really good dam, with many possibilities, etc. But what can I say to people who would switch from their actual dam to PSU and who don't do that because PSU follows its own way to build the catalog structure ? That's all.

vlad : yes, this request could help. I add my vote.
La poésie est inutile, donc indispensable.
L'importance du regard...
Tant qu'il y aura des étoiles...
Hert
Posts: 7870
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Hert »

Fortunately, I began with IDi v.5 and I appreciate PSU for what it is
You're not saying that IDi5 does this, are you? ;)

Back to the request; I can only valid reasons to write the "persons in the image" array for catalog labels in the People category.

And for event...Event could be written when there is exactly one catalog label for the event category assigned (event is not a bag type).
Best to log tickets for feature requests
This is a user-to-user forum. If you have suggestions, requests or need support then please send a message
RandV
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 Jul 14 11:06
Location: Lille, France

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by RandV »

Le_Lion_07 wrote : and, above all, to map each label to the corresponding IPTC field...
I’m new to this forum, and will try to make my contribution as clear as possible : as Le Lion 07 explained, I use Media Pro for cataloging, and Lightroom (mostly) for developing, and I expect my metadata to sync with LR of course. I add metadata to my photos for my personal use only, just to be able to find them in a few years’ time, nothing professional. I am discovering PSU, which I reckon is quite extraordinary, there’s no question about it.
Now, there are two different things in what’s just been said :
One is writing catalog labels in dc:subject. True, I’m not used to it, but I can see Hert has a point there (it is dc:subject, not dc:keyword) and anyway he built PSU in such a way each user can choose to create the keyword or leave that option aside. So fine and clever. That’s all right for me.
The second thing bothers me and I need your advice to check my ideas hereunder : when I imported the first photos, I thought the catalog would have been automatically filled with the new people/places… previously tagged according to IPTC fields (as would have been in the Organize Panel of Media Pro). See, I open this new soft, with all the well-known labels like places, events, people, etc. and my metadata (other than keywords) are not added to the catalog labels ? not even places ? Surprise !
Having worked a bit, I guess there are two ways to get my metadata other than keywords in the right fields (places in places, event in event and so on) :
(and first of all, it seems a good idea to convert to xmp) :
A, I would create the label “Event A” in the catalog (section Events), carefully stating the mapping to the IPTC field (for future use so that next photos will get it replicated in their xmps, but then the bulk-edit feature will be nice), then I filter all my photos with the “event A”, match them with the newly created catalog label “Event A”, and that’s it, I can now select them via the catalog label. But this is manual where automatic would have been comfortable.
B, I would use the script Hert posted (obviously it will save time for places), I tested it ok, but then as it relates to places only, I would need to adapt it for other fields and I’m not a programmer.

Anyway, if I’m correct, in either case, and this applies to every user, not only to newcomers to PSU : if I later import another photo, any correctly tagged photo coming from anywhere, PSU will not automatically add this new one to the catalog labels. For example, if I add a new photo tagged (photoshop:country) “France”, even if the IPTC mapping has been previously specified for the label France, that photo won’t be added to the catalog label place/country “France” : am I correct ? I would have to manually drag the new photo to that label, or use a script, without forgetting to do it, is that right ?

Let’s say the switching to PSU requires a certain work in the first place, that doesn’t matter to me because it is a matter of time and it’s worth it. But in the routinely tasks, is there any way to add automatically to the catalog labels ? Maybe I missed something here because I have just arrived in that world of PSU, so can anyone tell me if I correctly understood the handling of PSU ?
I’m in no hurry, my metadata (systematically keywords and places naturally, sometimes people or events but I want to get keener about it) will not evaporate, I know cataloging requires time, and I can see PSU is a very good tool I will use during the next months to switch from MP.
Thanks to Hert, and thanks to Le Lion 07 who introduced me to PSU.
Le_Lion_07
Posts: 99
Joined: 18 Sep 11 14:19
Location: Annonay, Ardèche, France
Contact:

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Le_Lion_07 »

RandV wrote: I would use the script Hert posted (obviously it will save time for places), I tested it ok, but then as it relates to places only, I would need to adapt it for other fields and I’m not a programmer.
I've send to RandV several scripts previously adapted for other fields (event, creator, persons, etc.). Hope it will help.
La poésie est inutile, donc indispensable.
L'importance du regard...
Tant qu'il y aura des étoiles...
RandV
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 Jul 14 11:06
Location: Lille, France

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by RandV »

Thank you, Le_Lion_07, I'm going to have a look at those scripts,

Concerning my first post, I realize I should have listed a 3rd method, for it is evidently the best one as far as the original (I mean already documented) IPTC fields are concerned : it is simply using the media pro import feature, Hert already told about it, sorry !
That leaves the sole question about newly imported photos, which would already be documented, applying to every user.
And the label bulk-edit feature, yes vlad.
Hert
Posts: 7870
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Replicate informations from metadata to catalog

Post by Hert »

Anyway, if I’m correct, in either case, and this applies to every user, not only to newcomers to PSU : if I later import another photo, any correctly tagged photo coming from anywhere, PSU will not automatically add this new one to the catalog labels. For example, if I add a new photo tagged (photoshop:country) “France”, even if the IPTC mapping has been previously specified for the label France, that photo won’t be added to the catalog label place/country “France” : am I correct ? I would have to manually drag the new photo to that label, or use a script, without forgetting to do it, is that right ?
That is correct. You can also ask yourself: why would I create a catalog label for country. Your goal is to have this information in the photoshop:Country and it's already there....and you don't want it as a dc:subject. Then what would having a catalog label "France" add to your catalog? Why not just enter France in the field "Country" by using the GPS module or the Image Details?
This is a user-to-user forum. If you have suggestions, requests or need support then please send a message
Post Reply