Issues with V2024 on startup

tstoddard
Posts: 595
Joined: 07 Sep 12 11:51

Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by tstoddard »

I'm running Photo Supreme 2024 single user build 6300 and I'm still experiencing issues when I first open the program. If I try to do anything, like just clicking on a different image or folder, the system will become unresponsive and I'll have to shut it down and restart. Sometimes this will happen 2 or 3 times before I'm able to start using the application. Once it starts working, everything is fine. Is anybody else experiencing this?
Tom Stoddard
G8DHE
Posts: 679
Joined: 21 Aug 17 12:58

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by G8DHE »

Yes, but after clearing out problems with missing thumbnails and some corrupted files then most of the problem have been resolved, there is still a longer time than previous before the program becomes responsive after first loading, I tend to click first and make sure the "not responding" in the windows title frame doesn't appear, if it does then a few added seconds before I start doing anything .....
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)
tstoddard
Posts: 595
Joined: 07 Sep 12 11:51

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by tstoddard »

What's odd to me is that it only seems to happen when I first open Photo Supreme after restarting my PC. If I wait long enough for PS to become responsive then I can shut it down and open it again and not have the long delay or it not becoming unresponsive. Whatever it's doing when I first open it is taking a while and causing this issue. My system is getting a little old. I'm running Windows 10 Home with an Intel I7 3770k cpu and 16 gig of ram. I don't know if a newer system would be suffering from the same issues.

It would help if Photo Supreme would open a splash screen or dialog to tell me to wait while it prepares itself. At least then, I would know something is happening and know just how long I need to wait.
Tom Stoddard
Mke
Posts: 675
Joined: 15 Jun 14 14:39

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by Mke »

tstoddard wrote: 23 Mar 24 15:54 I'm running Windows 10 Home with an Intel I7 3770k cpu and 16 gig of ram. I don't know if a newer system would be suffering from the same issues.
It's running OK on my laptop so far, which has a lower spec CPU & less memory than yours (+ Windows 10 Pro), so I don't imagine that's the issue.
Ralf
Posts: 134
Joined: 19 Jan 19 13:37

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by Ralf »

I also have the same problem with the new version; every time I open it I have to wait at least 30 seconds until I can click on something. If I click in front of it, PSU hangs.
I also had to redate all of my pictures from 1899, yes they exist, because otherwise PSU wouldn't calm down at all

That's just annoying and since then I've been working more on the folder structure again.
Ralf
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hobby photographer with many pictures (> 100000) of the family over generations.
(Excuse my english)
Hert
Posts: 7790
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by Hert »

Try this:

1. Close PSU
2. Press the Shift key
3. Start PSU while keeping the SHift key pressed until about 10 seconds after PSU started

This bypasses the startup "catalog imperfection checks".

Now find the oddities in your catalog

A. In Timeline, check if there are entries with a 0 year or 30 December 1899
A1. If so, select all thumbs with 0 year and 1899 year
A2. Right click on a selected thumb
A3. Select "Metadata -> Read Metadata from file"

Wait for this to complete. Depending on the number of files this can take a while. If it blasts through the files then check if these files are stored on a medium that is present. It so, check if the files exists on the file system

B. Select Tools -> Build Missing Thumbs and Previews

Wait for this to complete

Once you have lined up the catalog then on startup there should be no delay. If this continues then again start with the Shift key pressed and try to trace the oddities in the catalog as mentioned in A and B
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
BertiIrmo
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Nov 07 12:59
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by BertiIrmo »

Hi, maybe it's all to do with the virus scanner or Win 10? I only have version 2023, but for a few months now all programmes have been opening after a few minutes (it feels like). A year ago it was only a few seconds (same operating system and same virus scanner).
Ralf
Posts: 134
Joined: 19 Jan 19 13:37

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by Ralf »

I have carried out steps A to A4, but the behavior persists several times (at least for me). There are no more jobs in the background or error messages. The only thing left is to wait a long time and don't click anywhere beforehand.
I generally no longer have virus scanners on the image files and catalog files
Ralf
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hobby photographer with many pictures (> 100000) of the family over generations.
(Excuse my english)
tstoddard
Posts: 595
Joined: 07 Sep 12 11:51

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by tstoddard »

Same for me.
Tom Stoddard
Hert
Posts: 7790
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by Hert »

So even when starting Psu while holding the Shift key until ~10 seconds after starting you get the delay?

If do then it’s not related to the new catalog health check on startup.

Try closing all the tabs then restart Psu.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
Ralf
Posts: 134
Joined: 19 Jan 19 13:37

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by Ralf »

I tried it again,
- this is not possible with the shift key,
without the shift key I have to wait a long time.

As I said, I've gotten through everything from A to A4 and no more jobs come through. I and PSU can no longer find any error in the data.

If I can bypass the check with Shift, why can't I generally configure it not to be carried out?
Ralf
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hobby photographer with many pictures (> 100000) of the family over generations.
(Excuse my english)
Hert
Posts: 7790
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by Hert »

What do you mean with "this is not possible with the Shift key"?

The only difference between starting with the Shift key pressed and not pressed is that the catalog health check takes place when the Shift key is not pressed.
BTW; it is important to have a healthy catalog, hence why this check was built in. I personally was very surprised how many existing users turned out to have incomplete catalogs. Only incomplete catalogs will be affected by this check.

You mentioned that you did the A steps, did you also do the B step?
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
Ralf
Posts: 134
Joined: 19 Jan 19 13:37

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by Ralf »

I did step B once, before the last update. Because it takes a long time, I didn't do it again after the update. Otherwise I can happily repeat it again

Sorry, my translated English:
What I meant was that if I press the Shift key, I can continue working almost immediately
Ralf
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hobby photographer with many pictures (> 100000) of the family over generations.
(Excuse my english)
Ralf
Posts: 134
Joined: 19 Jan 19 13:37

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by Ralf »

I started step B and “1 process” appeared briefly and then it disappeared again.
There is currently no indication that the hard drive or PSU is working. I'll wait a bit again in case there are still tests running in the background
Ralf
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hobby photographer with many pictures (> 100000) of the family over generations.
(Excuse my english)
vkfoto
Posts: 277
Joined: 19 Oct 16 2:51

Re: Issues with V2024 on startup

Post by vkfoto »

tstoddard wrote: 23 Mar 24 15:54 ...

It would help if Photo Supreme would open a splash screen or dialog to tell me to wait while it prepares itself. At least then, I would know something is happening and know just how long I need to wait.
While waiting for a splash screen, etc., open Task Manager to see what if any activity is reported for the CPU, Memory, Disk , Network and Power usage for IDImagerSU. As long as they are changing, it is still working. If nothing changes for some time, I assume it died.
Post Reply