How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post Reply
rolandgifford
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Oct 21 18:52

How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by rolandgifford »

I have a large number of images which have GPS coordinates against them but they are included in the Not GEO Tagged count. How do I fix this?
I've tried Convert metadata to XMP which had no effect. I didn't expect that it would but tried anyway.

I'm not concerned about the count itself but the status. I filter images based on whether they are GEO Tagged or not
Hert
Posts: 7314
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by Hert »

Image Details, open the Technical section and check the GEO coordinates. If there are coordinates then they should appear in the GEO Tagged State. Images in the Not GEO Tagged state should never have coordinates there.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
rolandgifford
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Oct 21 18:52

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by rolandgifford »

There are coordinates
It is selected by a search including Not GEO Tagged
Hert
Posts: 7314
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by Hert »

If you go to States -> Not Geo Tagged then images with coordinates, like the one you mentioned, is not there. Right?

Maybe share a screenshot of how you constructed your search operation.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
rolandgifford
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Oct 21 18:52

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by rolandgifford »

If I select States -> Not GEO Tagged then it shows me these particular images with coordinates. I can see them using either the GEO Tag or Details/Technical option.

My Dynamic search is a simple one. It includes Not GEO Tagged and a catalogue label which has been assigned to all images in my latest import.

My camera and my phone record coordinates but my wife's camera doesn't. The first stage of my workflow after import (done using the latest single user PS downloaded just before the import) is to identify images with no coordinates. I then process all of these against a GPX track and finally look for ones which have been missed by that and do individual location searches for those.

I have been doing a little experimenting since my last message and I can't clear the GPS data against them. I was wondering if clearing the GPS data for an image increases the count by one. If I clear GPS data against the Technical Section in details (accepting the warning and clicking OK) the count doesn't change. If I go to a different image then back to the one I have tried to update, the GPS data is still there.

The problem files that I'm experimenting with are from my wife's camera which doesn't record GPS so the coordinates on those images have come from PS checking against a GPX track. I'm trying to avoid GPS recorded elsewhere being the source of the problem.
Hert
Posts: 7314
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by Hert »

Try reading metadata to catalog.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
rolandgifford
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Oct 21 18:52

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by rolandgifford »

How do I do that? I can't find that option
Hert
Posts: 7314
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by Hert »

Right click, Metadata, Read metadata from file
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
rolandgifford
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Oct 21 18:52

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by rolandgifford »

I've done that.

Using files from my wife's camera which doesn't do its own GPS, all GPS data was removed from PS
I then scanned some of those against a GPX file which found GPS which I updated.

No change to the Not GEO Tagged number at any stage

Manually adding GPS data to a single file (copy/paste) also doesn't affect the Not GEO Tagged count
Hert
Posts: 7314
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by Hert »

Please contact support (see my signature below) because it in my opinion it is absolutely impossible to have an image in "Not GEO Tagged" when there are coordinates.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
rolandgifford
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Oct 21 18:52

Re: How to fix Geo-tagged status

Post by rolandgifford »

I agree that it shouldn't be possible, but it is.

I have restored version 4366 which works as we both expect. After installing the 4393 update the Not GEO tagged count isn't updated.

I will contact support
Post Reply