V7: Folder with versions shows always main version

Post Reply
tumirnix
Posts: 39
Joined: 27 Jan 08 10:01
Location: Germany

V7: Folder with versions shows always main version

Post by tumirnix »

Hello,
after the (smooth) upgrade of PSU from version 6 to 7 I have the following issue:
I have some folders where I place versions for further editing. When I enter such a folder, PSU shows me always initially the main version (from another folder). That's a bit cumbersome, because I have to switch always the version before I can open the editor.
Is there a chance to switch it back to PSU 6 behavior?
Thanks in advance
Martin
Hert
Posts: 7402
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: V7: Folder with versions shows always main version

Post by Hert »

The "Version Set Display" preference setting (Preferences -> Catalog -> Versions) has returned in build 4303.

You can download this update from the Control Panel
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
tumirnix
Posts: 39
Joined: 27 Jan 08 10:01
Location: Germany

Re: V7: Folder with versions shows always main version

Post by tumirnix »

Hi Hert,
I'm a bit confused. Today got the version 7.1.0.4306, does this contain your mentioned feature?
I found in the "Version Set display" field, which has 2 options:
  • As a Set in Categories
  • Always together as a Set
Screenshot of my PSU 7 preferences
Screenshot of my PSU 7 preferences
20220510_PSU7_Preferences.png (102.99 KiB) Viewed 1340 times
I wonder which one would show me the image in the current folder on top (and not the main version).
Thanks in advance
Martin
Hert
Posts: 7402
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: V7: Folder with versions shows always main version

Post by Hert »

"As a set in categories"
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
tumirnix
Posts: 39
Joined: 27 Jan 08 10:01
Location: Germany

Re: V7: Folder with versions shows always main version

Post by tumirnix »

Hi Hert,
thanks for the answer. I have the settings "As a set in categories" and it seems that there is another bug.
When I enter the folder, I see
When entering the folder
When entering the folder
20220511_PSU7_Versions1.png (121.96 KiB) Viewed 1266 times
The images of this folder are shown, but the main version is marked.

When I click for the first image on the first version, it changes to:
After clicking on the (1) of the first image
After clicking on the (1) of the first image
20220511_PSU7_Versions2.png (120.63 KiB) Viewed 1266 times
The image and capture is not changed.

When I click again on the main version for the first image, the result is:
After clicking on the main version of the first image
After clicking on the main version of the first image
20220511_PSU7_Versions3.png (160.37 KiB) Viewed 1266 times
This is the main version with the corresponding file name.

Best regards
Martin
fbungarz
Posts: 1773
Joined: 08 Dec 06 4:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: V7: Folder with versions shows always main version

Post by fbungarz »

Hi Hert,
great that this version display option has returned. As you know I have much been looking forward to this. Very nice also, that you introduced the hamburger menu with more options how to manage the versions and the right-click menu on the tabs. Also, cycling through versions is now much faster. Excellent!
But Martin is right, when he noticed that, when the versions are displayed side-by side in folder view, the tab is always highlighted as the main version, and not as the tab the version actually refers too.

It should look like this:
PSU_new-versions.jpg
PSU_new-versions.jpg (187.47 KiB) Viewed 1243 times
Unfortunately, it looks like this:
PSU_new-versions_incorrect.jpg
PSU_new-versions_incorrect.jpg (153.81 KiB) Viewed 1243 times
So - although the correct versions are shown side-by-side (in "As Set In Categories"), the wrong version tab is displayed for each single version.

Sorry - that I did not notice this before.

Thanks,
Frank
fbungarz
Posts: 1773
Joined: 08 Dec 06 4:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: V7: Folder with versions shows always main version

Post by fbungarz »

And, of course, which particular tab is shown is really important, when you select from which tab to cascade, change placeholders, etc., etc....
Again, really sorry that I overlooked that. I was just too busy.
Post Reply