Darwin Core XMP updated for use with PSU

Post Reply
fbungarz
Posts: 3209
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Galapagos, Ecuador

Darwin Core XMP updated for use with PSU

Post by fbungarz » 08 Feb 13 19:48

Hello everyone,
Today we released an updated version of the Darwin Core XMP that can be downloaded with detailed instructions at the IDimager Resource Repository:
http://repository.idimager.com/cgi-bin/ ... b348f63358

Some Context:
2010 the Charles Darwin Foundation for the Galapagos Islands originally launched this XMP implementation of the Darwin Core (DwC at http://rs.tdwg.org/dwc/index.htm) be used with IDimager Pro Version 5. For some background information also see the original post at http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=12712

With IDI Pro 5 discontinued we have been looking for alternatives to continue using the DwC XMP.
Unlike IDI Pro, 5 Photo Supreme no longer has full built in XMP support. It no longer permits creating Custom XMP but continues to at least read custom XMP. To still be able to write Custom XMP like the DwC you will need to apply some tweaks; Weidmic put together some instructions at Picolo:
http://picolo-photography.com/psu

Also:
Phil Harvey has now updated his Exif Tool so that it also reads and write DwC XMP metadata:
http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/exiftool/foru ... pic=4442.0

This means any software that makes use of ExifTool can also now read and write DwC XMP.

I hope with this new release the DwC will be more widely adapted for people who work with Photography and are looking for a way to manage Biodiversity Metadata with their photos.

Cheers,
Frank

Hert
Posts: 21124
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Darwin Core XMP updated for use with PSU

Post by Hert » 08 Feb 13 20:07

To still be able to write Custom XMP like the DwC you will need to apply some tweaks; Weidmic put together some instructions at Picolo:
http://picolo-photography.com/psu
This is false information. You don't need any tweaks to be able to read/write custom XMP with PSU

You know, I don't understand why you don't form your own opinion or verify information instead of basing it on "what you hear". If you make statements then validate them first. Approach it more scientifically. .

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

fbungarz
Posts: 3209
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Galapagos, Ecuador

Re: Darwin Core XMP updated for use with PSU

Post by fbungarz » 08 Feb 13 23:09

Dear Hert,
sorry, but I am really confused now. :shock:
You yourself explained that it was necessary to copy the IDI DWC XMP into PSU to be able to write to it:
http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=22534

Perhaps I should have cited your post and not just the more detailed instructions on the Picolo Website???
:oops:

Frank
Last edited by fbungarz on 08 Feb 13 23:29, edited 1 time in total.

fbungarz
Posts: 3209
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Galapagos, Ecuador

Re: Darwin Core XMP updated for use with PSU

Post by fbungarz » 08 Feb 13 23:16

Also:
You might have noticed that I also mentioned to Franz-Benjamin, that he is not correct that PSU does not write to custom XMP:
http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=22536

So - I REALLY have no clue why you are upset and accuse me of making "false claims". If I understand all this correctly (and please correct me if I am wrong):

(1) PSU can create custom XMP but ONLY as simple text fields and then write to these fields.
(2) If you want to use any existing custom XMP that you previously used in IDI you have to copy over the template into PSU to do so, thus effectively "tweaking" PSU to be able to write to those namespaces.
(3) In IDI Pro 5 you can import the XMP definition file directly and do NOT need to copy it into your applications folder. You can then modify Image Details to display the fields you want.
From what you wrote and the Picolo instructions it seems necessary to copy the files into your application folder. Am I mistaken? Is there an easier way? Sorry: PSU documentation is really scant and I have not yet found a way how else one can directly load custom XMP definitions into PSU and then tweak what metadata fields are displayed. So - this means one needs to "tweak" PSU to be able to use the DwC XMP.

Hert
Posts: 21124
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Darwin Core XMP updated for use with PSU

Post by Hert » 08 Feb 13 23:35

When you want to use a custom schema like DwC in IDimager you also need to copy over the files. So what's the difference? PSU doesn't offer the editor schema designer. That's it. All the rest is identical. PSU adds its own custom fields. That's extra.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Hert
Posts: 21124
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Darwin Core XMP updated for use with PSU

Post by Hert » 08 Feb 13 23:41

Ok. Got it now. The devil is in the details and you call copying files to a folder tweaking. That's fine by me, though I wouldn't call it like that. Tweaking would be non-standard editing of configurations to change the intended behavior.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

fbungarz
Posts: 3209
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Galapagos, Ecuador

Re: Darwin Core XMP updated for use with PSU

Post by fbungarz » 30 Jun 16 8:08

Just a quick note (DISCLAIMER):
It turns out that using the method described above to set up PSu to be used with the Darwin Core correctly reads all tags previously embedded with IDI v5, but PSu unfortunately writes the DwC XMP tags incorrectly.
This problem is now being addressed with the release of PSu 3.3 beta, which fully supports DwC XMP (both reading and writing). The beta can be downloaded here:
http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=24186

Personally I have found this beta version to be very stable and am happily using it. That does not mean it does not contain a few bugs (reported in Mantis) that will need to be addressed before the release.

Post Reply