So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post Reply
RickHeath
Posts: 308
Joined: 14 Nov 07 15:06
Location: Bolton, United Kingdom

So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by RickHeath » 16 Oct 12 0:02

I've installed the trial of Photo Supreme and imported some photos as a test but I can't see how to do some of the simple things I would normally do in IDI.
  • How do I set which version of A RAW + JPG set is the Album version on import (I would usually have the JPG as "Album display"), in fact how do I even see what the versions are for an image? (Lack of a version detection Wizard is a major one for me too, but that has been discussed elsewhere!)
  • How do I rotate the thumbnail for cameras that don't automatically embed this info (so easy in IDI)?
I've tried looking in the help but that seems rather sparse on info (& not much help)!

Rick.

jstartin
Posts: 441
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by jstartin » 16 Oct 12 0:44

RickHeath wrote: How do I set which version of A RAW + JPG set is the Album version on import
Option at the very end of the bottom section of the import dialog. See attached screen capture.
in fact how do I even see what the versions are for an image?
Look for the "tabs" projecting from the right of thumbs for version sets. Click on the tabs to see thumb for each version. Note the facility to assign to placeholders on the toolbar that pops up when you point at a tab.
(Lack of a version detection Wizard is a major one for me too, but that has been discussed elsewhere!)
Yes, and yes :wink:
How do I rotate the thumbnail for cameras that don't automatically embed this info
For jpegs point at the little grey arrow below the thumb and click on one of the rotation symbols on the bar that pops up. This doesn't work for raw for some reason. Best way I can find for this is to run Quick Rotate Left (or Right) from the batcher. It must be QUICK rotate!

Apart from the rotation of raws it is not, with a bit of experimentation, harder than IDI, but much is very different.
Attachments
PSU import.png
PSU import.png (40.37 KiB) Viewed 5688 times
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

RickHeath
Posts: 308
Joined: 14 Nov 07 15:06
Location: Bolton, United Kingdom

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by RickHeath » 16 Oct 12 1:20

OK it would help if the tabs weren't so tiny & almost illegible when thumbs are set to 100%.

I've deleted & re-run my import & got the RAWs as "Main" & JPGs as "Album display" but viewing always seems to show the "Main" (& it doesn't seem to be possible to rotate a RAW thumb) unless I choose individual version tabs or select the Album view from the "by version placeholder" view of the cataolog.

How do you do things to multiple files - selecting a bunch of images and choosing a version placeholder or rotate only seems to apply that to the image you select it on - I REALLY don't want to have to do that individually to several hundred images!

Rick.

mphillips
Posts: 1432
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by mphillips » 16 Oct 12 6:41

Hi

You can also use the [ ] brackets for rotation in the catalog viewer.

Regards

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

Lars
Posts: 829
Joined: 13 Nov 09 6:44
Location: EU

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by Lars » 16 Oct 12 7:49

RickHeath wrote:OK it would help if the tabs weren't so tiny & almost illegible when thumbs are set to 100%.
Yes, but the zoom function works so well that there are no problem in running constantly at for instance 125 %.
I've deleted & re-run my import & got the RAWs as "Main" & JPGs as "Album display" but viewing always seems to show the "Main" (& it doesn't seem to be possible to rotate a RAW thumb) unless I choose individual version tabs or select the Album view from the "by version placeholder" view of the cataolog.
Correct: The main version is always the default displayed version, so I would let the JPG be the main version and then rename "Album display" to "RAW" and put the RAW there. (That's in away opposite to the ID5-way)
How do you do things to multiple files - selecting a bunch of images and choosing a version placeholder or rotate only seems to apply that to the image you select it on - I REALLY don't want to have to do that individually to several hundred images!
Sorry if I misunderstand you: When I select several thumbnails and click the rotate symbol, all are rotated, but (of course) only the versions that are visible.
W7/64bit, IDimager V5 ProSL

Lars
Posts: 829
Joined: 13 Nov 09 6:44
Location: EU

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by Lars » 16 Oct 12 7:53

mphillips wrote:Hi

You can also use the [ ] brackets for rotation in the catalog viewer.

Regards

MikeP
Is that a MAC thing? - Don't seem to work in w7 ?
W7/64bit, IDimager V5 ProSL

mphillips
Posts: 1432
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by mphillips » 16 Oct 12 8:34

Hi Lars

Nope I am using W7 and when I highlight a thumb and hit the Square Bracket the image rotates. It is also listed in the keyboard shortcuts sticky post at the top of the forum.

I also think that the image rotation problem is when you have a RAW (NEF in my case) as the Main Version - you can't rotate that RAW. I have logged a Mantis for that.

Regards

MikeP

PS. I don't have a Mac - Had to give it back after testing :-(
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

Lars
Posts: 829
Joined: 13 Nov 09 6:44
Location: EU

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by Lars » 16 Oct 12 9:31

mphillips wrote:...when I highlight a thumb and hit the Square Bracket the image rotates.
My Lenovo x200 laptop seems to have a problem with this shortcut...not a big problem...thanks for info.
W7/64bit, IDimager V5 ProSL

mphillips
Posts: 1432
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by mphillips » 16 Oct 12 9:53

Ah Lars

I know what the problem is !

With a laptop in preview and full screen you don't need to rotate the image - just turn the laptop on its side and the image will be perfectly rotated :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Have a great day

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

RickHeath
Posts: 308
Joined: 14 Nov 07 15:06
Location: Bolton, United Kingdom

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by RickHeath » 16 Oct 12 10:25

Lars wrote:Correct: The main version is always the default displayed version, so I would let the JPG be the main version and then rename "Album display" to "RAW" and put the RAW there. (That's in away opposite to the ID5-way)
Oh Wonderful!! :shock:
And what of the 74000 images in my IDI catalog, of which I would guess 40000 are RAW +JPGs pairs versioned the other way round?

And let me get this right the "Album display" version isn't the one that is displayed anywhere that might be considered (at least by some) as an album! By design!!!! :roll:
Lars wrote:Sorry if I misunderstand you: When I select several thumbnails and click the rotate symbol, all are rotated, but (of course) only the versions that are visible.
I tried to assign an additional version (I have one in IDI called "Original JPG" for the out of camera JPG & was trying to replicate that assigning of an additional version to all of a group of imported images) & that appeared to do nothing apart from the image I actually used to select the version. I've just tried it again & still get the same.

Rick.

Lars
Posts: 829
Joined: 13 Nov 09 6:44
Location: EU

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by Lars » 16 Oct 12 16:41

mphillips wrote:Ah Lars

I know what the problem is !

With a laptop in preview and full screen you don't need to rotate the image - just turn the laptop on its side and the image will be perfectly rotated :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Have a great day

MikeP
Certainly an optimal use of the screen area if the image is supposed to be portrait - Brilliant - Thanks a lot for the tip :mrgreen:
W7/64bit, IDimager V5 ProSL

Lars
Posts: 829
Joined: 13 Nov 09 6:44
Location: EU

Re: So hard to do things that are simple in IDI!

Post by Lars » 16 Oct 12 16:58

RickHeath wrote:And what of the 74000 images in my IDI catalog, of which I would guess 40000 are RAW +JPGs pairs versioned the other way round?
I guess the IDI version script "Swap Version placeholders" can accomplish the task.
And let me get this right the "Album display" version isn't the one that is displayed anywhere that might be considered (at least by some) as an album! By design!!!! :roll:
That's how I understand it...so better rename it ;-)
W7/64bit, IDimager V5 ProSL

Post Reply