Search Box inconsistent findings

Post Reply
pixelconductor
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Jun 24 7:56

Search Box inconsistent findings

Post by pixelconductor »

Hi,
I'm either misunderstanding how the search box in the upper right is working or experiencing a bug.

I have files which live in pretty similar folder structures, but only parts of them can be found via the search box in the upper right.

So, I'm asking myself (and you) how that search box behaves. Which fields does it actually search? I assume it' the FilePath and FileName as well, but this is only working for some and not for other files.

After re-reading the search manual it feels very much like a bug to me.

I created a screengrab video to show more clearly what I am talking about.

Best,
Tobias
Attachments
PhotoSupreme_search_behavior.mp4
(3.38 MiB) Downloaded 28 times
Hert
Posts: 7788
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Search Box inconsistent findings

Post by Hert »

I love videos to explain things! Awesome and thank you.

The search bar searches on everything, and in your case you're searching for a folder name. But the search term could also exist somewhere in the metadata or as an assigned catalog label, or a Portfolio, or a Portfolio Collection, or a relationship, a label set, or other data sources for an image.

104_105 and 104_419 are folder names and I would expect them to be found.
Can you try if you can find the images by encapsulating the search term in double quotes (exact searches); eg

Code: Select all

"104_419"
If that doesn't help, what happens you search on:

Code: Select all

419
or

Code: Select all

104 AND 419
The underscore is what trigger me
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
Hert
Posts: 7788
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Search Box inconsistent findings

Post by Hert »

You can also try this Search Script
SearchFilePart.png
SearchFilePart.png (102.17 KiB) Viewed 711 times
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
pixelconductor
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Jun 24 7:56

Re: Search Box inconsistent findings

Post by pixelconductor »

Hi Hert,
thank you for your response. It slipped through the cracks here, as email notifications weren't enabled.

I tried the suggested search terms (+ some) and here are the results:

Code: Select all

"104_419"
ist not working. Interestingly even "104_405" is not working as well!

Code: Select all

104_419
(stilll) not working.

Code: Select all

_419
is working

Code: Select all

4_419
not working.

Code: Select all

419
is working!

Code: Select all

104 AND 419
is working

I dont have that downward triangle to access the scripts, but we would need to have the searchbox working anyways as this is what everybody inuitively is using. Would be pretty tough to teach every new freelancer to NOT use the search box...

We are currently on Version 2023.2.0.5063

Best,
Tobias
Hert
Posts: 7788
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Search Box inconsistent findings

Post by Hert »

I dove into this a bit further.

The Search Bar searches in leaf folder names where the image is stored in.
In your case that is 104_V419

Search for 104_v419 and you should find the image.

Code: Select all

104_v419
If you still need to search on a parent folder then you'll need to use a joker character which makes the search a lot slower.

Code: Select all

*104_419
We are currently on Version 2023.2.0.5063
While not tested, I do expect that the above also applies to v2023.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
pixelconductor
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Jun 24 7:56

Re: Search Box inconsistent findings

Post by pixelconductor »

Thank you for the update!

This is working nicely and still not too slow.

Is there any chance to configure PhotoSupreme to search in the full file path by default?
Hert
Posts: 7788
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: Search Box inconsistent findings

Post by Hert »

pixelconductor wrote: 12 Jul 24 13:12Is there any chance to configure PhotoSupreme to search in the full file path by default?
This is in PSU v2024 build 6576.

In PSU v2023 you can use the joker character:

Code: Select all

*104_419
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
Post Reply