New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post Reply
fabrizio.giudici
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Feb 21 18:23
Location: Italy
Contact:

New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by fabrizio.giudici »

I know that in some way Photo Supreme can apply some basic post-processing to images elaborated with Lightroom or Capture One, so thumbnails try to look as close as possible to the final images — but in my case it doesn't work because I don't allow Capture One to write XMP files (it would harm keywords).

So I'd be glad to have an optional feature that generates thumbnails starting from JPEG images externally prepared in a specific folder (each photo that I process is exported like that). For instance, if the original photo is called 20230105-0304.ARW, Photo Supreme would search in the thumbnail folder a fie named 20230105-0304.JPG; if it can't find it, it would fall back to the standard behaviour.

Does it make sense?
Photo Supreme + Capture One
http://stoppingdown.net
Hert
Posts: 7504
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by Hert »

You should already be able to do this.
Save a sidecar file with the THM extension in the same folder. This is a JPG, renamed as a THM file. The THM file will act as a proxy file.

e.g in one folder you have:
IMG_1234.CR3
IMG_1234.THM

The latter is the JPEG proxy file that will be used (if exists) to generate thumb/preview
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
fabrizio.giudici
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Feb 21 18:23
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by fabrizio.giudici »

The problem is "the same folder"... While it might not be a bad idea to save those exported JPEGs in the same folder as RAW files, it would disrupt my folder schema, that is related to optical support backup as I've been doing for about 15 years. But perhaps I can find the way of adapting... Let's see.
Photo Supreme + Capture One
http://stoppingdown.net
fabrizio.giudici
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Feb 21 18:23
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by fabrizio.giudici »

Ok, I think I've solved all the issues in my workflow. I also found a way to export .thm files from Capture One, which per se doesn't allow to pick a custom extension (I'm exporting them as .jpg with a temporary name and have Capture One to call, after exporting, a custom made application that renames them to the final name).

Everything is fine with a folder of new photos that I used to develop and test all the stuff. But it seems not to work with photos that were previously imported (see the attached screenshot where I forced to rebuild the thumbnail, but it isn't synced to the THM file). These are very old and the XMP probably contains some Lightroom processing instructions, but if I understood well THM files should override. In any case I also disabled in Capture One Lightroom and Capture One support.

What am I doing wrong?

I anticipate a further question. If I double click a thumbnail Capture One opens the full view and I immediately see the contents of the thumbnail (I've generated large ones), which to me would be ok. But after a few seconds it replaces the image with the one I suppose it elaborates on its own. Is it possible to disable this behaviour?

Thanks.
Photo Supreme + Capture One
http://stoppingdown.net
fabrizio.giudici
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Feb 21 18:23
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by fabrizio.giudici »

Ok, I think I've solved all the issues in my workflow. I also found a way to export .thm files from Capture One, which per se doesn't allow to pick a custom extension (I'm exporting them as .jpg with a temporary name and have Capture One to call, after exporting, a custom made application that renames them to the final name).

Everything is fine with a folder of new photos that I used to develop and test all the stuff. But it seems not to work with photos that were previously imported (see the attached screenshot where I forced to rebuild the thumbnail, but it isn't synced to the THM file). These are very old and the XMP probably contains some Lightroom processing instructions, but if I understood well THM files should override. In any case I also disabled in Capture One Lightroom and Capture One support.

What am I doing wrong?

I anticipate a further question. If I double click a thumbnail Photo Supreme opens the full view and I immediately see the contents of the thumbnail (I've generated large ones), which to me would be ok. But after a few seconds it replaces the image with the one I suppose it elaborates on its own. Is it possible to disable this behaviour?

Thanks.
Attachments
Screenshot 2023-01-13 at 18.11.23.png
Screenshot 2023-01-13 at 18.11.23.png (1.27 MiB) Viewed 496 times
Photo Supreme + Capture One
http://stoppingdown.net
fabrizio.giudici
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Feb 21 18:23
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by fabrizio.giudici »

I've finished to generate all the THMs for my collection, so I was able to do some more experiments:
  • having old metadata from Lightroom doesn't matter: even forcing recreating thumbnails of photos which were never managed by Lightroom doesn't work;
  • trying to have Photo Supreme to forget a directory (by moving it away and making Photo Supreme believe that it was deleted) and then re-importing it didn't solve the problem;
  • moving the photos of the latest session (for which THMs worked) into a new folder made THMs not to work even for them.
Photo Supreme + Capture One
http://stoppingdown.net
fabrizio.giudici
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Feb 21 18:23
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by fabrizio.giudici »

Bump...
Photo Supreme + Capture One
http://stoppingdown.net
Hert
Posts: 7504
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by Hert »

You can disable editor support in the Preferences -> File Handling

Afterwards, rebuild the thumbs with Cmd+Opt+T
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
fabrizio.giudici
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Feb 21 18:23
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by fabrizio.giudici »

I did already both things, no joy.
Attachments
Screenshot 2023-01-24 at 00.21.02.png
Screenshot 2023-01-24 at 00.21.02.png (989.3 KiB) Viewed 267 times
Photo Supreme + Capture One
http://stoppingdown.net
Hert
Posts: 7504
Joined: 13 Sep 03 6:24

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by Hert »

I assume you did rebuild the thumb (Cmd+Opt+T) after changing that setting?
If so, can you share a pair with NEF/THM/and optionally sidecars from your RAW editor?
Best to upload a ZIP to your cloud drive and send a download link to support@idimager.com
tia
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
fabrizio.giudici
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Feb 21 18:23
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by fabrizio.giudici »

Sure, I'll do.
Photo Supreme + Capture One
http://stoppingdown.net
fabrizio.giudici
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Feb 21 18:23
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: New feature proposal: externally provided thumbnails

Post by fabrizio.giudici »

Done.
Photo Supreme + Capture One
http://stoppingdown.net
Post Reply