versions: Propagate XMP Metadata to versions or not?

Post Reply
RobiWan
Posts: 139
Joined: 03 Nov 17 8:14

versions: Propagate XMP Metadata to versions or not?

Post by RobiWan »

Hi Guys,

what do you think about it? Should you always propagate the XMP metadata from the master to all versions or not.
I'm not sure if it's a good idea or something that will only cause problems in the end, so I'm asking how you guys works with.

Robert
G8DHE
Posts: 459
Joined: 21 Aug 17 12:58

Re: versions: Propagate XMP Metadata to versions or not?

Post by G8DHE »

I generally do as most of may data relates to the overall image itself rather than specific versions.
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)
RobiWan
Posts: 139
Joined: 03 Nov 17 8:14

Re: versions: Propagate XMP Metadata to versions or not?

Post by RobiWan »

That's true.
What software do you use besides PSU? Have you experienced any problems because of it?

Robert
Mke
Posts: 630
Joined: 15 Jun 14 14:39

Re: versions: Propagate XMP Metadata to versions or not?

Post by Mke »

I always do. I've not experienced problems with other software - DXO is my main processing tool - but I don't let other software write XMP to images in my catalogues. If I'm publishing / posting / sending an image, a copy of the catalogue image will be processed with other software, but the processed image will then remain outside the catalogue.
G8DHE
Posts: 459
Joined: 21 Aug 17 12:58

Re: versions: Propagate XMP Metadata to versions or not?

Post by G8DHE »

PaintShop, PhotoShop, Tag That Photo mainly.
Problems, only due to bugs normally, TTP being the worse for this but they seem to have overcome most of the problems now in that package.
For my setup all images are in PSU, so I can track differing versions.
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)
RobiWan
Posts: 139
Joined: 03 Nov 17 8:14

Re: versions: Propagate XMP Metadata to versions or not?

Post by RobiWan »

OK, thanks for the answers.
I will check how it works with Lightroom and/ or ACR. Both programs needs to write edits into XMP files.

Robert
Post Reply