Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

roddyt
Posts: 45
Joined: 28 Jun 15 17:59

Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by roddyt »

For versioned files, the Type filter only lists the main version as a selection (besides All Types), which in my case is "All JPG". If I destroy a version set, which separates the raw NEF file from the JPG, then "All NEF" appears in the menu. When I select it, the one non-versioned NEF file is shown, but the main JPG version of all the other versioned files are also shown, not the NEF versions.
Hert
Posts: 7282
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by Hert »

That is no different than in earlier main versions and intended. You cannot filter on a file type that only occurs somewhere inside a version set. Tip: use stacking instead of versioning if your versioned images are "relevant" for your catalog.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
germie
Posts: 47
Joined: 27 Apr 15 22:43

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by germie »

Hi Hert,

Thank you for a great new version 7. It looks great.

About your remark about versions, I must say my experience is different.
In version 6 the type filter listed all file types in the versions. Main AND sub versions. If I filtered a file type that was not a main version it just showed the matching items of the type filter box. I cannot say if that was intended behaviour or not, justy that it worked that way.
And I remember to be able to configure to show main and sub versions in the folders display.

But I took your advice and converted all versions to stacks. So my problem is solved.

Kind regards from Holland

Germ Wind
Hert
Posts: 7282
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by Hert »

In version 6 the type filter listed all file types in the versions. Main AND sub versions
The way the File Types drop down is populated is unchanged in V7 compared to V6. Basically it shows all extensions of the files currently in display. So if you have main and sub versions in one result set then both will appear. If version are shown as a set then the versions below the main are no included in the filter. This unlike stacks.
But I took your advice and converted all versions to stacks. So my problem is solved.
Great. Stacks are a more transparent approach for grouping images together.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
roddyt
Posts: 45
Joined: 28 Jun 15 17:59

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by roddyt »

I figured it out. I didn't think I was imagining that the behavior was different, so I loaded version 6 onto a spare MacBook and brought over the same photos I'm working with now. When I first looked at them, the behavior was the same as in version 7. So then I looked in the settings and found under Catalog > Versioning a setting called Version Set display. It was set to "Always together as a Set" by default. I changed it to "As a Set in Categories", and that did the trick: the versioned photos are shown separately and I can filter on All JPG or All NEF.

Unfortunately, that setting is missing in version 7. Would it be possible to get it back? After I finish processing a group of photos, I move the JPG and raw files to separate folder structures, and this filter was what I used to do it.
simato73
Posts: 51
Joined: 27 Nov 16 23:10

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by simato73 »

Hi,
I reported the same issue or a very similar related one in this thread: viewtopic.php?t=29911

In my case I am not able to view tif files in a version set. In my workflow TIFs are derivative files, which having been created in a second stage are not the main version. As Hert says v7 seems to filter based only on main versions, tmy experience was different in v6 and the change is a problem for me. Maybe in v6 I had selected the same setting mentioned above by roddyt, unfortunately I cannot check because I have blindly proceeded to upgrade.
If that was the case, I agree that I would like to get that feature back.

As Hert says I can use stacks instead of versions to obtain the functionality versions gave me in v6 (BTW what would be the point of versions now that they seem completely superseded by the stacks?).
I think that for different versions of the same image versioning would be more logical, if the v6 functionality was retained. I do use stacks but they serve a different purpose, which is the same as described in the documentation (e.g. collecting image bursts or pano stacks).
I could get over my reservations and replace versioning with stacking, however that involves destroying version sets for my database of >100K images.
I am averse to starting such a huge job just to be able to continue using the software as before.
Simone
G8DHE
Posts: 444
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by G8DHE »

I must admit I have a preference for the term Versions where its the same image that has been processed in different ways.
Stacks already has a meaning in things like astronomical photography where you have a stack of similar but not identical images that are then combined to generate a single final image. Which is not the same meaning as we have with Versions.
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)
simato73
Posts: 51
Joined: 27 Nov 16 23:10

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by simato73 »

G8DHE wrote: 04 May 22 21:32 I must admit I have a preference for the term Versions where its the same image that has been processed in different ways.
Stacks already has a meaning in things like astronomical photography where you have a stack of similar but not identical images that are then combined to generate a single final image. Which is not the same meaning as we have with Versions.
That's exactly what I think too.
Simone
fbungarz
Posts: 1734
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by fbungarz »

Oh nooooo !!!
This cannot be true!

Versions are now always stacked? Even in FOLDERS?

Hert - you cannot be serious!!!

In folder view versions were ALWAYS shown as separate, all files side by side. And the filter worked perfectly on them.

This cannot be true :( :( :( :(

This makes PSU v7 completely unusable for me. It means I can no longer use versions and my workflow depends sooo much on this.

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE - can we have the old v6 way back?

The only option is to downgrade back to v6, but I had HUGE problems in v6 recently. The database would always hang.
This is a real disaster. I was so happy that v7 finally addressed that!
fbungarz
Posts: 1734
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by fbungarz »

I just tried:
It is no longer possible to filter any versions !!!
The MAIN version is always shown, no matter what filter I apply.
PSU_filter-print.jpg
PSU_filter-print.jpg (226.58 KiB) Viewed 1627 times
After applying the filter:
PSU_filter-print_not-applied.jpg
PSU_filter-print_not-applied.jpg (259.28 KiB) Viewed 1627 times

It makes versioning completely unusable. It means, the only option to display a specific version is by manually clicking on the tiny tabs.
Good luck doing that on a huge portfolio collection.

It was so easy:
I filter all the NEFs, go to PhotoLab, generate my print versions, back in PSU add those print versions, collect the ones I want in a portfolio collection, and share them to upload them online. i did this all the time. Apart form databasing images, this is what I mostly use PSU for. Versioning is so useful.

And no:
I cannot use stacks for this! Stacks are different images, all from a Panorama and/or focus stack. And I cannot add placeholders to stacked images, and I cannot filter for a specific image in a stack. That is what versions was designed for.

PLEASE:
Can we have the old way how this worked back? It worked perfectly.
I do not understand why this has changed.

This must be a bug!
fbungarz
Posts: 1734
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by fbungarz »

BTW - I thought I discovered a workaround by selecting all files - "right click - show more - from this version set" - displays all versions, even if many files are selected. Great!
But then trying to apply the filter to show only specific versions from these version sets: doesn't work.
So, you can display all versions side-by-side. But it is not possible to show a batch of specific files, say "all raw files", "all NEFs", all "print versions", etc.
The only way you can do that is to manually select the minute version tab for one file at a time.
Again: with a huge collection of images, this takes forever.

I have been a user of Photo Supreme when it was still called IDimager. And at least in Folder view, versions were ALWAYS displayed side-by-side. The logic here: Folder view would show you what is on your harddrive = all the files, all versions! That made sense, but occasionally confused people. Still, this was never changed through the history of IDI and PSU.

What did change: for quite some time filtering for specific versions was not possible in views other than the folder view. I remember that for a long time I had to manually click through a portfolio collection to select my "print" versions. I was sooo happy, when that changed and it became possible to simply click "Filter - Print" to have all my print versions displayed.

And now this has been removed. Why ????
fbungarz
Posts: 1734
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by fbungarz »

I noticed one more behavior that makes no sense to me:
In portfolios it is possible to manually select the version that one wants (by clicking the little version tab). That selection is then saved, if you go somewhere else and return to the same portfolio, the same version previously selected is shown. Good. At least this way you do not have to do the meticulous selecting of versions in portfolios over and over again.

BUT:
After selecting a particular version, perhaps you want to quickly use a filter to return to the main version?
That does not work. Once you have manually selected a version, no matter what filter you apply, the selected version is ALWAYS displayed, until you manually change this again by clicking on the version tab.

This means:
When you use version sets, filters simply no longer work. They only work on images that are not versioned.
Ironically: why can you filter for versions, but only for images that are not versioned?
If I assign an image to the "print" version, I cannot filter for it. If I do not assign an image to the "print" version, I cannot filter for it either. This means, filters have become useless.

I really believe this cannot be intended.
fbungarz
Posts: 1734
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by fbungarz »

Looks like this might be related:
viewtopic.php?t=29802

If so, meaning that versioning is completely rewritten to make it work again, I am happy to wait and use the manual way in the meantime.
Going back to v6 doesn't seem an option, since the database much yoo often would hang upon restart...
At least that got resolved :D
Hert
Posts: 7282
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by Hert »

That other topic is unrelated.

The issue here is that PSU 7 dropped the setting for Version Display. Apparently you had that set to the non default value.

In the next build that setting will return. Make sure to set that to your preferred setting again.

Also, this is exactly why I am more and more in favor of using Stacks. Versions are not transparent to use (read difficult to comprehend) while stacks are.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message
G8DHE
Posts: 444
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: Type filter shows only "All JPG" in v7

Post by G8DHE »

Hert wrote: 05 May 22 7:46 this is exactly why I am more and more in favor of using Stacks. Versions are not transparent to use (read difficult to comprehend) while stacks are.
I guess its different ways of thinking and terminology, I have thousands of Version sets, each placeholder name telling me what that version is for, whilst the only time I use Stacks is for creating animations and Astro work, and I can't tell what item in a Stack is for, because that's not the purpose of Stacks, whilst Versions is quite clear to me its different Versions created from a single Master file each version being for a specific purpose.
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)
Post Reply