Multicore support for batch processing

Post Reply
smatzy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 19 10:28

Multicore support for batch processing

Post by smatzy » 10 Jul 19 14:31

Hello, I'm new and have a question when I create jpg images over the batch, my CPU is only 7% busy and it uses only 1 core of 12.
why is this in the description of Photo Supreme is what multi-core.
greeting stefan

Mke
Posts: 453
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by Mke » 10 Jul 19 23:05

Welcome to the forum.

If you try running 2 / 3 / 4 batches together, I think you'll find that 2 / 3 / 4 cores are used respectively - 1 core per batch. So you may find it quicker to split whatever you're doing into smaller simultaneous batches.

smatzy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 19 10:28

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by smatzy » 11 Jul 19 22:09

Hi, thanks for the quick response. How should I create the batches that you render from a pool of 400 RAW files so that no image is rendered twice in JPG.
Greetings Stefan

Mke
Posts: 453
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by Mke » 11 Jul 19 23:30

Divide up the RAWS any way you choose - by date; by hour; by dragging and dropping half into a temporary folder, etc.

smatzy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 19 10:28

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by smatzy » 13 Jul 19 22:19

Hello, I tried it today and started several batch. From the 3 parallel batch Photo Supreme is no longer operable. the processor usage stays at 7% what am I doing wrong can they help me?
greeting stefan

smatzy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 19 10:28

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by smatzy » 24 Jul 19 10:59

Hello, can someone help me with my problem please.
thank you Stefan

sanphotgn
Posts: 308
Joined: 26 Aug 07 18:06

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by sanphotgn » 25 Jul 19 20:05

Are you using windows or mac? Are the images local or on a NAS or ...? Are you trying to save the images locally? What are the specific batch instructions?
Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2602 (64 bits) (Windows)

smatzy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 19 10:28

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by smatzy » 26 Jul 19 9:06

Good day,
I have a Windows PC I create JPGs from RAW file for quick view in a photo album the RAW data are on a NVMeINTEL SSDs of the product line 660p, 2 TB SSD and the target is a Ramdisk.


automatic color correction
automatic improvement
clarity
adjust size
contrasts
sharpness
watermark
Convert the file format

Anmerkung 2019-07-26 095631.jpg
Anmerkung 2019-07-26 095631.jpg (18.63 KiB) Viewed 580 times
This is my batch I start several times
Greeting Stefan

sanphotgn
Posts: 308
Joined: 26 Aug 07 18:06

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by sanphotgn » 26 Jul 19 14:59

I tested on Windows 7. 10 year old computer. 12GB of memory. Photos on a spinning disk. Write to an SSD. Used your batch. RAW to JPG. Granted I only tried it on six RAW files. All six at once ... CPU never got above 15%, memory didn't really increase, and finished without a problem. Running two batches of three RAW files ... the CPU went to about 30% and memory didn't really increase and finished without a problem. Is your Ramdisk hardware or software?
Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2602 (64 bits) (Windows)

smatzy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 19 10:28

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by smatzy » 28 Jul 19 23:02

My computer is half a year old and I use Windows 10 and I run several batches so the Photo Supreme gets slower and slower. my ram disk is an app that writes directly in ram so it does not really get any faster.
greeting stefan

smatzy
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 19 10:28

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by smatzy » 05 Aug 19 19:06

I ask for help I have spent a lot of money on this program and can not use it properly.

greeting stefan

sanphotgn
Posts: 308
Joined: 26 Aug 07 18:06

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by sanphotgn » 06 Aug 19 14:30

If this was my computer, I would run tests without the ram disk and see what happens. In my experience if memory usage is above 70%, everything slows down significantly ... and to the point where the computer is unresponsive.
Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2602 (64 bits) (Windows)

Mke
Posts: 453
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: Multicore support for batch processing

Post by Mke » 06 Aug 19 20:50

sanphotgn wrote:
06 Aug 19 14:30
If this was my computer, I would run tests without the ram disk and see what happens.
Me too - and I'd be interested in the results. Just a guess, but I imagine that much of what PSU is doing is reading and writing to the images on your spinning drive, so that's likely to be a bigger bottleneck than RAM.

Having said that, 12GB of RAM doesn't seem like much to have spare to devote to a RAM disk. I'm not an expert on the topic, but taking a quick look on the web I found the page below from Crucial - not necessarily an unbiased source of advice - who suggest an optimum of with 8GM to run Windows 10, which doesn't leave a lot of headroom.
https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/how-much ... puter-need

Post Reply