google maps for "development purposes only"

snowman1
Posts: 398
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: google maps probplem...

Post by snowman1 » 24 Jan 19 12:59

Hert, would you explain a bit more please what is meant by "Google will then restrict the Maps usage" as I am not clear on this? Will a map be displayed? Will have a watermark obscuring it? Will limited numbers of maps be shown?

Also it is rather intruiging what Bob has said about photomechanic and acdsee - does anyone know what the difference is, that they are apparently operating ok? I'm not implying that PSU is able to do the same but I am curious about the diference.
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

Hert
Posts: 21404
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: google maps probplem...

Post by Hert » 24 Jan 19 13:39

Google will obscure the maps with watermarks "developer purpose" (see the opening post of this topic for a screenshot). Furthermore, without a Google API key you can't do forward and reversed lookup, nor can you retrieve elevation.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

snowman1
Posts: 398
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: google maps for "development purposes only"

Post by snowman1 » 24 Jan 19 14:10

Cool, thanks for that.
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

snowman1
Posts: 398
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: google maps for "development purposes only"

Post by snowman1 » 30 Jan 19 15:49

I've posted this over on this thread [/url]https://mantis.idimager.com/view.php?id=3309[/url] but will repeat here (at the risk of splitting the replies) >>>

I note that RouteConverter, which was a good product, has been curtailed because of Google's changes, which have forced the developer to withdraw his main edition. https://forum.routeconverter.com/thread ... l#pid17666. As with PSU, this is a pain for me as RC was my weapon of choice for GPX viewing and editing. It's hugely annoying and the software world really needs an opensource solution to this issue right now :(

Unconnected, Google have also changed their email protocols in a move that is causing great issues for my ISP, as Google is effectively delaying any emails sent to gmail addressses from my - and other - ISPs, sometimes by many days.

As I have said previously I have no trust whatsoever in Google, their covert data-slurping is second only to the despicable Facebook empire's, and I am certainly not about to give them my credit card so they can sell even more data about me.

Unfortunately unless Mantis https://mantis.idimager.com/view.php?id=3309 is implemented - or a subset of it to give choice of reverse lookup data source, which might be easier given this was at one point not Google - then I won't be able to do reverse lookups which is unfortunate, so I really hope Hert is able to do a full or partial implementation.
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

jtk
Posts: 43
Joined: 21 Feb 18 17:57
Location: Germany

Re: google maps for "development purposes only"

Post by jtk » 30 Jan 19 16:43

On a Mac GraphicConverter does reverse geocode with Geonames or Openstreetmap and the map is shown with Apple Maps.
Photo Supreme beginner, former Aperture User
MacBook Pro with macOS Mojave

Mke
Posts: 463
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: google maps for "development purposes only"

Post by Mke » 30 Jan 19 18:44

I recently obtained a Google Maps API key (using a virtual credit card that I've created for the purpose with a very low expenditure limit) and am free of the "development purposes only" map when using geocoding via the action button.

However when setting the optional Geolocation when creating a catalogue label, I'm still getting "development purposes only" on the map that pops up. Looks like could be a bug. Can anyone confirm this?

User avatar
G8DHE
Posts: 83
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: google maps for "development purposes only"

Post by G8DHE » 30 Jan 19 19:47

Have you enabled all the required API's, there are several, I don't have the list here at present but I suspect you need the Gecode etc.
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)

Mke
Posts: 463
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: google maps for "development purposes only"

Post by Mke » 31 Jan 19 12:29

G8DHE wrote:
30 Jan 19 19:47
Have you enabled all the required API's, there are several, I don't have the list here at present but I suspect you need the Gecode etc.
Hi Geoff, I did enable several, but just logged on to Google to check and they've suspended my account for 'potentially suspicious activity' so I guess that may be the reason. Since they won't reopen it until I submit a copy of my passport or driving license, and since I've no intention of providing them with either, I'll live with the problem.

Ruhell
Posts: 142
Joined: 20 May 07 10:23
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: google maps for "development purposes only"

Post by Ruhell » 02 Feb 19 20:03

Hi, just to make it clear for slow me - so unless I give Google my creditcardnumber there is no way to place or see my pictures on a map via Idimager anymore?

snowman1
Posts: 398
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: google maps for "development purposes only"

Post by snowman1 » 02 Feb 19 21:33

You will see maps but with watermarks, and other functionality is restricted - see Hert's response above.
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

Post Reply