Read Metadata in Text Files

Post Reply
jmtpct
Posts: 19
Joined: 08 Dec 15 1:00

Read Metadata in Text Files

Post by jmtpct » 15 Nov 18 20:09

I need to import 1000s of photos and assign some basic info as keywords from a related text file. To do this, I'm using the "Run Script from Repository>Catalog>Read Metadata for Files in Text file" option when I right click on a photo. When I run this however, I get this error: "These files are not handled because they don't exist on the system".

To try and troubleshoot this, I imported a single photo into PS, assigned two keywords, then exported the metadata to a CSV file. Then I deleted the keywords from the the photo in PS. Now I have a photo in the catalog without any keywords. I should be able to run this tool using the exported CSV file and assign the labels, correct? Curiously, when I use the PS-generated file (Test1) I get a slightly different error than when I use one I generated manually (Test2). I've looked through the forums and tried all sorts of variations (quotes/no quotes, semi-colons) that were suggested but none of them seem to work. What am I getting wrong? Is it the syntax?

I am running PS Server Edition (64-bit) on PostgreSQL, build 4.3.0.1755.pg if that helps.

Some additional background: I used to be able to import CSV data from a text file running a script from the repository, but that was for the previous version. I downloaded it again (https://repository.idimager.com/openres ... D96EA3BFD6) but since I upgraded to 4 it no longer works. When I run the script I don't get an error. Just nothing happens.

Thanks in advance,
JT
Attachments
Test2_Result.JPG
Test2_Result.JPG (20.64 KiB) Viewed 1215 times
Test2.txt
(126 Bytes) Downloaded 17 times
Test1_Result.JPG
Test1_Result.JPG (18.01 KiB) Viewed 1215 times
Test1.csv
(134 Bytes) Downloaded 14 times

Hert
Posts: 5874
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Read Metadata in Text Files

Post by Hert » 17 Nov 18 13:49

Did you select the option in that script that that the first line contains the field names? And sis you select the connect field separator? I just ran the script with both your attached files and didn't get an error
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

jmtpct
Posts: 19
Joined: 08 Dec 15 1:00

Re: Read Metadata in Text Files

Post by jmtpct » 28 Nov 18 0:00

Hert:

I only get the error when I try the "Run Script from Repository..." off the context menu. When I use the scripter (Tools>Scripter) and run the https://repository.idimager.com/openres ... D96EA3BFD6 script, I can see the file being processed in the activity window but ultimately the photo has zero labels associated with it. I made sure that the first line box was checked, and that the delimiter was set to comma. Again, it doesn't throw an error when I run it this way, but the labels I'm trying to assign don't get added to the photo metadata. Not sure what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks,
JT
Attachments
Script1.JPG
Script1.JPG (26.74 KiB) Viewed 1119 times
Test1127.csv
(100 Bytes) Downloaded 16 times

Hert
Posts: 5874
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Read Metadata in Text Files

Post by Hert » 28 Nov 18 12:20

I now see the confusion; The script "Read metadata in Text Files" takes a list of file names from a text file and reads the metadata for those files to the catalog (same as right click -> Metadata -> Read metadata from file" for a list of files).

The "Import from CSV" script is not in the context menu and only available from the repository site.

I've just updated the script so that you can also use it to import keywords as dc:subject
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

jmtpct
Posts: 19
Joined: 08 Dec 15 1:00

Re: Read Metadata in Text Files

Post by jmtpct » 28 Nov 18 20:41

Thanks Hert. I downloaded the new script and the import/assigning labels function is working. My only issue now is that the imported labels are being added as new labels under 'Miscellaneous' even though they exist elsewhere in the catalog hierarchy. When I use the context menu to assign comma separated labels (Run Script...>Catalog>Assign Comma...) it automatically assigns them to the existing label without creating a new one under miscellaneous.

Thanks again,
JT

Post Reply