POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

How many images do you have in your catalog?

less than 5,000 images
5
3%
between 5,000 and 10,000 images
3
2%
between 10,000 and 20,000 images
19
13%
between 20,000 and 30,000 images
25
17%
between 30,000 and 50,000 images
28
19%
between 50,000 and 100,000 images
33
22%
between 100,000 and 200,000 images
28
19%
between 200,000 and 500,000 images
6
4%
more than 500,000 images
3
2%
 
Total votes: 150

PhilBurton
Posts: 307
Joined: 12 Sep 10 18:47
Location: CA, USA

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by PhilBurton » 16 Feb 16 18:29

NassauBoy wrote:Voted in the 50K - 100K and currently at 80K.
So far Im happy with performance (Just wish the browsing view was faster)
Cataloging is quick, easy and love I can write back the labels to the raw file.
You don't write labels back to the XMP sidecar files for your RAW files?

Phil
Photo Supreme user
Home built i7 3930, 32 GB RAM, Win 10 Pro 64, latest version of Photo Supreme 3, Lightroom 6 and Photoshop CS 6 (perpetual licenses)

NassauBoy
Posts: 39
Joined: 24 Jan 16 19:20

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by NassauBoy » 18 Mar 16 19:51

You don't write labels back to the XMP sidecar files for your RAW files?

Phil
Phil,
I write them back to the RAW file.For me it works. Round trips to Capture One.
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz i7: 32GB Ram: Internal SSD: External Promise R4 Thunderbolt 16TB Raid 5 (all Data)

PhilBurton
Posts: 307
Joined: 12 Sep 10 18:47
Location: CA, USA

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by PhilBurton » 19 Mar 16 3:33

NassauBoy wrote:
You don't write labels back to the XMP sidecar files for your RAW files?

Phil
Phil,
I write them back to the RAW file.For me it works. Round trips to Capture One.
NassauBoy,

I know that works for you, but isn't that contrary to "best practice?" What if, let's say, you switched from Capture One to another RAW editor, for instance Lightroom.

Phil
Photo Supreme user
Home built i7 3930, 32 GB RAM, Win 10 Pro 64, latest version of Photo Supreme 3, Lightroom 6 and Photoshop CS 6 (perpetual licenses)

NassauBoy
Posts: 39
Joined: 24 Jan 16 19:20

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by NassauBoy » 19 Mar 16 16:17

I know that works for you, but isn't that contrary to "best practice?" What if, let's say, you switched from Capture One to another RAW editor, for instance Lightroom.

Phil
Im guessing at that time I would have to have C1 write out the XMP files, then move to the new program.
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz i7: 32GB Ram: Internal SSD: External Promise R4 Thunderbolt 16TB Raid 5 (all Data)

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by Mike Buckley » 19 Mar 16 16:22

NassauBoy wrote:Im guessing at that time I would have to have C1 write out the XMP files, then move to the new program.
Alternatively, you could use Supreme to write to the XMP files.

HCS
Posts: 150
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by HCS » 08 May 16 10:21

It seems the topic has moved beyond the number of images stored.

I've moved past 120K.

rfcat
Posts: 66
Joined: 21 Feb 07 11:38
Location: Australia

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by rfcat » 12 Feb 18 22:43

Just cracked the 100,000, but I think I have problems with my database which when fixed should take me below 100,000.
Ian
Ian M
Photography, understanding how to catalogue so I can find my photos. :D .

paulrbarnard
Posts: 22
Joined: 14 Dec 18 15:55

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by paulrbarnard » 16 Dec 18 11:13

I'm currently testing with 7,500 images. I've been experimenting for 6 days of the 30 day trial. Assuming all goes well and I get to grips with it over the next few days I'll buy a copy and load in my full catalogue which is currently around 20,000 images but with the mirrorless high speed tech is growing at an alarming rate compared to a few year ago. I'm shooting over 3000 a year at the moment. I'm purely a hobbyist...

Junebug
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Nov 19 15:18

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by Junebug » 01 Nov 19 16:41

I have about ten 2TB drives of images (with two backups drives of each). 200,000 to 300,000 images each. Rawfiles and derivatives. Have used Portfolio in the past. Switched to MediaPro. Now just about to start the transfer to Photo Supreme. I am on a MacBookPro (MBP) running OS Catalina but have an older MBP running OS High Sierra that I will be dedicating to transferring the MediaPro Catalogs and info to Photo Supreme. Wish me luck....

HCS
Posts: 150
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by HCS » 03 Nov 19 12:13

I've moved a bit past 165K (PostgreSQL version), RAW and derivatives.

For file management, i'm backing up to a local NAS and 2 cloud backup services. In total now about 5,5 Tb.

Junebug
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Nov 19 15:18

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by Junebug » 25 Apr 20 22:48

New to Photo Supreme.
I have 7 Media Pro Catalogs of 200,000 t0 300,000 images each.
Today I started the 1st Media Pro Catalog of 206,501 image4s converting to Photo Supreme.
Started 3 1/2 hours ago and am 6.7% complete.
Will check in with results and questions tomorrow.
YT... Jb.

Junebug
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Nov 19 15:18

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by Junebug » 26 Apr 20 19:50

24 hours have past and 32.2% of the images have been imported into my first catalog.
I am using an older Macbook Pro to import the images stored on a 3TB drive via USB 2.0.
Older technology but I can dedicate this computer to 24/7 transfer of MediaPro Catalogs to PhotoSupreme Catalogs.
Hope this works....
YT... Jb.

Junebug
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Nov 19 15:18

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by Junebug » 27 Apr 20 16:02

44 hours into ingesting 206,501 images and 75% complete.
It's going faster than I thought.
YT... Jb.

Junebug
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Nov 19 15:18

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by Junebug » 04 May 20 17:59

I need Help. MediaPro to PhotoSupreme
I have finished importing 206,501 images into a PhotoSupreme Catalog.
Next I selected All images and ran MetaData->Convert Metadata to xmp sucessfully...
Now I would like to run "MediaPro Catalog Sets to Photo Supreme Portfolios"
I have downloaded the script...
QUESTION: How do I load and run the script? "MediaPro Catalog Sets to Photo Supreme Portfolios"
Thanks in advance.

Hert
Posts: 6142
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: POLL: How Many Images Are You Cataloging in Photo Supreme?

Post by Hert » 04 May 20 19:21

You can run a script by selecting Tools -> Scripter from the upper left hamburger menu. There load the downloaded script file and click the run button in the toolbar.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Post Reply