Expected metadata to be synchronized automatically

Post Reply
jd
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 05 5:33
Location: Palo Alto

Expected metadata to be synchronized automatically

Post by jd » 22 Dec 12 23:17

I imported a folder into Photo Supreme and then added labels to the images. I can see the .xmp files in the folder using Windows Explorer.

However, when I go to the parent directory and do an Import, the images that I have just imported and labelled show up as being not imported and not labelled.

What's going on?

(With idImager in the past, I used to manually synchronize any changes I made; I was under the impression that Photo Supreme defaulted to automatically synchronizing metadata.)

-- jeff

Hert
Posts: 6340
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Expected metadata to be synchronized automatically

Post by Hert » 22 Dec 12 23:33

Hi Jeff,

I think I'm missing something. You import a folder and labeled those in PSU. The result is that there are xmp files created.

Correct?

Then you say that you import the parent folder. Is that after starting with a new database or in the same database (with the already imported images)?
You then say that they show as not imported, but when they show up in PU then they are imported. The without labels part I do understand, though if these mages were already in the database then they won't change, unless you changes their settings n the import model (like clear keywords)

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

jd
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 05 5:33
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Expected metadata to be synchronized automatically

Post by jd » 22 Dec 12 23:49

Hi Hert,
IDimager wrote: I think I'm missing something. You import a folder and labeled those in PSU. The result is that there are xmp files created.

Correct?
That's correct.
IDimager wrote: Then you say that you import the parent folder. Is that after starting with a new database or in the same database (with the already imported images)?
The same database, with the already imported images.
IDimager wrote: You then say that they show as not imported, but when they show up in PU then they are imported. The without labels part I do understand, though if these mages were already in the database then they won't change, unless you changes their settings n the import model (like clear keywords)
Not sure I understand this comment. When I'm in the "import" view, I would not expect to see photos already imported. Or if I do see them, I would expect them to be marked to indicate that they already are in the catalog and that the import will skip over them.

-- jeff

Hert
Posts: 6340
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Expected metadata to be synchronized automatically

Post by Hert » 23 Dec 12 0:08

jd wrote:Not sure I understand this comment. When I'm in the "import" view, I would not expect to see photos already imported. Or if I do see them, I would expect them to be marked to indicate that they already are in the catalog and that the import will skip over them.
When you try to import images that are already in the catalog then they will always be skipped. There's no marker to indicate that they are already in the catalog. Then again, you typically use the Import Module to import images that are not yet in the catalog. if you need to scan for new images for folders that are in the catalog then use the FOLDERS button and then right click on the folder and select "Verify Folder". That will search the file system for changes compared to what is in the databases (in the background it keeps signatures for the files in the database and compares then to the files on the file system).

But back to your original question...I think I'm starting to get your point. You mean that you don't see the labels "in thumbs at the Import Module"?

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

jd
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 05 5:33
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Expected metadata to be synchronized automatically

Post by jd » 23 Dec 12 0:51

IDimager wrote: When you try to import images that are already in the catalog then they will always be skipped. There's no marker to indicate that they are already in the catalog. Then again, you typically use the Import Module to import images that are not yet in the catalog. if you need to scan for new images for folders that are in the catalog then use the FOLDERS button and then right click on the folder and select "Verify Folder". That will search the file system for changes compared to what is in the databases (in the background it keeps signatures for the files in the database and compares then to the files on the file system).
I will look more closely into "Verify Folder". I just tried it now but as soon as I did the right click, I got an Access Violation message (actually two of them). I restarted PSU and this time was able to do the Verify Folder, but I need to spend some more time looking at the results.
IDimager wrote: But back to your original question...I think I'm starting to get your point. You mean that you don't see the labels "in thumbs at the Import Module"?
That's correct.


-- jeff

Hert
Posts: 6340
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Expected metadata to be synchronized automatically

Post by Hert » 23 Dec 12 2:04

Jeff, that is intended behavior. As mentioned, you typically use the Import module to import new images. Then you can assign catalog labels to every individual thumb (impossible with IDI, where you could only assign labels to all images). The counters then show the number of images to be assigned in that thumb during import

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

jd
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 05 5:33
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Expected metadata to be synchronized automatically

Post by jd » 23 Dec 12 2:43

Hi Hert,
IDimager wrote:Jeff, that is intended behavior. As mentioned, you typically use the Import module to import new images. Then you can assign catalog labels to every individual thumb (impossible with IDI, where you could only assign labels to all images). The counters then show the number of images to be assigned in that thumb during import
Then I would ask you to please reconsider this workflow. A few observations and then I'll shut up ;-)

1) Even if I was using PSU incorrectly, it is confusing for an image to show up as being unlabelled when it is already labelled (that is, PSU is using the same graphical element to means "labels assigned" and "labels to be assigned", depending upon the context).

2) There should be an indicator that the image is already cataloged (Lightroom, for one, does this).

3) When I want to import images, I would tend to use the import button, not the Verify menu. It would never have occurred to me to do this.

BTW, I have spend a couple of minutes playing with the "Not in catalog" window from Verify. I think I have figured it out, but it isn't obvious or as simple. I'm still used to the idi approach, where all folders (including the uncatalogued ones) appear in the Folders view, and when you enter an uncatalogued folder, you're prompted to catalog/import the folder. I found this convenient and easy to use when dealing with just a few folders that were uncataloged.

Thanks,
-- Jeff

Post Reply