ps6 and lightroom problem

Post Reply
mantras
Posts: 262
Joined: 24 Dec 12 8:36

ps6 and lightroom problem

Post by mantras » 03 Aug 21 17:05

Hi
I'm not anymore a lightroom user , but i had to use sometime
today i had to import some photos in lightroom cc and i have edited in the develop module ,and i have saved metadata on these files with develop settings (i guess lightroom save everything on the sidecar file )

I have import on ps 6 (in this case portable because i did run it on a lab windows 10 computer ) , I have added labels , stars and so on and my info via detail panel and save metatada

the problem is that this did remove all the edits made in lightroom develop module

all the photos are raw

is there a way to don't overwrite lightroom metadata edits ?
maybe add to the lightroom sidecar ps information without erasing metadata ?
again i'm not anymore a lightroom user , but i could use in the future
and i would like to avoid it
thanks
Photo Supreme Evangelist ,windows macos ,photo supreme 6, capture one 12 , photoshop

Hert
Posts: 6980
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: ps6 and lightroom problem

Post by Hert » 03 Aug 21 17:33

Lightroom stores its edits in XMP. When you make edit changes then don't forget to reimport the metadata to get the updated XMP (with edits) in the Photo Supreme database. Then as PSU rewrites the XMP it writes the XMP from the catalog (that has the edits) back to the file.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

mantras
Posts: 262
Joined: 24 Dec 12 8:36

Re: ps6 and lightroom problem

Post by mantras » 03 Aug 21 19:27

Hert wrote:
03 Aug 21 17:33
Lightroom stores its edits in XMP. When you make edit changes then don't forget to reimport the metadata to get the updated XMP (with edits) in the Photo Supreme database. Then as PSU rewrites the XMP it writes the XMP from the catalog (that has the edits) back to the file.
Hert
I did not get the point , seeing i'm no more a lightroom user
Then as PSU rewrites the XMP it writes the XMP from the catalog (that has the edits) back to the file.
but in this way , I gonna lose all the lightroo develop module editing made before (like white balance , exposure correction , crop and so on)
thanks
Photo Supreme Evangelist ,windows macos ,photo supreme 6, capture one 12 , photoshop

fbungarz
Posts: 1706
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: ps6 and lightroom problem

Post by fbungarz » 03 Aug 21 20:22

Hert meant to say that you will first need to import the XMP into the PSU database, so that PSu is aware of any changes Lightroom made to the XMP. Once PSu has read the metadata, it will not overwrite the data, but add to it. However, as long as PSu is not aware of the metadata added by lightroom out side its database, it will write fresh, new XMP and thus "destroy" your Lightroom edits.

fbungarz
Posts: 1706
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: ps6 and lightroom problem

Post by fbungarz » 03 Aug 21 20:25

This is basically what happened:

Edit RAW Files in Lightroom ---> writes XMP (even if you are no longer using Lightroom, the data are in the file)
Import into PSu without reading the Lightroom XMP ---> assigning metadata ---> PSU Metadata replaces Lightroom Metadata
Import into PSU AND reading Lightroom XMP ---> assigning metadata ---> the data will be added alongside the original Lightroom XMP

mantras
Posts: 262
Joined: 24 Dec 12 8:36

Re: ps6 and lightroom problem

Post by mantras » 04 Aug 21 7:52

fbungarz wrote:
03 Aug 21 20:25
This is basically what happened:

Edit RAW Files in Lightroom ---> writes XMP (even if you are no longer using Lightroom, the data are in the file)
Import into PSu without reading the Lightroom XMP ---> assigning metadata ---> PSU Metadata replaces Lightroom Metadata
Import into PSU AND reading Lightroom XMP ---> assigning metadata ---> the data will be added alongside the original Lightroom XMP
hi fbungarz
well , you are right
I guess the problem is lightroom , some versions of lightroom can not read ps6 ratings (stars) labels , and colors

does/can lightroom read ps6 labels as keyboard , rating ,colors and so on ?

while ps6 can read perfectly the lightroom keywords , ratings and color
thanks fbungarz
Photo Supreme Evangelist ,windows macos ,photo supreme 6, capture one 12 , photoshop

gand
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Jun 21 5:19

Re: ps6 and lightroom problem

Post by gand » 11 Aug 21 6:10

Hi

Should I reimport the XMP files into PSU each time I edit the file in Lightroom or is it fine to reimport the first time I have edited the file in Lightroom?

Rgds
Gert

Hert
Posts: 6980
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: ps6 and lightroom problem

Post by Hert » 11 Aug 21 10:50

Best to use folder verification to find such changes.

You can either verify a complete folder (right click on the folder and select Verify Folder) or you can verify a few thumbs only. Right click on the thumb -> Operations -> Verify Files or Operations -> Verify Folder for Files,
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Post Reply