New update: 6.3.0.3755

johnlill
Posts: 42
Joined: 03 Mar 06 16:01

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by johnlill » 01 Jul 21 12:32

Hert wrote:
30 Jun 21 17:43
Since the update I get an exception every time I change to a different date in the timeline, or to a different folder, portfolio, etc. Any idea what would cause that? I did send the exception reports
Can you download and install build 3758 from the website (there's no web update). Does that resolve this?
https://www.idimager.com/download-photo ... ingle-user
Hert - yes, build 3758 fixes the access violation exception that I was getting. Thanks for the super fast response!

Hert
Posts: 6890
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by Hert » 01 Jul 21 13:17

Mke wrote:
01 Jul 21 12:29
I compacted the database overnight it's still taking around 23 seconds to open 24K images; as the previous compaction was last week the similarity wasn't too surprising. I've also just tried build 3758, just in case, with the same result.
Those are terrible timings. You *must* have something configured that is slowing you down A LOT. With your machine I'd expect your 24K images to open in 1 to 3 seconds.

1. You don't have some filter active? Depending on the filter that can have a heavy impact.
2. You did exclude the catalog folder from all virus scanner that you have installed, including the Windows Defender?
3. Make a backup of your catalog and then reset all your preferences (click at the bottom of the left side in the preferences). Restart and try again.

Click here to reset all preferences:
ResetPreferences.png
ResetPreferences.png (136.43 KiB) Viewed 549 times
If all that doesn't help then I have no clue why your system performs as dramatic as it does.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Mke
Posts: 600
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by Mke » 01 Jul 21 16:34

1) No, there are no active filters
2) Yes, the catalogs are excluded from the virus scanner; Windows Defender is entirely disabled
3) I'll give this a try and report back although, following my tests below, I don't think that's going to be the problem.

I've also just been running the 24K image test with the resource monitor running. As in the screenshot below, the CPU, hard drive and memory are a long way from being maxed out. The orange line shows when PSU was opening the 24K image folder and, except for a blip, no more than 25% of CPU capacity is being used, while the the SSD is little changed from when the machine is idling. The network (and virus scanner) are switched off.
.
PSUResources.png
PSUResources.png (14.83 KiB) Viewed 536 times
.
This doesn't seem to be caused by any throttling on the machine. By way of comparison, I've also taken a screenshot of the monitor while running DxO PhotoLab, which is making much more use of resources (the orange line being DxO):
.
DxOResources.png
DxOResources.png (16.21 KiB) Viewed 536 times
.
Is there some way of making PSU more aggressive?

Hert
Posts: 6890
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by Hert » 01 Jul 21 18:52

Another thing that could be the case is that your catalog is not in good order (mainly: missing indexes).

Starting with a new catalog file and importing your 24K images will be faster and easier. And it shouldn’t take that long to complete. Maybe a few hours. You could let it run overnight.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

rfcat
Posts: 72
Joined: 21 Feb 07 11:38
Location: Australia

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by rfcat » 03 Jul 21 1:11

The update has been running for over an hour and is still part the way through. I had to rebuild it after 2 disks died and the database was totally corrupted. Since then I have compacted twice without any issues. The indexing is totally broken and needs to be started over again and I am not impressed with over 100,000 photos to trawl through. The index was not on and is not one of the disks that died, only the backups.
Ian
Ian M
Photography, understanding how to catalogue so I can find my photos. :D .

apanella
Posts: 12
Joined: 22 Nov 20 19:01
Contact:

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by apanella » 04 Jul 21 12:28

G8DHE wrote:
30 Jun 21 16:01
One oddity has shown up its identified all the other drives on my \\SERVER without me doing anything only the \\SERVER\PICS was previously selected ?
Capture.JPG
\Media, \Web etc were not included, I'll try removing them see if they stay removed ?

Edit: Removing them seems to have worked and they haven't reappeared after closing and restarting.
I have this happening to me, too. In my case, they keep reappearing. Confirmed still exists in 3765.

Tried the following without success...
Rt. Click > Remove
Catalog > Compact current Catalog
Reboot
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-07-04 061741.jpg
Screenshot 2021-07-04 061741.jpg (90.11 KiB) Viewed 384 times

User avatar
G8DHE
Posts: 311
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by G8DHE » 04 Jul 21 13:02

Yes it happened again to me this morning another drive popped up out of the blue again a drive that has never been connected with PSU at all (Email) and again on a share from the local server as were all the previous ones ...... it seems to be mistaking these drives for others perhaps ?
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)

apanella
Posts: 12
Joined: 22 Nov 20 19:01
Contact:

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by apanella » 04 Jul 21 17:06

By accident, I figured out the repeatable trigger to the re-appearance of local or attached phantom locations. I see thm come back if I use PS to move local folders.

rfcat
Posts: 72
Joined: 21 Feb 07 11:38
Location: Australia

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by rfcat » 04 Jul 21 23:21

V6 searched through every drive it could find and added multiple copies of photos from backups, basically it ignored the existing configuration, that is partly why the database is corrupt and then one of the disks with the backup died and further complicated matters.
How do I delete or reset the database to 0 size so i can restart the creation of the indexing process? I don 't want to loose my country flags or location GPS details.
Ian
Ian M
Photography, understanding how to catalogue so I can find my photos. :D .

jtk
Posts: 48
Joined: 21 Feb 18 17:57
Location: Germany

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by jtk » 05 Jul 21 5:46

The new versions crashes when updating the database, where do I find older versions to download? And what was the last version with the old database system?
Photo Supreme beginner, former Aperture User
MacBook Pro with macOS BigSur

Mke
Posts: 600
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by Mke » 05 Jul 21 6:19

Hert wrote:
01 Jul 21 18:52
Another thing that could be the case is that your catalog is not in good order (mainly: missing indexes).

Starting with a new catalog file and importing your 24K images will be faster and easier.
That certainly sounded plausible, but turns out not to be the cause. I imported 12K images into a new catalog overnight; switching from displaying 1 image to all 12K takes around 18 seconds, and the resource usage profile (below) looks similar to the original catalog - the orange line is PSU.

Checking the spec for the processor, I see that it has 2 physical cores, each running two threads to provide 4 logical cores. Leaving aside the blip in processor usage as the end, the CPU was again running at between 23 and 25% - so I'm guessing that only 1 of these logical cores is being used. If it was possible to split the processing over more cores, that would presumably have the potential to cut processing time significantly - but maybe it's not divisible?
.
ResourcesTestCatalog1.png
ResourcesTestCatalog1.png (46.17 KiB) Viewed 312 times

Hert
Posts: 6890
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by Hert » 05 Jul 21 7:46

jtk wrote:
05 Jul 21 5:46
The new versions crashes when updating the database, where do I find older versions to download? And what was the last version with the old database system?
Please upgrade to build 3768.
Mke wrote:That certainly sounded plausible, but turns out not to be the cause. I imported 12K images into a new catalog overnight; switching from displaying 1 image to all 12K takes around 18 seconds
That rules out your database structure then.

A database statement is the smallest possible and so no that cannot be divided over cores. But I hope that by now you've seen enough statements from others who report identical performance than what I report. Here's a video of how PSU performs:
https://cp.idimager.com/support/videos/ ... nce20K.mp4

Stop looking into causes in the application. You are the only one reporting such slow performance.
FWIW; these performance gains are not new. Even in the latest 5.x version, the performance to open 20K images was 3 to 4 seconds on my machine. Now with 6.3 under 2 seconds.

If you have 18 seconds to open 12K images then I hope you realize that something on your side is different than on mine and that of the others here. I can only tell you what I have here and it's up to you to check what is different. If the software is the same then checking processor usage etc serves no goal since the processor core usage on the computer of everyone else is no different.

Summarized what I run and what you can check:
1. My software is *always* installed vanilla, meaning default preferences, and no registry tweaks etc. Everything is default.
For you to check:
a. delete the IDImager registry key to rule out registry tweaks
b. reset the preferences to default

2. I always run the latest version
3. The catalog is on an SSD
4. The catalog is on an internal drive (the SSD)
5. The catalog folder excluded from all virus scanners

About my system:
6. I use the latest 64 bit Windows version. Currently Windows Version 10.0.19043.1052
7. The computer config:
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-10710U CPU @ 1.10GHz 1.61 GHz
32.0 GB RAM (2666Ghz)
512GB SanDisk Extreme Pro M2 NVMe (up to 3400MB/s read; 2500MB/s write)

If your system is comparable then you should get the same performance. If you don't then check the differences.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

jtk
Posts: 48
Joined: 21 Feb 18 17:57
Location: Germany

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by jtk » 05 Jul 21 8:37

Bildschirmfoto 2021-07-05 um 09.33.35.png
Bildschirmfoto 2021-07-05 um 09.33.35.png (1001.61 KiB) Viewed 283 times
I downloaded the newest version from the main internet page, it still happens.

I want to go back to a earlier version to save the database and compact it again.
Photo Supreme beginner, former Aperture User
MacBook Pro with macOS BigSur

Hert
Posts: 6890
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by Hert » 05 Jul 21 8:47

jtk wrote:
05 Jul 21 8:37
Bildschirmfoto 2021-07-05 um 09.33.35.pngI downloaded the newest version from the main internet page, it still happens.
I want to go back to a earlier version to save the database and compact it again.
Only the latest version is available.
Please send a message for assistance with a failing database upgrade.
https://www.idimager.com/contact-us
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

rfcat
Posts: 72
Joined: 21 Feb 07 11:38
Location: Australia

Re: New update: 6.3.0.3755

Post by rfcat » 05 Jul 21 10:57

I just tried to install the latest version only portable drive where all previous versions have been installed, but the latest PSU only allows installation on a disk with MacOS installed.
this will become an issue when I get my new MAC Air for travel and wish t move the portable disk between machines.
Please advise a fix for this issue?
ian
Ian M
Photography, understanding how to catalogue so I can find my photos. :D .

Post Reply