Picture quality very bad

Bongo
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Mar 10 19:11
Location: Ingolstadt, Germany
Contact:

Picture quality very bad

Post by Bongo » 12 Apr 21 18:03

The view in the preview and full screen is the picture quality very bad. At high ISO it is worse. I think it also has to do with the crop.
I edited the picture in Lightroom and Photoshop removed the noise. In all display programs, it looks good. See the difference in PSU and, for example, in Adobe Bridge.

PSU:
hc_512.png
hc_512.png (1.43 MiB) Viewed 1174 times
Adobe Bridge:
hc_513.png
hc_513.png (1.29 MiB) Viewed 1174 times
You also see a color difference.
What is the problem?
Regards, Bongo
Photo Supreme V6 Single User Edition, Windows 10.

snowman1
Posts: 317
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by snowman1 » 12 Apr 21 20:29

If you click on the "options" button - the cogwheel on the bottom right of your first screenshot - there is an option to "load full size images" - if this is not selected you may see a drop in quality when viewing (but quicker loading of the image).

(Nice picture BTW!)
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

Hert
Posts: 6811
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Hert » 13 Apr 21 8:35

In addition, the color difference: make sure that you have color management switched ON. And that your output profile is configured exactly the same as in Bridge. And, as snowman1 suggests, if you have the Viewer configured to display previews then make sure that you also build thumbs/previews with Color Management as well. After changing this preference you must rebuild thumb/preview to get a thumb/preview with color management applied.

You also mention that you edited the picture in Adobe products. Keep in mind that edits in Adobe are proprietary and will not be visible in any other software (by default PSU will mimic elementary edits for Adobe edits). Don't expect Noise Reduction from Adobe to be visible in PSU (Adobe will not tell anyone their secrets), unless you export the edits to a new file in Lightroom.

If you think that all edits are applied to the file then share a download link to a sample picture here (just a photo of something random) for which you show the differences and the forum members (me included) can try to reproduce.
With the default settings, PSU shows images in the highest possible quality.
snowman1 wrote:
12 Apr 21 20:29
(Nice picture BTW!)
+1
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Bongo
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Mar 10 19:11
Location: Ingolstadt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Bongo » 13 Apr 21 11:52

Here is the JPG:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

I did a video where you can see all the settings and sees the problem. Load Full Size Images is Enabled:
https://youtu.be/kRCrT4dFSho
Regards, Bongo
Photo Supreme V6 Single User Edition, Windows 10.

Hert
Posts: 6811
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Hert » 13 Apr 21 13:05

In your Color Management settings you've set the Monitor Profile as your input profile *and* as the output profile. That is incorrect. Set the input profile to sRGB. The Output profile is the profile that is used to present the image and that is your monitor profile.

Here's how it looks compared to Windows. As you can see they're identical:
Bees.png
Bees.png (1.72 MiB) Viewed 1101 times
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Bongo
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Mar 10 19:11
Location: Ingolstadt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Bongo » 13 Apr 21 15:00

The Input profile was originally empty. That's why I selected the monitor profile. Now I have changed it.
hc_515.png
hc_515.png (47.67 KiB) Viewed 1090 times
But the problem remains.

The video shows that a short time it is displayed correctly.

It's okay with you. But not with me. Especially the noise is bad. You can see it in the video.

What can I do?
Regards, Bongo
Photo Supreme V6 Single User Edition, Windows 10.

Hert
Posts: 6811
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Hert » 13 Apr 21 22:52

What you see is the result of your monitor profile that you configured as the output profile. Is this a calibrated monitor and is this the profile that was created by the calibration process? If so then what you see are the correct colors. If this is a profile that came deployed with the monitor and you don’t like the results then don’t use that.

Afaik, Windows is not color managed.
If you think that the Windows photo view has the right colors then use sRGB as your output profile (same as the input profile).
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Bongo
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Mar 10 19:11
Location: Ingolstadt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Bongo » 14 Apr 21 9:17

I have now tested it in more detail.

But first on color management.
I tried all entries in the Output Profile and also turned off the color management.
hc_518.png
hc_518.png (35.15 KiB) Viewed 1029 times
I can not see differences in color or brightness. Does that work correctly?

But the real problem is "Load FULL SIZE Image". It should improve the quallivity. But it gets worse. And with "Show Sharpened" it gets worse. See video:
https://youtu.be/imApqMScrhU

But even without "load FULL SIZE Image" the quallivity is not good. It looks like it's over-sharpened. When I put in the Catalog Settings the Image Preview Size on 1920 pixels it is better. It is bad at 3200 pixels (my standard). I think it's related to scaling.

My monitor has a resolution of 1920x1200 pixels. I suspect at higher resolutions it is not worse.

For a photographer who has processed the photo of the best possible quality, this is unacceptable. Each program must scales the photos. I think PSU has problems with it. Can it be so? Or is that a problem only with me?

Here the problem has also described:
viewtopic.php?f=57&t=24460
Regards, Bongo
Photo Supreme V6 Single User Edition, Windows 10.

Hert
Posts: 6811
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Hert » 14 Apr 21 9:55

As long as you get different display results between Windows and PSU you have something configured incorrectly. Your first goal is to get identical results.

Leave all view settings at their default. Don't tick Sharpened. And Use Full Size loading. With Sharpened *unticked* absolutely NO sharpening is applied.
Leave all Color Management settings at their default.
CM.png
CM.png (64.7 KiB) Viewed 1023 times
And disable all editing support to eliminate possible changes from edits.
Editing.png
Editing.png (98.69 KiB) Viewed 1023 times
PSU has problems with it. Can it be so? Or is that a problem only with me?
I've shown a screenshot of your image with how it shows here, so definitely in your configuration. Your image looks fine, and then jumps to a wrong color presentation. That is when the Color Management settings are applied. After the Color Management application the colors jump to the wrong visualization. This is 99.99% in your Color Management settings. Set your output (also input but more importantly output) to sRGB as displayed in the screenshot.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Bongo
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Mar 10 19:11
Location: Ingolstadt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Bongo » 14 Apr 21 17:32

I have now put input and output on SRGB. The color representation does not jump anymore.

The file handling settings I set to None. Before Elementary.

3 hours ago I thought it is good now after restart and rebuild of thumbnail. But now:


This is with Windows (same in Lightroom, Photoshop, Paint, ...):
hc_519.png
hc_519.png (242.45 KiB) Viewed 984 times
That's with PSU:
hc_520.png
hc_520.png (275.73 KiB) Viewed 984 times
You can see noise. That's not identical.
Regards, Bongo
Photo Supreme V6 Single User Edition, Windows 10.

Bongo
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Mar 10 19:11
Location: Ingolstadt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Bongo » 14 Apr 21 17:54

I discovered something else.

That's with Preview:
hc_521.png
hc_521.png (164.08 KiB) Viewed 980 times
That's with Adjust. Without having changed:
hc_522.png
hc_522.png (149.03 KiB) Viewed 980 times
That's good. If I switch back to Preview, it's bad again.
Regards, Bongo
Photo Supreme V6 Single User Edition, Windows 10.

Hert
Posts: 6811
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Hert » 14 Apr 21 18:09

Make sure that you have “load full size” in the viewer’s options.

Fyi: the viewer (full size) and adjust is 100% the same component...it’s only the side panel that’s displayed by clicking Adjust. So when the load full image is ticked then Preview and Adjust can’t be different.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Bongo
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Mar 10 19:11
Location: Ingolstadt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Bongo » 15 Apr 21 16:35

Hi Hert,
Thanks for the support.
Hert wrote:
14 Apr 21 18:09
So when the load full image is ticked then Preview and Adjust can’t be different.
That's different for me.
I did a video yet. When the picture changes, I do it with the cursor:
youtu.be/xxxxxxxx

What else can I do?

[edit Hert; deleted the link to the video]
Regards, Bongo
Photo Supreme V6 Single User Edition, Windows 10.

Hert
Posts: 6811
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Hert » 16 Apr 21 7:23

Bongo wrote:
15 Apr 21 16:35
I did a video yet. When the picture changes, I do it with the cursor:
Please delete your video. It shows you Google API key, which makes it prone for misuse! I've deleted the link to it.

As mentioned, I cannot reproduce your issue here. Picture quality is excellent.

Try this:
Instead of opening the image with a mouse double click, press Enter on the thumb.
Does that make a difference?

Maybe you can show a 100% view of the image in PSU compared to the same 100% view in another application. I've tried it here and they are 100% identical.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Bongo
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Mar 10 19:11
Location: Ingolstadt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Picture quality very bad

Post by Bongo » 16 Apr 21 12:42

Hert wrote:
16 Apr 21 7:23
Bongo wrote:
15 Apr 21 16:35
I did a video yet. When the picture changes, I do it with the cursor:
Please delete your video. It shows you Google API key, which makes it prone for misuse! I've deleted the link to it.
Oh, I forgot that. I deleted the videos.
Hert wrote:
16 Apr 21 7:23
Try this:
Instead of opening the image with a mouse double click, press Enter on the thumb.
Does that make a difference?
When I restart PSU it is good. I can open it with double-click or Enter. This one photo is always good. When I go with the cursor keys on the next picture and go back again, it is bad. And then it stays bad.
Hert wrote:
16 Apr 21 7:23
Maybe you can show a 100% view of the image in PSU compared to the same 100% view in another application. I've tried it here and they are 100% identical.
The 100% view in PSU compared to 100% in Adobe Bridge is identical.

That's what it looks like with Light Table:
hc_527.png
hc_527.png (1.47 MiB) Viewed 807 times
Web and HD look good.

When I set the Image Preview Size from 3200 to 1920 and recreate the thumbnail is good. Not very good. And only without Load Full Size Image. Then I have to recreate all thumpnails.
If you do not find any mistake, I have to live with it.
Regards, Bongo
Photo Supreme V6 Single User Edition, Windows 10.

Post Reply