Impossible to perform group editing of "Description" in the "Descriptions" panel

Post Reply
User avatar
OldRadioGuy
Posts: 57
Joined: 15 May 12 4:44
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Contact:

Impossible to perform group editing of "Description" in the "Descriptions" panel

Post by OldRadioGuy » 11 Apr 21 17:52

1. Select 3 versions of an image: 1) original ORF, 2) a TIF, and 3) a JPG
2. Assign a custom Profile from the Profiles dropdown (includes a short line of information for all photos added to Description)
3. In Document Title, assign a name
4. In Headline, write a headline
5. In Description, add additional information to that placed by the custom profile
6. Select the OK button to save these changes to the database.

Returning to these images later and selecting all three, the Content and Descriptions categories are blank when they are selected as a group. However, selecting each one separately shows the data to be present. Is this intended behavior?
Photo Supreme 6; DxO PhotoLab; ON1 Photo RAW; ExposureX; Affinity Photo; PhotoLine; macOS Big Sur; 27-inch iMac, Retina 5K

Hert
Posts: 6811
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Impossible to perform group editing of "Description" in the "Descriptions" panel

Post by Hert » 12 Apr 21 11:32

OldRadioGuy wrote:
11 Apr 21 17:52
when they are selected as a group. However, selecting each one separately shows the data to be present. Is this intended behavior?
When you say "selected as a group", do you then mean you select one thumb? Selecting one version thumb will only select that one file, not the version set. To work on all the files of a version set, use:
1. right click on a versioned file
2. select Show More -> From This Version Set
3. Select all files

Tip; I highly recommend using Stacks over versions. Stacks are easier to comprehend because a stack is "just a bunch of files grouped together". This unlike versions, which is a main file with derivatives. In a stack, every individual image can have its own catalog label assignments. In a version set you cannot because a every image in a version set is considered to be the same file and hence share the same labels.
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Post Reply