Keywords do not import

Post Reply
mccross
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 13 21:19

Keywords do not import

Post by mccross » 20 Feb 21 20:49

I am finding that importing photos prepared with PhotoSupreme into a new database leaves the labels (used to be categories) blank. Investigating further with exiftool shows that the "Subjects" entry (exiftool -Subject ...) and the "Keywords" entry (exiftool - Keywords ...) indeed are not empty, but there are no labels assigned on import. I am using non-hierarchical keywords and in the synchronization settings under "Read Settings" have "Merge Keywords with existing Catalog labels" selected. This procedure has worked for me for many years. Maybe I have inadvertently changed some settings somewhere, or has the way PhotoSupreme works with labels/keywords changed? I have been using version 4.3.4 but the same happens with the trial version of version 6.

Hert
Posts: 6682
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Keywords do not import

Post by Hert » 22 Feb 21 10:25

The way keywords/catalog labels are handled did not change in V6.

These are the default sync-read settings:

If your files have hierarchical and/or non-hierarchical keywords then these settings will import them. Your can use right click -> metadata -> "Read metadata from file" to manually import a file.
DefaultSync-Read.png
DefaultSync-Read.png (78.75 KiB) Viewed 87 times
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

mccross
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 13 21:19

Re: Keywords do not import

Post by mccross » 23 Feb 21 2:59

Yes, those are the settings I use. But I've identified my problem: I had set the photo files as read only, since in version 4 the import process seemed to be deleting the keywords in the photo files (I reported this on Mantis, ID 0003441). Why this setting should affect the import I don't know, but if the files are read-write the import now works for me in version 6.

mccross
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 13 21:19

Re: Keywords do not import

Post by mccross » 23 Feb 21 21:20

Ah, sorry, user error. I had some incorrect box-ticks in the import profile.

Post Reply