database or disk full

mdadvice
Posts: 13
Joined: 31 Jul 16 10:54

database or disk full

Post by mdadvice » 04 Jun 20 21:35

When I want to compress my database, i get an error code "database or disk full"
catalog is 31,8 GB, disk empty space is 35.7 GB.
Someone can help me with this ?

User avatar
G8DHE
Posts: 230
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: database or disk full

Post by G8DHE » 04 Jun 20 22:19

I seem to recall that you need something like twice the amount of the existing database size spare to compact, looks like you will need to make some room on the disk! Yes see here viewtopic.php?p=123794#p123794
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)

vkfoto
Posts: 112
Joined: 19 Oct 16 3:51

Re: database or disk full

Post by vkfoto » 08 Sep 20 19:36

My thumbs db is just over 49,000,000 kb and the cat db is just over 9,000,000 kb. Both are on a 2 TB drive with 1.3 TB free space and yet I get a database or disk is full information popup when I run the compact both command. Since it is an info window, did the compact complete anyway and what should I do to prevent this message?

Hert
Posts: 6336
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: database or disk full

Post by Hert » 09 Sep 20 11:47

Can you post a screenshot of that message?
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

vkfoto
Posts: 112
Joined: 19 Oct 16 3:51

Re: database or disk full

Post by vkfoto » 09 Sep 20 16:12

Just tried another compact and got the same message. First
Image
Then I see
Image
and
Image
When it ends I get this
Image
The disk has lots of space
Image
and the files are this size
Image

fbungarz
Posts: 1576
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: database or disk full

Post by fbungarz » 10 Sep 20 0:46

This typically happens because the way PSu compacts the database is by creating a copy of the database file as a safety backup. Only if that is successful, will the original database be compacted and the temporary backup copies subsequently be deleted.

Now, particularly the thumbnail databases can become fairly enormous in size. On my system idimager.thumbs.db occupies 30 GB. Not quite as large as yours, but still large enough to return that same error. The SSD on my system which that database resides has less than 30GB space left. Obviously a temporary file of 30GB doesn't fit onto residual space on the same harddrive that is smaller than the file to be created...

In my case compacting no longer works. I have to move the thumbnail database to a different harddisk, compact it there (using SQLite Expert) and copy it back to the harddrive, where it resides. I wish one could select another harddrive from the compact dialog in PSu. That would make things a lot easier.
Yes, harddisk space is cheap, but SSDs are expensive. And PSu is quite the resource hog. In my experience moving it to my SSD really helps speeding things up. But the SSD is simply too small for regular compacting (and all the writes, I am not even sure they do it any good anyways). ...

Well, back to your situation:

Adding up your idimager.thumbs.db+ idimager.db files you end up with 60GB free space required for the temporary files. Now on your system there remains 1.81TB. I would thought that would be quite sufficient. More than twice the space you need to compact both catalog and thumbnail database. Not sure what is going on...
:(

vkfoto
Posts: 112
Joined: 19 Oct 16 3:51

Re: database or disk full

Post by vkfoto » 10 Sep 20 3:13

More like almost 10 times the space. 10 * 60 GB is only 600 GB which is still less than half the 1.36 TB free space left. Even with some other files, I'm no where near reaching the disk limit unless there is another limiting factor. With slightly more than 300k images in the database, could that have an influence? Is the database full and not the disk?

gcorbin
Posts: 59
Joined: 21 Aug 06 12:31
Location: Brisbane

Re: database or disk full

Post by gcorbin » 10 Sep 20 7:46

I might be wrong, but I thought that the temporary copy of the database is created in the windows temporary directory, generally C drive, not in the database directory. If my memory is correct, you need to move the windows temporary directory to a drive with more space. Hert should be able to confirm whether I am going mad.

Hert
Posts: 6336
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: database or disk full

Post by Hert » 10 Sep 20 7:58

gcorbin wrote:
10 Sep 20 7:46
I might be wrong, but I thought that the temporary copy of the database is created in the windows temporary directory, generally C drive, not in the database directory. If my memory is correct, you need to move the windows temporary directory to a drive with more space. Hert should be able to confirm whether I am going mad.
That is correct, SQLite by default uses the Windows Temp folder for this. In PSU you can change that with a registry tweak. Check this page and search for "SQLiteTempDir"
https://michaelweidner.com/psu/
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

vkfoto
Posts: 112
Joined: 19 Oct 16 3:51

Re: database or disk full

Post by vkfoto » 10 Sep 20 13:37

Just to be clear, where it says
SQLite scratch folder: This setting will move the SQLite scratch folder to somewhere else
WriteToRegistry('', 'SQLiteTempDir', 'c:\your folder here\');
Once I enter my folder choice, is this done inside PSU or in the Windows registry?

Hert
Posts: 6336
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: database or disk full

Post by Hert » 10 Sep 20 17:09

Run it with Tools-> Scripter from the upper left hamburger menu.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

vkfoto
Posts: 112
Joined: 19 Oct 16 3:51

Re: database or disk full

Post by vkfoto » 10 Sep 20 17:50

Found it. Ran the script, saved, exited and restarted PSU. Now doing the compacting and I see the temp file building in the new location.
Thanks for all the help.

fbungarz
Posts: 1576
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: database or disk full

Post by fbungarz » 11 Sep 20 2:32

Ahhh, this is great. Didn't know it.
And yes, I have my database on the system drive, same drive as the Windows Temp folder, that's why I assumed it was always the same drive.

fbungarz
Posts: 1576
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: database or disk full

Post by fbungarz » 11 Sep 20 2:35

However, before I apply the tweak:
By moving the scratch folder off the SSD to a normal harddrive - will that not result in slower performance? The reason I have the database on the SSD was to speed things up...

Hert
Posts: 6336
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: database or disk full

Post by Hert » 11 Sep 20 14:56

Frank, your database will keep performing good because regular operations all take place on the SSD. But compacting will be slower because the temp file is written in the scratch folder first.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Post Reply