License not found

Post Reply
amartel
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 Jul 16 17:03

License not found

Post by amartel » 01 Jan 20 22:43

Hi Hert ... and Happy new year !!!

I upgraded to PSU v5 server edition (Postgresql + macos) in september and, since the upgrade, the computer used by my wife can't get a license from the pool. At the first run after the upgrade to v5, I saw the "run in trial mode" notice and I thought that the license would be used at the end of the trial period. Now, I have 2 licenses in the pool (one is loaded on my own computer and the other is available) but PSU on my wife's computer refuses to start (no license found), event if I don't use PSU on my computer (with no license in use).
Everything was OK with PSU v3 and v4 (PSU was working fine on both computers). I tried to uninstall+reinstall PSU but no luck...

Have you got an idea??

Attached, you will find 2 screenshots:
- the error dialog box on my wife's computer
- the users management dialog box showing the licenses pool state

Kind regards,
Arnaud
Attachments
lic_pool.png
lic_pool.png (156.73 KiB) Viewed 1449 times
trial_expired.png
trial_expired.png (49.56 KiB) Viewed 1449 times

Username
Posts: 250
Joined: 18 Feb 18 22:21

Re: License not found

Post by Username » 01 Jan 20 23:12

Happy new year to you to Arnaud & mrs.

Try removing the locally stored license files and reconnect to the server to see if the client requests one from the pool properly.

If not, remove the licenses from the pool and add them once again.
PSu Server 5 & Postgres 12 on macOS 10.14
- I'm the user

amartel
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 Jul 16 17:03

Re: License not found

Post by amartel » 02 Jan 20 20:57

Hi,

Thank's for your suggestions. I followed them but they didn't solve my problem. I also tried to connect with my wife's credentials on my computer and I had the same error message (trial expired). It may be a stupid question but could it be related to the license file and is it possible to generate a new one ??

Kind regards,
Arnaud

Hert
Posts: 6006
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: License not found

Post by Hert » 02 Jan 20 21:08

Remember that one license is always reserved for the administrator use. If you own two licenses then you should be able to login as the administrator on one computer and as any non-administrator user on another computer.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Username
Posts: 250
Joined: 18 Feb 18 22:21

Re: License not found

Post by Username » 02 Jan 20 21:18

Make sure you have removed any previous or old licence stored locally.
I kind of remember I had the same problem due to locally placed older licence files.
PSu Server 5 & Postgres 12 on macOS 10.14
- I'm the user

amartel
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 Jul 16 17:03

Re: License not found

Post by amartel » 02 Jan 20 21:53

Hert,

Does it mean that I have to buy another license for my wife? I don't know how many licenses I have and I just have upgraded to V5 as I did from v3 to V4 (and my wife and I were able to use PSU concurrently with v3 and v4). I though that the licenses pool status (see screenshot) means that, when I'm connected as administrator, there is one license available for my wife (loaded:2, Available: 1 and Used:1). Am i wrong ??

amartel
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 Jul 16 17:03

Re: License not found

Post by amartel » 02 Jan 20 21:57

And I also checked that no license file is stored locally (using terminal and command: find . -name "*.idlic") on both computers...

Hert
Posts: 6006
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: License not found

Post by Hert » 03 Jan 20 4:23

Is that screenshot of the User Manager from V5?
If you own two licenses then two people are able to use the application concurrently. You can check the licenses you own at https://cp.idimager.com.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

amartel
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 Jul 16 17:03

Re: License not found

Post by amartel » 03 Jan 20 21:20

>Is that screenshot of the User Manager from V5?
Yes.

>You can check the licenses you own at https://cp.idimager.com.
OK but I don't have a lot of information: just a product name + license key + date + link to download license file. And, when viewing the license file, there no information to let me know how many licenses are there...

Any advice ??

Hert
Posts: 6006
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: License not found

Post by Hert » 03 Jan 20 21:36

One license file is always one license. For one concurrent user
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

amartel
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 Jul 16 17:03

Re: License not found

Post by amartel » 03 Jan 20 22:23

I'm not sure to understand: I have only one license file so I should have only one concurrent user and, because first license is for administrator, there no license for my wife. That's right?

Hert
Posts: 6006
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: License not found

Post by Hert » 04 Jan 20 8:28

It’s all about concurrency. With one license one person can work concurrently.
With one license, you and your wife can both use the admin account.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

amartel
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 Jul 16 17:03

Re: License not found

Post by amartel » 04 Jan 20 16:50

OK and thank's a lot for all these explanations. We will follow your advice (use admin account on both computers) as it matches perfectly our use.

Post Reply