Can v5 be installed along with v4?

Post Reply
Larry56
Posts: 433
Joined: 05 Jul 10 6:57

Can v5 be installed along with v4?

Post by Larry56 » 17 Sep 19 22:20

I'd like to run v4 and v5 concurrently for awhile. Can I do that? Does v5 require a catalog change?

User avatar
G8DHE
Posts: 135
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: Can v5 be installed along with v4?

Post by G8DHE » 17 Sep 19 22:56

Yes it updated the database on opening it. So you would need to copy the db first.
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)

johnbarrett
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Jun 18 15:36

Re: Can v5 be installed along with v4?

Post by johnbarrett » 18 Sep 19 10:38

Its a pain both are installed to the same folder. Delet one and both go! Far better installing to a new folder so an uninstall of 4 doesn't require a new V5 install.

Larry56
Posts: 433
Joined: 05 Jul 10 6:57

Re: Can v5 be installed along with v4?

Post by Larry56 » 19 Sep 19 15:37

I installed v5 to it's own folder and now have decided to just uninstall v4. However, v4 is not showing up in Programs and Features on Windows 10, only v5. I have confirmed that there is both a v4 and v5 folder structure in Program Files. Do I dare just manually delete the v4 folder?

johnbarrett
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Jun 18 15:36

Re: Can v5 be installed along with v4?

Post by johnbarrett » 20 Sep 19 7:54

It's a poor install in my view and really needs sorting out.

Post Reply