C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post Reply
agk7
Posts: 80
Joined: 30 Apr 06 12:36

C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post by agk7 » 13 Mar 19 13:40

Evening all,

Apologies if this has been asked & answered however from my searching I couldn't find the answer. I'm trialing C1 v12 however edits made withing C1 don't appear on my files in PSu? I've reproduced the thumbs, have "Elementary" selected for CamerOne edits support selected? Hopefully someone has found and resolved this issue?

Also, with versions I seem to have a thumbnail for each version, is there a way to only see one file record with the version tabs? Each of my appearances at the moment are the different versions with the versions tabs there to take you to the alternate if that makes sense.

Thanks in advance for any assistance, Andrew.
Andrew
Albury, Australia
PSu 4.3 Win10

Hert
Posts: 21558
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post by Hert » 13 Mar 19 16:17

You need to make sure that C1 writes .COS sidecar files.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

jstartin
Posts: 452
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post by jstartin » 14 Mar 19 15:50

agk7 wrote:
13 Mar 19 13:40
Also, with versions I seem to have a thumbnail for each version, is there a way to only see one file record with the version tabs? Each of my appearances at the moment are the different versions with the versions tabs there to take you to the alternate if that makes sense.
Are you using the Folders view of the catalogue? If you are, and if more than one of the files included in a version set resides in the same folder then you will see multiple copies of the version thumbnail "stack". If each of the versioned files is in a separate folder you will only be shown one stack of thumbs for each folder. This is by design, because you are looking at all of the contents of a folder.

In contrast, the Categories view shows just one thumb for each stack of versioned files displayed.

Other views follow one or other of these models, as appropriate to their expected uses.
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

agk7
Posts: 80
Joined: 30 Apr 06 12:36

Re: C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post by agk7 » 15 Mar 19 1:55

Hert wrote:
13 Mar 19 16:17
You need to make sure that C1 writes .COS sidecar files.
Thanks Hert, can you help with making sure C1 is producing .COS files? I'm working in sessions but don't seem to have .COS files being created?
jstartin wrote:
14 Mar 19 15:50

Are you using the Folders view of the catalogue? If you are, and if more than one of the files included in a version set resides i

Other views follow one or other of these models, as appropriate to their expected uses.
Spot on, thanks jstartin!
Andrew
Albury, Australia
PSu 4.3 Win10

Hert
Posts: 21558
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post by Hert » 15 Mar 19 8:37

agk7 wrote:
15 Mar 19 1:55
Thanks Hert, can you help with making sure C1 is producing .COS files? I'm working in sessions but don't seem to have .COS files being created?
All I know is that PSU reads COS files as written with C1. But I have no idea how C1 works, so can't help you with that. Maybe someone with C1 knowledge jumps in.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

agk7
Posts: 80
Joined: 30 Apr 06 12:36

Re: C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post by agk7 » 16 Mar 19 7:27

Thanks Hert. So I've been trying to work this out. It seems that PSu is showing a crop which i've done in C1 but not other edits / colour adjustments etc.?? Is anyone successfully using C1 for RAW processing & seeing changes in PSu? Really appreciate any help.
Andrew
Albury, Australia
PSu 4.3 Win10

jstartin
Posts: 452
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post by jstartin » 16 Mar 19 12:15

C1 and other raw converters/parametric editors save details of the settings needed in that application to generate your final result. Most of the settings are proprietary and follow undisclosed recipes. The "Elementary" support level in PSu applies only settings that it can duplicate - crop and rotation are prime examples. The "Approximate" support level goes further and attempts to interpret parameters for which Hert can make a reasonable guess - e.g. exposure, contrast, colour - but the results are, naturally, just approximations. If you want PSu to show exactly what C1 does you need write an output file in a suitable format (jpeg for instance), import it into PSu and use PSu's version facility.
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

agk7
Posts: 80
Joined: 30 Apr 06 12:36

Re: C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post by agk7 » 17 Mar 19 5:30

Thanks Jim, it seems PSu can only interpret the very basic edits (crop etc). I've just changed my settings to "Approximate" but PSu is still not interpreting any color edits or even B&W trials? Is this consistent with what others are seeing? I might have to just produce a JPEG version as you've suggested..

Thanks.
Andrew
Albury, Australia
PSu 4.3 Win10

User avatar
G8DHE
Posts: 115
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: C1 v12 Edits & PSu v4.3 display

Post by G8DHE » 17 Mar 19 10:24

As far as I am aware its the nature of all RAW "editors" remember its only altering the metadata to be applied to the sensor data in order to create the image, often a preview JPG is included in the raw file package to allow preview of the the otherwise raw sensor data.
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)

Post Reply