Cant move a collection?

Post Reply
mckeephoto
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 May 16 23:00
Location: Boston
Contact:

Cant move a collection?

Post by mckeephoto » 15 Feb 19 15:46

As I have been slowing transitioning from Media Pro, I have been reorganizing in PS. I created a Portfolio called Client Names.

Under that, I have created collections based on, obviously, particular clients, where I can quickly find their whole history. So far, it has worked great when I need to browse through images for a particular client.

To make it easier to navigate, I have sorted them, manually, in alphabetical order. It has been easy to reorder them by clicking on a collection and using command up or down arrow. (I'm on a mac)

Except for one particular collection. This one, when I select it and hit up or down arrow, doesn't move. Instead, the collection just below it moves!

I tried creating a new collection and putting those images into it and I end up with the same problem: It doesn't move.

I can't figure out why...

My only solution was to create a new collection, move it to where I wanted it and then add the images from the original collection into the new collection. That new one can move, no problem.

What could have caused this?

Hert
Posts: 21404
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Cant move a collection?

Post by Hert » 17 Feb 19 8:00

Can you try to compact the database (Tools-Catakog) and then try again. Does that help?
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

mckeephoto
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 May 16 23:00
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: Cant move a collection?

Post by mckeephoto » 26 Feb 19 17:19

So I have been trying to compact the catalog. I did the database in about 3 minutes.

However, the thumbnails have been at 0.0% for about an hour. And, I have a spinning ball when I have PS active. Did something corrupt somewhere? Can I force quit?

fyi: after compacting the database, the problem still existed.

mckeephoto
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 May 16 23:00
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: Cant move a collection?

Post by mckeephoto » 26 Feb 19 17:50

Ah, it just completed. Took longer than I thought it should but I haven't tried this before so I will know what to expect next time.

It did not change the behavior though.

When I try to move that folder, a different folder moves.

Hert
Posts: 21404
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Cant move a collection?

Post by Hert » 26 Feb 19 17:54

Killing the application in the middle of a write operation can corrupt a SQLite databases I don’t recommend that unless you have a backup available. Depending on the size of your thumbs database it can take a while to complete, though I haven’t seen it take over an hour.

This is a user forum, best to send an email (support@idimager.com) for your collection move issue. Thank you.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

mckeephoto
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 May 16 23:00
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: Cant move a collection?

Post by mckeephoto » 26 Feb 19 18:19

Done! I look forward your thoughts!

mckeephoto
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 May 16 23:00
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: Cant move a collection?

Post by mckeephoto » 28 Feb 19 14:48

Just fyi to the photo supreme world: Hert is amazing! Tech support straightened out my catalog. And, I learned a few new things along the way.

Thank you Hert!

Post Reply