Newbie question regarding Portfolios

Rhod

Newbie question regarding Portfolios

Post by Rhod » 16 Dec 18 10:08

Hi - first post here. I'm a long term Lightroom user looking to move away from Adobe and currently evaluating Photo Supreme. I will probably purchase imminently to take advantage of the current 20% off offer.

I'm trying to work out something which is probably fairly basic and I could do with some help. I'm a landscape painter and I have several thousand photos of artwork, some of which are of sketches, some of works in progress, some of finished work in oils, acrylics, watercolours etc. I also have a lot of other photos which I'd like to sort eventually. The photos are currently sorted in date order by year/month/day in separate folders (as imported into Lightroom). They were taken on a variety of cameras and some have been converted to DNG.

So as a way of beginning to get some order, I created an 'Artwork' portfolio and dragged every artwork related photo I could find into that (by going laboriously through every date in the timeline, adding the photos to the image basket, then adding them to the sub-collection 'All Artwork'). I then created a sub-collection called 'sketches' and began dragging images of sketches from 'All Artwork' into the image basket ready to move to the sub-collection. I see that there are two options in the basket - 'copy to portfolio collection' and 'move to portfolio collection' but whichever option I choose the image still appears in 'All Artwork'. This makes it very difficult to know (especially as work progresses) which images have been added to a sub-collection and which haven't. I hope I've explained that ok. My goal is for 'All Artwork' to be empty and everything sorted into sub-collections.

Maybe I'm going about this all wrong and there is an easier way, if so I'd be really glad if someone would share it. Otherwise, what am I doing wrong in the Portfolio module please?

Thanks
Rhod

jstartin