Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post Reply
Stephen
Posts: 575
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by Stephen » 19 Jun 18 14:44

I understand (or thought that I understood) the share function, but this puzzles me.

Using the Share / Copy to Folder function and the settings shown, I'm copying a jpg file to another location. The original is 24.7 MB, but the copy is only 9.1 MB!
Photo SupremeScreenSnapz181.jpg
Photo SupremeScreenSnapz181.jpg (172.33 KiB) Viewed 866 times
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

Hert
Posts: 21098
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by Hert » 19 Jun 18 18:14

sizing to original dimensions is not the same as copying the original file. Disable Sizing if you want to copy original file. Some of the sharing option will then not be available.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Stephen
Posts: 575
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by Stephen » 19 Jun 18 19:00

Thanks.

Does my current setting therefore degrade the quality or what is actually happening here?
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

Hert
Posts: 21098
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by Hert » 20 Jun 18 7:29

The image is loaded the rules of the transfer profile are applied, and then saved..
With JPG there will always be recompression on saving.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Stephen
Posts: 575
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by Stephen » 01 Jul 18 9:03

I perhaps saved the sizing option a long time ago because I needed some of the other options too, i.e. removing metadata or adding a caption.

Stephen: The original is 24.7 MB, but the copy is only 9.1 MB!

Hert: "With JPG there will always be recompression on saving."

This much? :?

P.S. The term "Keep original size" is also misleading.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

Hert
Posts: 21098
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by Hert » 01 Jul 18 9:35

This much?
Sharing images sends the images with 95% JPG quality setting. Try in any other tool to save the image at 95% and you should get a similar result.
P.S. The term "Keep original size" is also misleading.
That is what it's doing
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Stephen
Posts: 575
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by Stephen » 02 Jul 18 15:48

Thanks, that is clearer.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

David Grundy
Posts: 326
Joined: 13 May 07 16:40
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by David Grundy » 06 Jul 18 11:45

Hert wrote:
19 Jun 18 18:14
Disable Sizing if you want to copy original file. Some of the sharing option will then not be available.
Hert, I'm curious about this. Why does "sizing" need to be selected as a pre-requisite for accessing the "Metadata" options?

Hert
Posts: 21098
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by Hert » 06 Jul 18 11:59

Metadata also allows you to convert colors.

Either way, Sharing is intended for.....sharing :), which typically involves downsizing. The only reason why you can de-activate downsizing is because some people want to share original images.

If you want to remove metadata from your original file, then create a Batch. There you have the option to Remove Exif from a file.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

User avatar
G8DHE
Posts: 22
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by G8DHE » 06 Jul 18 13:14

If resizing with the same dimensions is used are the images re-compressed, rather than the files physically copied to a new destination?
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)

Hert
Posts: 21098
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by Hert » 06 Jul 18 15:40

When Sizing is enabled, the image is loaded, all settings of the sharing profile are applied and then saved with the changes.
If you want to copy files instead of sharing an altered copy then don’t use the sizing option. All profile setting that impact the image file or content will then be disabled in the profile.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

snowman1
Posts: 351
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: Do I misunderstand the "Share" command?

Post by snowman1 » 06 Jul 18 17:32

I still think this way of doing it is rather misleading to anyone that has not used this functionality before, and a simple checkbox at the top of the settings to "copy original file" or "apply sizing and other adjustments" would make it more obvious. As discussed in https://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.ph ... ze#p103905 and https://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.ph ... ze#p103905 from 2013! No complaints about the functionality though :-)
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

Post Reply