"Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post Reply
bimo
Posts: 97
Joined: 29 Aug 07 22:34
Location: Germany

"Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by bimo » 02 Mar 18 1:26

In v4 there is a new entry under preferences/catalog/versioning: "Version Sets Offset Folder".

Could someone please explain the concept behind it?

Thank you.
Michael

jstartin
Posts: 400
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: "Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by jstartin » 02 Mar 18 15:33

It provides two choices for the folder from which the search for versions starts.
"Current folder" looks in the same folder as the file selected for version detection, and sub folders (just as v3 did).
"Current and sibling folders" also looks in other sub-folders of the parent folder of the folder containing the selected file. With this you can, for example, have a container folder such as 'Photos' and within it sub-folders for RAW and for JPEG. Starting from a jpeg with be able to find raw matches and vice versa. This was not possible in v3, and is a huge improvement for anyone who likes this physical separation of the files.
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

LifeIsLong
Posts: 65
Joined: 09 Oct 08 2:22

Re: "Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by LifeIsLong » 03 Mar 18 12:50

This is all well and good, but I've had to separate at a top level. So I have sibling folders "JPGs" and "RAW", then duplicate the folder structure underneath them. I did this so I could run their online backup at separate times due to the disparity in times (RAW is substantially bigger than JPGs!). A user-selectable offset would be very nice.

IDImager v5 also used to have a "look for versions in the selection." This would also be very nice in PSU4. Currently, I have to manually drag-and-drop every version on top of it's main version... a pretty slow process, but I like versions so much it's still worth it.

bimo
Posts: 97
Joined: 29 Aug 07 22:34
Location: Germany

Re: "Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by bimo » 25 Nov 18 15:47

Why is the option "Current and sibling folders" no more available?
Michael

User avatar
G8DHE
Posts: 149
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: "Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by G8DHE » 25 Nov 18 16:33

I find a similar problem, I like the facility to use but it is a real problem where various versions are not in the same "current or a sibling folder" I have several versions visible on a web server which I don't want to have in the same file structures as the masters and versions not for web access. It would be adequate if you could "detect versions" between currently selected folders.
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)

bimo
Posts: 97
Joined: 29 Aug 07 22:34
Location: Germany

Re: "Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by bimo » 25 Nov 18 19:17

Geoff, I don't see that we are talking about a similar topic: you are asking for a new functionality (did you file your requirement in Mantis?) while I'm sticking to a (since 4.0.0 build 992) available function that obviously has been withdrawn.
Michael

jstartin
Posts: 400
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: "Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by jstartin » 25 Nov 18 22:36

bimo wrote:
25 Nov 18 15:47
Why is the option "Current and sibling folders" no more available?
I am confused. This option is certainly available and working properly in my installation of 4.3.0.1755.
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

User avatar
G8DHE
Posts: 149
Joined: 21 Aug 17 13:58

Re: "Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by G8DHE » 25 Nov 18 22:42

? Confused the option is available in version 4.1.3+ ? Why do you stick to an older version ? see below;

Image

I was actually replying to the previous post expressing the same problem that I have with the limitations of Current and sibling
Geoff Mather (G8DHE)

Hert
Posts: 5857
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: "Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by Hert » 26 Nov 18 11:03

bimo wrote:
25 Nov 18 15:47
Why is the option "Current and sibling folders" no more available?
That option is still available. Also see the screenshots posted in this topic.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

bimo
Posts: 97
Joined: 29 Aug 07 22:34
Location: Germany

Re: "Version Sets Offset Folder": what is it goof for?

Post by bimo » 26 Nov 18 15:21

Ups! I was trapped by the german translation where "Current and Sibling Folders" is translated as "Dieser und untergeordnete Ordner" (which actually means "Current and subfolders")...

I tested it and versions in a sibling folder are detected - so no worries, guys!

I filed a change request for the german translation in mantis.
Michael

Post Reply