GPS Country Codes

Post Reply
MikeNaylor
Posts: 90
Joined: 13 Nov 16 14:40
Location: Spain
Contact:

GPS Country Codes

Post by MikeNaylor » 28 Feb 18 0:53

Please could some help me understand why PSu uses 3 letter country codes whilst Jeffrey Friedl's Lightroom Plugin uses 2 letter codes?

Why do they yield different results when doing a reverse lookup?

Is it possible to configure PSu to use 2 or 3 letters?

I'd just like to understand a little more about this.
Apple iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015), macOS High Sierra, Photo Supreme 4, Lightroom Classic.

RobiWan
Posts: 79
Joined: 03 Nov 17 9:14

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by RobiWan » 28 Feb 18 11:15

Where exactly do you see the 3 letters?

Hert
Posts: 21020
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by Hert » 28 Feb 18 12:56

Why do they yield different results when doing a reverse lookup?
Because the standard allows both; The standards defines Country Code as:
Code of the country the content is focussing on -- either the country shown in visual media
or referenced in text or audio media. This element is at the top/first level of a top-down
geographical hierarchy. The code should be taken from ISO 3166 two or three letter code.
The full name of a country should go to the "Country" element

https://www.iptc.org/std/Iptc4xmpCore/1 ... hema_8.pdf
You could ask Jeffrey Friedl if his tool can be switched to using 3 character country codes. Either way, you're fine with a 2 as well as a 3 character code.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

MikeNaylor
Posts: 90
Joined: 13 Nov 16 14:40
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by MikeNaylor » 28 Feb 18 13:16

Thanks Hert, and I will ask Jeffrey. I'm not suggesting PSu should be changed. I'm just wanting to know why they return different results.
Apple iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015), macOS High Sierra, Photo Supreme 4, Lightroom Classic.

fbungarz
Posts: 3163
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Galapagos, Ecuador

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by fbungarz » 01 Mar 18 0:01

Just had a look at Wikipedia:
"ISO 3166-1 alpha-2" refers the two letter codes, apparently they are the codes "most widely used" and apparently also the country top level domain used on the internet (though there are many such as .com, .edu etc. in the US, where that does not really apply)
"ISO 3166-1 alpha-3" are the three letter codes, supposedly they allow "a better visual association between the codes and the country names"...

I guess, it is a bit unfortunate that the ITPC schema allows using both. Might cause confusion and complication. But that's life, I guess...

RobiWan
Posts: 79
Joined: 03 Nov 17 9:14

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by RobiWan » 01 Mar 18 19:13

Hi,

I did not understand the problem. My PSu sets and uses 2 letters because I want it so;)

MikeNaylor
Posts: 90
Joined: 13 Nov 16 14:40
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by MikeNaylor » 01 Mar 18 19:15

RobiWan wrote:
01 Mar 18 19:13
Hi,

I did not understand the problem. My PSu sets and uses 2 letters because I want it so;)
How did you do that?
Apple iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015), macOS High Sierra, Photo Supreme 4, Lightroom Classic.

RobiWan
Posts: 79
Joined: 03 Nov 17 9:14

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by RobiWan » 01 Mar 18 19:23

PSU comes with some countries in Places category.

For me, I have extended it to the countries that I have visited or want to visit.
Then I set the settings for each country as in the screenshots (here a example for Gemany)
01-03-_2018_19-17-14.png
01-03-_2018_19-17-14.png (86.04 KiB) Viewed 738 times
01-03-_2018_19-17-53.png
01-03-_2018_19-17-53.png (86.9 KiB) Viewed 738 times
01-03-_2018_19-18-08.png
01-03-_2018_19-18-08.png (58.54 KiB) Viewed 738 times
Robert

MikeNaylor
Posts: 90
Joined: 13 Nov 16 14:40
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by MikeNaylor » 01 Mar 18 19:29

Thanks Robert. I'll study this.
Apple iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015), macOS High Sierra, Photo Supreme 4, Lightroom Classic.

fbungarz
Posts: 3163
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Galapagos, Ecuador

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by fbungarz » 02 Mar 18 1:18

Hi RobiWan,
while it is possible to use Apply Detail Profiles to do this, there are two aspects you may want to consider:
These codes are also automatically assigned if you configured PSu to auto-generate labels by reverse Geo-lookup. And in that case three-letter codes are being assigned, which is likely the source of Mike Naylor's annoyance.
Now, when you overrule this by configuring your geographic labels to use two letter codes instead, you have to do this manually for each single country. and any country you may miss, will likely be assigned the three-letter code per default, when a new label is being generated from the GOP-Panel.
Cheers,
Frank

RobiWan
Posts: 79
Joined: 03 Nov 17 9:14

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by RobiWan » 02 Mar 18 9:59

fbungarz wrote:
02 Mar 18 1:18
These codes are also automatically assigned if you configured PSu to auto-generate labels by reverse Geo-lookup. And in that case three-letter codes are being assigned, which is likely the source of Mike Naylor's annoyance.
Can not confirm until now. But I have last import of the pictures was still with version 3. (Maybe something has changed here with the V4)
My setting is "Up to location level"

Robert

MikeNaylor
Posts: 90
Joined: 13 Nov 16 14:40
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by MikeNaylor » 02 Mar 18 10:07

I, Mike Naylor, am not annoyed. I was merely asking if anyone could enlighten me for why 3 letter codes return different results than when 2 letter codes are submitted. You have noted that the ISO spec says 3 letters are easier to read, but this doesn't explain why the reverse lookups are different. All I want to know is what the reasoning is for such behaviour, and why one would choose between 3 and 2.
Apple iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015), macOS High Sierra, Photo Supreme 4, Lightroom Classic.

fbungarz
Posts: 3163
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Galapagos, Ecuador

Re: GPS Country Codes

Post by fbungarz » 03 Mar 18 1:38

OK, perhaps "annoyed" was too strong. Personally I think the three-letter codes make more sense, but find it a nuisance that there are two different standards...
;-)

Post Reply