Single or Server?!

Username

Single or Server?!

Post by Username » 20 Feb 18 0:24

I'm been looking for a DAM for a while and actually ran into PS for the first time a week ago and I really like it.
What I can not decide is which version to choose and the 15% discount is soon gone and I have not had time to try the Server Edition yet. Only Single which seems very nice!

I have a lot of images I would like to get managed better. I'm not a professional but I've done photography my whole life.
I would most likely be the one doing most of the work importing and sorting but my daughter is a very skilled photographer and it would be great for her to at least browse and work with PS and edit with her own DxO 11.

My photos are stored on a local server.
I'm running both a MacBook Pro and a stationary Mac.
My daughter is on a MBA and my wife does Windows.

- A Single install would mean I need to sync my db between Macs right?
Can I still have my photos on the server over gigabit network or do they need to be stored locally to keep up the speed?

- A Server license would mean I'm still the only one able to managed and access the photos.
Can I have admin role from both my Macs, one at a time?
Hert had some ideas which would allow me to do both the Admin on one Mac and client on another with the same license.
Still this would not allow my family do do anything. Correct, right?

Unless any of those solutions above do work, it's a massive $920 cost for a 5 client server license... which I'm unable to afford.

I wish there was an option to buy one server and one additional user licence to go with it.
Almost that two Single would make more sense for me.

I would like to be able to run Admin from both my Macs if possible.
At least from one and client from another.
But my daughter and wife would need to be able to browse and export photos when they need. And my daughter would nee do be able to import, edit and export photos by her self.

Do you have any ideas or guidance for me?