Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post Reply
ssahm
Posts: 45
Joined: 30 Jun 09 23:12
Location: Rhein-Main-Gebiet / Germany

Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by ssahm » 17 Feb 18 14:18

Hi there,

after installing v4 in another path than v3, PSU asked to update the db. I agreed and now I have got the error message: (in German)
"Connection to db not possible" "no such view: V_CatalogPeriods.

What should I do? "Ignore and risk data corruption"? ... DB update stopped after clicking "continue"

BR
stevy
-------------------------------------
Auf der Suche nach dem ultimativen Foto, aber ob IDI mir da helfen kann :-)

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 4454
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by weidmic » 17 Feb 18 14:46

Hi Stevy,
do you have a backup of your V3 database?

If you have a backup. then run V3 and do a Compact datadase.
Then try again...

Hope that helps,
Michael

P.S.: I think it‘s best to recreate the thumbnails database from scratch. But maybe Hert can give you better advise...
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

ssahm
Posts: 45
Joined: 30 Jun 09 23:12
Location: Rhein-Main-Gebiet / Germany

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by ssahm » 17 Feb 18 15:15

Hi Michael,

yes, I have a backup. I restored db and thumb db, compacted both.
Migration to v4 delivered the same error message.

Same procedure again, but i rename the thumb-db to "..._old" to exclude it from migartion...
Same error message...

I can't open the migrated db with V3 anymore. So it did something but only a fex steps of migration.

@Hert: I hope we can solve this before February 20th 2018...

BR
stevy
-------------------------------------
Auf der Suche nach dem ultimativen Foto, aber ob IDI mir da helfen kann :-)

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 4454
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by weidmic » 17 Feb 18 15:35

Stevy,
I know this should not be an issue, but maybe you switch to English and give it another go.
During all the testing, no one ever mentioned this error...

But again, we early testers did migrate way earlier, so this might only be an issue with one of the latest versions of psu...
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

ssahm
Posts: 45
Joined: 30 Jun 09 23:12
Location: Rhein-Main-Gebiet / Germany

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by ssahm » 17 Feb 18 16:03

I uninstalled V4, installed it again chosing "English", but I got the same error.

Or did you mention the language of der Operating System (BTW Windows 7 - 64bit)?
-------------------------------------
Auf der Suche nach dem ultimativen Foto, aber ob IDI mir da helfen kann :-)

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 4454
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by weidmic » 17 Feb 18 16:16

No, that was what I suggested. I do use Win10 English an German On different devices)
But I have only installed PSU server.
Maybe international characters (like German Umlauts) give you the problem?
I really dont know.

Sorry, I could not help. I hope Hert will chime in soon...
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Hert
Posts: 21018
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by Hert » 17 Feb 18 21:44

Best to send an email to support@idimager.com
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

ssahm
Posts: 45
Joined: 30 Jun 09 23:12
Location: Rhein-Main-Gebiet / Germany

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by ssahm » 18 Feb 18 12:16

Hert could solve the problem. Thanks a lot.
-------------------------------------
Auf der Suche nach dem ultimativen Foto, aber ob IDI mir da helfen kann :-)

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 4454
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by weidmic » 18 Feb 18 13:13

That is great news!
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Preston B
Posts: 400
Joined: 24 Feb 10 19:01
Location: Columbia, CA

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by Preston B » 18 Feb 18 17:48

Hert could solve the problem. Thanks a lot.
Could you post the steps so that others who may have this issue can resolve it?

Thanks,
--P
Preston Birdwell
Columbia, CA

Photo Supreme on Puget Systems Obsidian: Win 10-64 bit Intel i5Quad Core 3.3Ghz 32GB RAM, and Puget Systems Traverse Laptop. Chamonix 4x5 and Nikon D-7100.

Please visit my web site at www.gildedmoon.com

Hert
Posts: 21018
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Error updating DB from V3 to V4

Post by Hert » 18 Feb 18 19:45

The fix is to send the catalog file to me
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Post Reply