Import Missing Folders - Problem

Post Reply
frith
Posts: 105
Joined: 16 Dec 06 1:25

Import Missing Folders - Problem

Post by frith » 10 Apr 16 18:35

I have added some new folders with images to an existing folder, the existing folder already exists in PS.

I have tried to add the new folders to the PS catalog by taking the following actions on the top level folder: (1) scanning for missing folders; (2) verifying this folder; (3) and reimporting the top level folder.

In all cases PS starts to process the images and then freezes (I get a "this application is not responding" message ) after a few of the new sub folders are processed. I then have to shut PS down, restart the program, and repeat the process.

Not sure if it is a bug, a user error, or something else.

Anyone else have this problem? Should I submit a bug report?

Thanks

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Import Missing Folders - Problem

Post by Mike Buckley » 10 Apr 16 18:57

My guess is that if you wait long enough, the "not responding" message will disappear and the program will return to normal with all of the actions properly taken. This has happened a lot on my systems going back years with various operating systems and versions of IDimager and Supreme.

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Import Missing Folders - Problem

Post by fbungarz » 10 Apr 16 19:20

It is kind of strange: on my system this can be fairly inconsistent. Occasionally the program appears to freeze, hangs almost for ever (might as well brew a cup of tea), then it is fairly quick. Not sure what it is related to, though scanning a top level folder with lots of subfolders is almost a guarantee that it takes for ever... (perhaps not surprisingly so).

PhilBurton
Posts: 307
Joined: 12 Sep 10 18:47
Location: CA, USA

Re: Import Missing Folders - Problem

Post by PhilBurton » 10 Apr 16 20:13

fbungarz wrote:It is kind of strange: on my system this can be fairly inconsistent. Occasionally the program appears to freeze, hangs almost for ever (might as well brew a cup of tea), then it is fairly quick. Not sure what it is related to, though scanning a top level folder with lots of subfolders is almost a guarantee that it takes for ever... (perhaps not surprisingly so).
Just wondering. Does this operation create temporary files?

Or, does performance suffer if the catalog isn't cleaned up periodically?

Phil
Photo Supreme user
Home built i7 3930, 32 GB RAM, Win 10 Pro 64, latest version of Photo Supreme 3, Lightroom 6 and Photoshop CS 6 (perpetual licenses)

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Import Missing Folders - Problem

Post by fbungarz » 10 Apr 16 22:03

Just wondering. Does this operation create temporary files?
No idea...
Or, does performance suffer if the catalog isn't cleaned up periodically?
That is definitely the case in my experience, but not related to importing folder. Generally, performance suffers if the catalog is not regularly compacted. That is to be expected, though.

frith
Posts: 105
Joined: 16 Dec 06 1:25

Re: Import Missing Folders - Problem

Post by frith » 11 Apr 16 20:37

Thanks for the comments. Appears some things just take awhile to complete (and show the "application not responding" message). I will allow the program to keep running and see if this is the issue.

Post Reply