Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post Reply
frith
Posts: 105
Joined: 16 Dec 06 1:25

Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by frith » 24 Mar 16 1:20

I am running PS on a Mac under OS X 10.11.4. I am not able to rename a file by double clicking the file name in thumbnail browser view (but the batch rename function works using CMD-Shift-R). Can anyone let me know if I am doing something wrong or if the problem is with PS under OS X 10.11.4?

Thanks

Stephen
Posts: 658
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by Stephen » 24 Mar 16 12:14

I'm not using 10.11.4 but "double clicking the file name in thumbnail browser view" is not functional in other OSs AFAIK, so probably not recommended. If your renaming is a predetermined scheme which you often need, then I would take the time to set up a renaming script, which you can save if you right click on the 3 stripes in the renumbering pop-up. If it's just a one-off file, you could go to the Mac Finder and re-number it.* PSu will then not recognize it, so you will need to verify the folder from within PSu to find it again. It sounds cumbersome, but is the only way I know.

*Edit. But do remember to also rename the xmp side card file!
Last edited by Stephen on 24 Mar 16 12:39, edited 1 time in total.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by fbungarz » 24 Mar 16 12:36

I agree that it was VERY convenient to be able to rename files manually! No idea why this apparently has been removed. Quite annoying...

vlad
Posts: 895
Joined: 01 Sep 08 15:20

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by vlad » 24 Mar 16 13:22

@Frank: on Windows, an individual image file can still be renamed by pressing F2 on the thumbnail and typing the new name. (The sidecar name will lkely change too, if applicable.)

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by fbungarz » 24 Mar 16 14:41

... on Windows, an individual image file can still be renamed by pressing F2
Good to know, again one more shortcut though :?
Why not via double-click?

vlad
Posts: 895
Joined: 01 Sep 08 15:20

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by vlad » 24 Mar 16 15:08

F2 is standard on Windows (it works in Explorer too).

frith
Posts: 105
Joined: 16 Dec 06 1:25

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by frith » 25 Mar 16 0:52

I must be missing something. In the PS help menu there is a document called "Quick Manual - Folder and File Management" and it says:

"You can rename a single file by selecting the file, then

Move a file
- On Windows, press F2
- On Mac double click on the filename of the thumbnail

That will make the file name editable. Enter a new name (remember to also add or keep the file extension) and press Enter to confirm the change"

Is this wrong??

frith
Posts: 105
Joined: 16 Dec 06 1:25

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by frith » 25 Mar 16 1:38

Following on to last post, I do find that if I right click an image, open in Finder, and change the name, the revised name is reflected correctly in PS

andrew.heard
Posts: 166
Joined: 16 Jun 10 0:36

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by andrew.heard » 25 Mar 16 3:44

There is also an annoying bug (for me) with using F2 to rename - the thumbnail looses focus - see bug reported a year ago - http://mantis.idimager.com/view.php?id=2825.

Stephen
Posts: 658
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by Stephen » 25 Mar 16 12:28

frith wrote:Following on to last post, I do find that if I right click an image, open in Finder, and change the name, the revised name is reflected correctly in PS
You would need to re-sync the image and possibly even verify the folder from within PSu so that the database can find the new name. Post a message if you don't know how to do that.

I would be interested to discover how you right click an image an manage to get to the Finder. I cannot do it.

Running Lion.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

HCS
Posts: 150
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by HCS » 25 Mar 16 14:59

frith wrote:I must be missing something. In the PS help menu there is a document called "Quick Manual - Folder and File Management" and it says:

"You can rename a single file by selecting the file, then

Move a file
- On Windows, press F2
- On Mac double click on the filename of the thumbnail

That will make the file name editable. Enter a new name (remember to also add or keep the file extension) and press Enter to confirm the change"

Is this wrong??
On a Mac it should be Shift + Command + R, but i can confirm that neither double clicking on the file name, nor the key combination works.

frith
Posts: 105
Joined: 16 Dec 06 1:25

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by frith » 26 Mar 16 1:17

Stephen - When either in Catalog or Folder view, I right click the image. A dialog box opens and at the bottom the last option is "Locate in Finder". Selecting this opens a small Finder window with the image name highlighted. I then simply change the name. It is immediately also changed in PS. Then all I need to do is close the small Finder window. I have found that I don't need to verify the folder or re-sync the image or anything else. The change made in Finder is immediately reflected in PS.

This is pretty simple. However, if PS is to be a robust DAM application, you should be able to just change the name in PS and not have to do it in the Finder window. I have tried lots and lots and lots of DAM applications (and a lot of image editors - Aperture, Lightroom, Capture One and so forth) and as I recall (from memory) they all, or almost all, let you change the final name easily from within the program. Simple file name changes from within the program is almost a foundation requirement of these programs, in my opinion.

HCS - Shift-Command-R calls up the rename dialog - fine for batch changes - but if you want to just tweak the name of one file, that is a really cumbersome approach.

Stephen
Posts: 658
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Rename Files - Does not seem to work

Post by Stephen » 26 Mar 16 11:49

frith wrote:When either in Catalog or Folder view, I right click the image. A dialog box opens and at the bottom the last option is "Locate in Finder". Selecting this opens a small Finder window with the image name highlighted. I then simply change the name. It is immediately also changed in PS. Then all I need to do is close the small Finder window. I have found that I don't need to verify the folder or re-sync the image or anything else. The change made in Finder is immediately reflected in PS. This is pretty simple.
Indeed, very simple. 2 clicks instead of 1. (Just give a thought to the Windows users who often have 5 clicks vs. 2 clicks under Mac.) I cannot imagine this being a great burden for anybody, even if they do frequently rename individual files. Thanks for the tip.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

Post Reply