Can't get versioning right (NEF+JPG of same filename)

PhilBurton

Can't get versioning right (NEF+JPG of same filename)

Post by PhilBurton » 23 Mar 16 3:07

So I'm still learning PSu, and i'm still "catching up" importing my digital photo library into PSu.

Up to now, i've been importing only NEFs and filing them by date and renaming by date. My folder structure is \Photo\yyyy\mm\dd and my filenames are yyyymmdd-0000. This has always worked up to now. If the NEF had a corresponding WAV file (voice memo generated on my Nikon D3), that got renamed properly.

So yesterday for the first time I imported images that were both NEF and JPG. This time, PSu treated the NEF and the JPG as separate images. I think this is related to versioning. In the Import dialog, under advanced settings, I checked the Apply Versioning box and the rule is RAW As Main Version. What did I do wrong, or not do?

Also, at times, I have created image logs in the form of TXT, DOC, or DOCX. I added these types under File Handling, so they import OK, but these files are also treated as separate images, not as additional files associated with the same renamed image. Same question as above.

If there is documentation, just point me to it. I did read through the QuickStart guides. If there is no documentation, can someone explain this to me.

I realize that i am still a n00b compared with guys like Vlad or Frank, but everyone has to start someplace.

Thanks, Phil
Photo Supreme user
Home built i7 3930, 32 GB RAM, Win 10 Pro 64, latest version of Photo Supreme 3, Lightroom 6 and Photoshop CS 6 (perpetual licenses)

Mike Buckley

Re: Can't get versioning right (NEF+JPG of same filename)

Post by Mike Buckley » 23 Mar 16 4:40