Out of Memory (0) Error

Post Reply
NassauBoy
Posts: 39
Joined: 24 Jan 16 19:20

Out of Memory (0) Error

Post by NassauBoy » 12 Feb 16 2:48

Hi All,

Im running the Server Version with Postgres. I keep getting the Out of Memory Error (0) when selecting any condition that seems to return more than say 20K results.

I would not normally return such a large amount on a search, but when using a feature such as "browsing the technical info panel" many of the items will have many thousands of shots. this this error. Once you drill deeper down and the result set is under 20K "ish" then no error, and some pictures will appear.

Im fairly sure I have put the server settings inlace recommended as per the PDF document for Postgres.

Anyone else have this issue.
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz i7: 32GB Ram: Internal SSD: External Promise R4 Thunderbolt 16TB Raid 5 (all Data)

Stephen
Posts: 645
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Out of Memory (0) Error

Post by Stephen » 12 Feb 16 11:27

I'm not using server version, but there is a limitation on the number of search results at 30K. Maybe of some relevance.

I hope somebody using server version can help more.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

HCS
Posts: 154
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: Out of Memory (0) Error

Post by HCS » 12 Feb 16 21:56

Can't really help you. I use the server version (postgresql) and have the same error from time to time.

Somehow, it seems to have gotten better, but i have no proof for that. I don't know what causes it, i haven't been able to reproduce it reliably.

If it were somehow related to the returned query results, it has to be a bug. Such an exception should be better handled.

NassauBoy
Posts: 39
Joined: 24 Jan 16 19:20

Re: Out of Memory (0) Error

Post by NassauBoy » 13 Feb 16 21:36

@HCS / @Stephen

Yes, I was wondering if limited to the search result, but can't say for sure as its not consistent. Also agree, if that is the reason the exception should be handled better, maybe "Result Set Exceeds 30K" or whatever. Atlas would know the reason.

I only have a few days of the Server Version with Postgres left, and want to feel confident this is the right choice. the only other contender that has a database catalog that Im ok with is Media One, its smoking fast on search and browsing the results. Its $200 but so is Photo Supreme Server version. That said, I like that PSu lets me write to the RAW file the Label Data (this is huge for me) and the tagging just seams so much easier ... and if your not going to tag then whats the point of either app.

Are you guys:

1. Happy with your choice
2. Do upgrades come out regular enough
3. Feel the developer is committed to the product (I know one guy but Im ok giving the little guy a chance)

Thanks
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz i7: 32GB Ram: Internal SSD: External Promise R4 Thunderbolt 16TB Raid 5 (all Data)

HCS
Posts: 154
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: Out of Memory (0) Error

Post by HCS » 14 Feb 16 16:22

You can't compare Media Pro with PSU server. Media Pro "only" has a local SQLite database, which would be similar to PSU stand alone.

As to your questions:
1. I'm certainly happy with my choice, this out of memory is the only error i've ever encountered.
2. Fast enough for me. Bugs are generally squashed immediately.
3. See 2, but developer really very committed, much unlike for Media Pro.

I used to use Media Pro and left it because of #3 and the fact that it crippled my system by placing a log file on my system drive that grew to 90 Gb. That log file is not configurable (location, size and which items are logged). The log file issue did it for me.

I then went with PSU stand alone, but later converted to the server version to be able to work from multiple locations in my network (not just @ my workstation, but also from my laptop).

NassauBoy
Posts: 39
Joined: 24 Jan 16 19:20

Re: Out of Memory (0) Error

Post by NassauBoy » 14 Feb 16 21:03

@HSC
Thanks very much for the information. Appreciate it.
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz i7: 32GB Ram: Internal SSD: External Promise R4 Thunderbolt 16TB Raid 5 (all Data)

HCS
Posts: 154
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: Out of Memory (0) Error

Post by HCS » 19 Feb 16 19:51

I have tuned my Postgres server, based on some Google research. I've upped some of the parameters. I did this after i'd moved my database to a separate SSD (from the system SSD), so i could tune without risk (had the backup).

I have to touch wood and check this for awhile, but it seems that the database is more responsive and i haven't seen the Out of Memory since. It's only been a couple of days, so i'll keep an eye out and report back after a while (if i remember).

Stephen
Posts: 645
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Out of Memory (0) Error

Post by Stephen » 20 Feb 16 11:49

NassauBoy wrote: Are you guys:
1. Happy with your choice
2. Do upgrades come out regular enough
3. Feel the developer is committed to the product (I know one guy but Im ok giving the little guy a chance)
@NassauBoy
I missed this question recently.
1. yes
2. yes
3. yes, much more than others

I bought and have tested Media Pro on a few isolated occasions but have not used it since. I guess I could sell it or give it away, but as it was downloaded they would probably not allow a license transfer.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 4494
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Out of Memory (0) Error

Post by weidmic » 20 Feb 16 19:14

HCS,
would you mind to share what you did to tune the postgresSQL Server?
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Post Reply