Destroying version sets - safely!

Post Reply
Stephen
Posts: 645
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Destroying version sets - safely!

Post by Stephen » 04 Dec 15 19:56

I have played with version sets sporadically, but decided they are are not for me. Knowing how powerful PSu can be, what is the best way to separate the images? The button says "destroy version set". What does it actually destroy?
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

Mike Buckley
Posts: 4561
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Destroying version sets - safely!

Post by Mike Buckley » 04 Dec 15 20:05

It removes the versioning and affects nothing else. Using the method you discovered is the only way I can think of for removing all versioning from an entire set.

Hert
Posts: 21503
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Destroying version sets - safely!

Post by Hert » 05 Dec 15 9:25

Mike is correct. Destroying a version set means that the link between the images is removed. They will all go out of sync and need a resync.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

HaraldE
Posts: 398
Joined: 29 Apr 07 22:30
Location: Bålsta, Sweden

Re: Destroying version sets - safely!

Post by HaraldE » 06 Dec 15 8:13

Morning,

I use "Destroy Version Set" now and then and can confirm it works as expected, have never had an issues with this.
When used I end up with two images in the collection, assuming there were two of them in the version set.

Regards, Harald

Stephen
Posts: 645
Joined: 01 Oct 14 10:15

Re: Destroying version sets - safely!

Post by Stephen » 07 Dec 15 15:14

Thank you.

"Destroy" is quite a strong word and I now know why I was cautious. On my set-up, the two individual files are thrown out of order, so an old test gave me the impression of destruction of one file. This time, by writing down the name of each file before "dismantling" the version set and then re-sorting the images within the View Pane, I have discovered that both files are indeed kept. This give more confidence in moving forward.
Never say never change, but using Mac since 2005. Photo Supreme 3.3.0.2605. I endorse the interoperability of files between applications and systems.

Mike Buckley
Posts: 4561
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Destroying version sets - safely!

Post by Mike Buckley » 07 Dec 15 15:29

Stephen wrote:"Destroy" is quite a strong word
Moreover, the phrase, "Destroy Version Set," can understandably be interpreted to mean that the images in the set are going to be destroyed. It would be clearer if the phrase was changed to "Remove versioning from the set."

george
Posts: 1163
Joined: 24 Jun 07 15:57
Location: USA

Re: Destroying version sets - safely!

Post by george » 07 Dec 15 20:03

Agree that "destroy" is too drastic a term when it comes to managing one's images.
George

jstartin
Posts: 447
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: Destroying version sets - safely!

Post by jstartin » 08 Dec 15 11:51

Mike Buckley wrote:
Stephen wrote:"Destroy" is quite a strong word
Moreover, the phrase, "Destroy Version Set," can understandably be interpreted to mean that the images in the set are going to be destroyed. It would be clearer if the phrase was changed to "Remove versioning from the set."
That is a good suggestion; one for Mantis perhaps. Despite my knowing exactly what 'destroy' does and doesn't do my pulse speeds up every time I use it!
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

Post Reply