Problems importing images

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 835
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Problems importing images

Post by weidmic » 18 Oct 15 1:31

Does anyone else has problems importing images since the last update?
I get sudden exits, sometimes a error message (see screenshot) however, however the import almost never finishes.

If I import only a few images at a time, it works...

Best Regards,
Michael
Attachments
typo in title
typo in title
import.PNG (32.9 KiB) Viewed 4649 times
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by Mike Buckley » 18 Oct 15 1:34

I imported nearly 2000 images in batches of nearly 1000 images each since the last update. Both import sessions worked flawlessly.

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 835
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by weidmic » 18 Oct 15 14:06

Thanks Mike!
Not sure what changed, but as for now, I cant use PSU for new pictures :( - something broke badly

Michael
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by Mike Buckley » 18 Oct 15 14:21

Maybe a file became corrupted. Try uninstalling and reinstalling.

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 835
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by weidmic » 19 Oct 15 0:52

Reinstalling does not help...
New files, new try...
Same Problems :cry:
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Lou_Salkind
Posts: 303
Joined: 25 Feb 06 8:03
Location: USA

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by Lou_Salkind » 20 Oct 15 6:11

I am also having trouble importing images with the most recent build (2072). Batches of 25 or fewer jpg files seems to work, but batches of larger number of jpg files often seems to hang right near the end of the copying file phase.

My download script
copies files to a new location with a renaming rule
sets the newly copied files to read only

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 835
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by weidmic » 20 Oct 15 12:23

PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

snowman1
Posts: 266
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by snowman1 » 20 Oct 15 18:13

Yes, my imports were stopping at 99% or thereabouts and it was just frozen then; I had to cancel the import. Strangely though this only appeared to happen from the SD card - when I copied the images manually to my hard drive (windows 7) and then ran PSU import against that folder on HDD it worked OK.
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 835
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by weidmic » 20 Oct 15 19:04

Snowman, Lou and Mike

I use the Lexar workflow hub and tried to import from there.
I also tried to copy the files to the lexar hub SD drive and import from there. (still via USB 3 connection)

The Lexar hub is USB 3
I will try to copy the files to a local SD drive next time and see if the import goes well...

I have one camera software that when I connect the camera with a USB 3 cable the software exits at some point, however, if I connect the camera with a USB 2 cable, all works well.
Maybe it is connected to USB 3 ??? (I use only high quality cables and the usb 3 issue is only related to this particular software)

Can you three tell me what USB connection you use.

Best Regards,
Michael
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

snowman1
Posts: 266
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by snowman1 » 20 Oct 15 19:16

In my case it's the SD card slot in the front of my (fairly new) laptop. I'm guessing it hangs of the internal Intel USB 3 Hub.
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Problems iporting images

Post by Mike Buckley » 20 Oct 15 21:00

I'm using the SD card slot on my computer. If it is connected to USB, I assume it's no faster than USB 2. That's because some of my USB ports are USB 1 and some are USB 2. None are USB 3. I'm reasonably confident that USB 3 was not widely available when I bought my computer.

PhilBurton
Posts: 307
Joined: 12 Sep 10 18:47
Location: CA, USA

Re: Problems importing images

Post by PhilBurton » 21 Oct 15 6:23

Guys,

This is just a guess, but I've run into situations with my homebuilt desktop system (Asus P9X79Pro motherboard, Intel i73930K CPU, 32 GB RAM) where the real issue is the poor quality of the USB 3 drivers.

Phil
Photo Supreme user
Home built i7 3930, 32 GB RAM, Win 10 Pro 64, latest version of Photo Supreme 3, Lightroom 6 and Photoshop CS 6 (perpetual licenses)

Lou_Salkind
Posts: 303
Joined: 25 Feb 06 8:03
Location: USA

Re: Problems importing images

Post by Lou_Salkind » 22 Oct 15 22:10

I had problems both with reading an SD card directly and with reading directly from a hard drive.

The good news is that Hert has made a fix for the next release and it appeared to solve (at least) my problems.

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 835
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Problems importing images

Post by weidmic » 26 Oct 15 19:23

Just wanted to confirm that the latest update has solved my problems too.
Thanks...
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

snowman1
Posts: 266
Joined: 01 Jan 07 3:13
Location: UK

Re: Problems importing images

Post by snowman1 » 11 Nov 15 15:50

Is anyone still getting this import issue? I thought it had gone away but importing around 300 images a few nights ago it happened again.

With import and Flickr uploads both having big issues, these are two of the key things in my workflow I use PSU for :(
Snowman1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowman-1/
--------------------------------------

Post Reply