'Verify folder' after moving to different drive

Post Reply
Mke
Posts: 448
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

'Verify folder' after moving to different drive

Post by Mke » 12 Aug 15 21:36

Yesterday I moved my main photo collection to a different drive, and remapped the root folder in PSU.

Now, if I verify a folder, PSU goes through the entire process of syncing, building thumbnails and version detection for all photos (almost, except for two or three) in the folder. I presume that this is expected behavior, but isn't it a little excessive, considering that nothing about the images has actually changed? Or is this just a cautious approach? And if so, why isn't it part of the remapping routine?

I guess I'll need to set it verifying all folders overnight, so that everything is updated...

Mke
Posts: 448
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: 'Verify folder' after moving to different drive

Post by Mke » 12 Aug 15 22:33

Hmm. Something very odd going on here.

Just spotted that, in the folders that I verified, the 'verified' images have gained extra labels during the verification process. All the labels seem to have been acquired from other images in the same folder. For example, in one folder the number of labels for the first few photos was originally 14, 5, 7 and 7; these changed to 16, 21, 20 and 20. In another it was 8, 6, 9, 9; these changed to 224, 142, 159, 225!

I've now deleted the affected (verified) folders from within PSU, restored the images from backup, and re-imported them into PSU, and they're now OK again. And verifying the folders now finds no change.

I'd really rather not delete all my images and re-import them, nor build an entirely new catalog from the images, but unless someone has a solution to this I'll have to do one or the other...
Last edited by Mke on 12 Aug 15 23:42, edited 1 time in total.

vlad
Posts: 969
Joined: 01 Sep 08 15:20

Re: 'Verify folder' after moving to different drive

Post by vlad » 12 Aug 15 23:05

The reported behavior is indeed very odd. Just curious:

1) Did the verify folder find any new images?
2) Did any verified images get merged into version sets? (I'm asking because all versions must eventually share the same label set; as a matter of fact, I am now realizing that I have no idea what happens if someone creates a version set out of images with different labels - do all those label automatically get assigned to all versions?)

Mke
Posts: 448
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: 'Verify folder' after moving to different drive

Post by Mke » 12 Aug 15 23:39

vlad wrote:1) Did the verify folder find any new images?
No - just "file changed". For example in one folder it finds 'file changed' for 131 out of 141 images, in another 89 out of 90.
vlad wrote:2) Did any verified images get merged into version sets? (I'm asking because all versions must eventually share the same label set; as a matter of fact, I am now realizing that I have no idea what happens if someone creates a version set out of images with different labels - do all those label automatically get assigned to all versions?)
I have quite high proportion of version sets; I didn't spot any new ones. And labels are assigned to all images in a version set - so not a factor.

Mke
Posts: 448
Joined: 15 Jun 14 15:39

Re: 'Verify folder' after moving to different drive

Post by Mke » 13 Aug 15 21:35

Mantis ticket #2901 opened.

Post Reply