raw editor and PSU

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by fbungarz » 19 May 15 20:58

Dear Hert and Michal,
just a follow-up question about DNGs: If I adjust NEFs with ACR or Capture One the adjustments show up in PSU (for Capture One only if "approximate" is enabled in Preferences). When I use DNGs the ACR engine should update the previews and PSU theoretically display these adjustments even more accurately then, right? Strangely enough though once I press "Done" in ACR after adjusting an image nothing happens to the thumbnail in PSU at all even after updating the thumb. Am I missing something? Is ACR also not updating the preview in the file?
Thanks,
Frank

PS: I have set up Camera Raw Preferences to update the embedded previews and save the edits to an XMP sidecar... I have tried changing these settings to force PSU somehow to see the adjustments, does not seem to work. Perhaps I have not correctly configured PSU?
Last edited by fbungarz on 19 May 15 21:15, edited 1 time in total.

HCS
Posts: 150
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by HCS » 19 May 15 21:09

fbungarz wrote:Dear HSC,
OK - I have been using PSU and Capture One in sessions now, but even most drastic edits do NOT show up, even if I configure PSU to show edits as "approximate" and use CTRL+ALT+T to update the thumbs.
Attached two screenshots of a DNG that I quite messed up and cropped in Capture One, but none of this can be seen in PSU...
...
Frank
Frank, sorry, i didn't mean with DNG files. I see in a later post that it does work for you with NEFs. I never use DNG, because i'm not such a big fan of that.

Sorry in case i confused you.

By the way, this stuff (getting 2 applications to "talk" to eachother) isn't simple by any means. So, stick with it, you'll get it ironed out.

Make sure to pick the raw converter which gives you the best results and work from there, otherwise you'll be frustrated all the time :) :)

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by fbungarz » 20 May 15 10:25

Hi HSC,
thanks. No problem. I am still learning...
Make sure to pick the raw converter which gives you the best results and work from there...
The challenge is that I need to find one though that works well with PSU.
Right now I am still trying to figure out why PSU does not show adjustments from ACR (Photoshop) where the program has been configured to update the DNG preview. According to what Hert says PSU should display those adjustments, it does not.
Hert writes:
The DNG file format is designed to contain up-to-date previews. PSU won't apply edits "again", simply because it assumes that the RAW tool used to edit the DNG also updates the preview inside the DNG.
According to Michael, Capture One apparently does not update these previews and adjustments to DNGs therefore do not show. OK.
But in Lightroom and Photoshop (which use ACR) the DNG Previews should be updated, right? And they should show, right?
And theoretically these previews should *probably* be a better approximation to show the adjustments than emulating adjustments by Capture One and DxO.

Well, in my case they don't. Odd...
Cheers,
Frank

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by weidmic » 20 May 15 11:56

Frank, you need to specifically tell Lightroom to update the preview...
rightclick | metadata | update DNG preview and metadata

Just updating the metadata wont work!

Cheers
Michael
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by fbungarz » 20 May 15 11:57

Hi Michael,
I have not been using Lightroom but Photoshop (ACR) and it does not work even though I have configured ACR Preferences to update the preview...
;-(
Frank

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by weidmic » 20 May 15 12:04

Can you email me a copy?
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/


weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by weidmic » 20 May 15 14:08

Frank,
I received the Images - the preview is in both images the same.
We can try to troubleshoot by email if you wish...
Just let me know :)
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by fbungarz » 20 May 15 14:16

OK, I will get back via Email...
Frank

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by fbungarz » 20 May 15 15:03

Update
It works with with the following settings for ACR (Photoshop):
Edit - Preferences - Camera Raw - DNG File Handling - Ingnore XMP SIdecar Files (checked) - Update Embedded JPEG Preview (checked)

Thanks Michael!

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by weidmic » 20 May 15 15:13

Glad I could help :)
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

HCS
Posts: 150
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by HCS » 20 May 15 18:57

See ... power of the (this) forum !!

Stick with it and in the end you will get it figured out. Well done, both of you. It may actually be of great help to many other users of ACR/Lightroom and PSU.

fbungarz
Posts: 1556
Joined: 08 Dec 06 5:03
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by fbungarz » 20 May 15 19:18

OFF TOPIC:
Hi Michael,
I just saw that your tips and tricks are no longer online?
The link mentioned at http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=21760 apparently links to your new site without those tips...
Can they still be found elsewhere?
Thanks,
Frank

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by weidmic » 20 May 15 20:20

Thanks Frank,
the link has been updated to http://www.senoiaphoto.com/psu

Cheers,
Michael
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

User avatar
OldRadioGuy
Posts: 46
Joined: 15 May 12 4:44
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: raw editor and PSU

Post by OldRadioGuy » 10 Jun 15 2:10

fbungarz wrote:
But - what actually mostly irritates me is that when I open a bunch of images in DxO I cannot tell, within the program, if I have already adjusted files or if I don't.
FYI -- DxO Optics Pro 10 places a tiny check mark in the lower right corner of the thumbnail in its browser after a file is processed.

Bob
macOS High Sierra; 27-inch iMac, Retina 5K; Photo Supreme 4; DxO PhotoLab 2; ON1 Photo RAW 2019; Alien Skin ExposureX4; Affinity Photo 1.6.7; PhotoLine

Post Reply