Error on Compact

Post Reply
LifeIsLong
Posts: 70
Joined: 09 Oct 08 2:22

Error on Compact

Post by LifeIsLong » 20 Mar 15 17:48

I am trying to compact my catalog database but PhotoSupreme v3.0.3.2066 (64bit) keeps giving errors. So far I've seen "cannot rollback - no transaction active (0)" and "disk I/O error." I've looked and both the drive the database is on and the C drive have more freespace than the catalog size (catalog is 1GB). Any ideas on how I can get this to compact?

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Error on Compact

Post by Mike Buckley » 20 Mar 15 19:17

I believe the drive the catalog is stored on requires twice as much free space as the amount already being used by the catalog. In your case, if you have less than 2GB free space, that could be causing your issues.

LifeIsLong
Posts: 70
Joined: 09 Oct 08 2:22

Re: Error on Compact

Post by LifeIsLong » 20 Mar 15 19:53

Both drives have at least 5GB and I'm not seeing the temp database file created at all.

Preston B
Posts: 213
Joined: 24 Feb 10 19:01
Location: Columbia, CA

Re: Error on Compact

Post by Preston B » 21 Mar 15 4:36

If you are seeing disk I/O errors, this could mean the disk has some bad sectors, it's MBR is corrupted, or the disk is failing. Since the 'compact database' isn't working, and you plenty of space, the area on disk where it's trying to write may be damaged. It would be a good idea to run the chkdsk utility in Windows. Here's an article about how to do this on Win 7.

Edit: If you're running Windows, you can also look in the Event Viewer to see the details of any errors.

Edit 2: If this is an external drive, make sure the cable is good and that it's properly attached to both the computer and the drive. Shut down the machine, check the connections and then reboot.

If you're on a Mac, I am not sure how to do this, me being a Windoze guy.

-p
Preston Birdwell
Columbia, CA

Photo Supreme on Puget Systems Obsidian: Win 10-64 bit Intel i5Quad Core 3.3Ghz 32GB RAM, and Puget Systems Traverse Laptop. Chamonix 4x5 and Nikon D-7100.

Please visit my web site at www.gildedmoon.com

LifeIsLong
Posts: 70
Joined: 09 Oct 08 2:22

Re: Error on Compact

Post by LifeIsLong » 22 Mar 15 20:02

Ok, So I ran chkdsk and it found some problems with the file and fixed them. I can now copy the file to another drive (something I could not do without a disk error in Windows before). But I get a "database image is malformed" error in PS when I try to compact it. What does this error mean?

Edit: I ran a sqlite integrity check and it just said "ok", but I still get an image malformed error in PS.

Edit 1: I vacuumed the database using the sqlite tools (which worked fine) and the integrity check is fine, and PS still says the db is malformed.

dpaine
Posts: 19
Joined: 13 Mar 10 0:38

Re: Error on Compact

Post by dpaine » 23 Mar 15 1:53

When my database was having problems, Hert suggested the following:

--------------------------

And what if you run this query on your database?

delete from idImageData where DataName = 'LASTACTIVETABS'

--------------------------

Running the query did, in fact, fix my problem.

- David P

Hert
Posts: 6338
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Error on Compact

Post by Hert » 23 Mar 15 22:31

If PSU tells you that the database is malformed then it probably is as that's a message from the database itself . Revert to a backup if possible
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

LifeIsLong
Posts: 70
Joined: 09 Oct 08 2:22

Re: Error on Compact

Post by LifeIsLong » 24 Mar 15 0:11

Well, I got everything up and running. I followed the advice in this thread (http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php ... 162#p66410). After this I was able to vacuum the database using SQLite tools and perform the integrity check successfully. Tonight I tried using SQLite Expert Personal to open the database and vacuum, reindex, and perform the integrity check. Everything worked fine. I opened PS and everything works fine until I try to compact the database, then I get the malformed error.
Hert, if the database is giving PS the error, why does no other software that interacts with the database also give an error?

Hert
Posts: 6338
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Error on Compact

Post by Hert » 24 Mar 15 4:53

PSU performs an integrity check during the compact. From your description I think you didn't do that in your SQLite tool.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Post Reply