How to retrieve altitude for multiple selected thumbs?

Stubb
Posts: 55
Joined: 03 Jun 14 13:26
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: How to retrieve altitude for multiple selected thumbs?

Post by Stubb » 28 Aug 19 13:22

Okay, I figured out the batch menu and found the GEO Lookup Altitude option. Seems like batch processing is geared toward creating modified versions of files vs. modifying files themselves. When I don't select an output folder, I get a pop-up that says "This batch has no output folder specified. The original files may be altered by the selected batch operations." That's exactly what I want. When I run the batch, I see GEO Lookup Altitude and Synchronize Service running, but the files don't have an altitude listed at the end of the operation. What am I missing?

Hert
Posts: 15912
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: How to retrieve altitude for multiple selected thumbs?

Post by Hert » 28 Aug 19 13:59

I just tried it here on a handful of images and it's working fine.
I do assume that you have your Google API entered in the Preferences, and that the Google API key is configured in Google with
  • Maps Javascript API
  • Maps Elevation API
  • Maps Geocoding API
And I do assume that your images have the Latitude and a Longitude set in the metadata
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Stubb
Posts: 55
Joined: 03 Jun 14 13:26
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: How to retrieve altitude for multiple selected thumbs?

Post by Stubb » 28 Aug 19 15:06

Elevation lookup on single images works perfectly, and all the images in question have a latitude and longitude.

Are you specifying an output folder, checking the box to import output, or checking any boxes under the "more" option?

Hert
Posts: 15912
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: How to retrieve altitude for multiple selected thumbs?

Post by Hert » 28 Aug 19 16:43

All my setting are always default. And I don’t specify an output folder.

In the GEO panel you can manually retrieve the altitude. Does that work (internally that calls the same command)
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Stubb
Posts: 55
Joined: 03 Jun 14 13:26
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: How to retrieve altitude for multiple selected thumbs?

Post by Stubb » 28 Aug 19 17:38

Now this is really interesting: I had set aside a group of images for experimentation with batch-lookup of altitude. For whatever reason, when I now try to manually retrieve the altitude in the GEO panel, it doesn't work. The coordinates are 64.150314 N, 21.930914 W, which are right at sea level. Maybe there's a problem with an altitude of zero?

I tried batch retrieval of altitude for other images, and it's working fine. Photo Supreme keeps getting better!

Post Reply