Laptop as primary PSU home?

Jeff F
Posts: 22
Joined: 19 May 11 1:43

Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by Jeff F » 20 Sep 14 23:37

I am just getting started on a large project that will keep me traveling away from my home PC for extended photo shoots. I have always assumed that I would just use the laptop to download images in the hotel at night (as I have been so far) but I am wondering if it would be possible to load PSU onto the laptop and use it while I am on the road as the Primary catalog.
The laptop is new and has a small 220 GB (but fast) Solid State drive so there was never any thought of storing images on it but rather to download, sort, rename, and then pass along to external hard drives.

So my general question is how much space (roughly speaking) does a 20k image PSU catalog database occupy on a hard drive?

Or are there any other pitfalls that would make this a bad idea?

Thanks,

Jeff

vlad
Posts: 895
Joined: 01 Sep 08 15:20

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by vlad » 21 Sep 14 10:12

Sorry Jeff, I can't advise with the exact database size, as it depends on the image size and the preview quality (which you can adjust as needed), but I guess around several GB's. Regularly compacting the database may also help to keep it in check. I'm pretty sure PSU will be snappy with a fast SSD, so I would definitely go for it, as cataloging on the go may save you time later. Other users may have experience and offer specific advice with syncing the database between the laptop and the home computer - all I know is that it can be done. (A backup+syncing program such as SyncBack may also help there.)

Hope that helps,
Vlad

DirkS
moderator
Posts: 284
Joined: 25 May 08 14:28
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by DirkS » 21 Sep 14 11:51

For reference: I have about 16k images and the PSU database is just under 800MB. The preview database (using 1280 previews) is just under 8GB.

It is important to know that PSU does not support merging data from 2 sources. But if you only use either on your desktop or laptop that's not a problem.
For copying the data to / from another PC you can use PSUs backup / restore functionality, but programs like SyncBack can do the job too.

Gr.
Dirk.
Problems searching the forum? Try Google Site Search by adding 'site:forum.idimager.com' to a standard Google search.

Jeff F
Posts: 22
Joined: 19 May 11 1:43

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by Jeff F » 21 Sep 14 14:14

Thank you both.

After looking at the "How Many Images Are You Cataloging in PSU" posts I found similar size comparisons that are encouraging.

I am going to miss the screen real estate of the home monitor but perhaps I can hook the laptop up to it from time to time.

On a side note, does the license allow for two installations or do I need to deactivate the PC copy of PSU?


Jeff

Hert
Posts: 6250
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by Hert » 21 Sep 14 14:28

You can install PSU on as many computers as you like, as long as the user is a licensed user.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Jeff F
Posts: 22
Joined: 19 May 11 1:43

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by Jeff F » 21 Sep 14 14:35

IDimager wrote:You can install PSU on as many computers as you like, as long as the user is a licensed user.
Thank you for the fast answer and for the generous license agreement.


Jeff

Jeff F
Posts: 22
Joined: 19 May 11 1:43

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by Jeff F » 21 Sep 14 14:48

Sorry to ask so many questions but...

Ive downloaded the 30 day trial but can't seem to find where or how to install the license code.

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by Mike Buckley » 21 Sep 14 16:02

Jeff F wrote:can't seem to find where or how to install the license code.
Once you have downloaded the license code file, copy it to your Documents directory. There is nothing else to do. That's for Windows users. I don't know about Mac users.

jstartin
Posts: 408
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by jstartin » 21 Sep 14 17:51

DirkS wrote:It is important to know that PSU does not support merging data from 2 sources.
I suppose that depends on how you define "support" :wink: .

If the Synchronise Settings in Preferences are set up properly then, having made sure the "secondary" catalogue is fully synced with the images, it is easy and effective just to import these images into the "master" catalogue. All the labelling etc is added to the master database and nothing is lost (although a good backup strategy is ALWAYS recommended).
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

Jeff F
Posts: 22
Joined: 19 May 11 1:43

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by Jeff F » 21 Sep 14 18:24

Mike Buckley wrote:
Once you have downloaded the license code file, copy it to your Documents directory. There is nothing else to do. That's for Windows users. I don't know about Mac users.
Win64 - But it keeps giving me the message that my it has been reverted to Trial version because my license is valid through V 1.9

I have searched and searched but can't locate anything else that looks like the .idlic file that I have already found.

I purchased the discount upgrade from idImager back in the day.


Jeff

Hert
Posts: 6250
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by Hert » 21 Sep 14 19:21

Jeff,

1. Visit https://cp.idimager.com
2. Login with the credentials that you received after purchase
3. From the right side column, click the link "Download license"
4. Store the downloaded license in the Documents folder
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Jeff F
Posts: 22
Joined: 19 May 11 1:43

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by Jeff F » 21 Sep 14 19:30

Thank you very much. Worked like a charm

vlad
Posts: 895
Joined: 01 Sep 08 15:20

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by vlad » 21 Sep 14 20:33

DirkS wrote:It is important to know that PSU does not support merging data from 2 sources. But if you only use either on your desktop or laptop that's not a problem. For copying the data to / from another PC you can use PSUs backup / restore functionality, but programs like SyncBack can do the job too.
My understanding is that the PSU backup/restore functionality concerns only the catalog+thumbnail databases, not the actual images. To really use the same "mirrored" catalog on two machines, I would guess that the images need to be stored (replicated) on identical paths (including the drive letters) - or in a common location (such as an external drive mapped to the same letter on both machines).

Are my assumptions correct? Could someone work with just the previews if the images are (temporarily) missing? Does this require auto-sync off?

DirkS
moderator
Posts: 284
Joined: 25 May 08 14:28
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by DirkS » 21 Sep 14 22:05

vlad wrote:My understanding is that the PSU backup/restore functionality concerns only the catalog+thumbnail databases, not the actual images.
Databases, other data files (such as various profiles) and registry settings (these could be stored in a file)
To really use the same "mirrored" catalog on two machines, I would guess that the images need to be stored (replicated) on identical paths (including the drive letters)
A straight mirror makes life easier, but it's not necessary. It is possible to 'relocate' folders. This links a new physical location with the entries in the database. It's a procedure that usually only takes a couple of seconds.
This mechanism is also used when you e.g. change drives: you just link the top level folder in the database to the top level folder on the new drive.
(I think there's some info on this in the docs: http://www.idimager.com/Trial/QuickStar ... gement.pdf)
or in a common location (such as an external drive mapped to the same letter on both machines).
Of course, that's also an option.
Could someone work with just the previews if the images are (temporarily) missing? Does this require auto-sync off?
That's what off-line mode is for.

Gr.
Dirk.
Problems searching the forum? Try Google Site Search by adding 'site:forum.idimager.com' to a standard Google search.

DirkS
moderator
Posts: 284
Joined: 25 May 08 14:28
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Laptop as primary PSU home?

Post by DirkS » 21 Sep 14 22:11

jstartin wrote:
DirkS wrote:It is important to know that PSU does not support merging data from 2 sources.
I suppose that depends on how you define "support" :wink: .

If the Synchronise Settings in Preferences are set up properly then, having made sure the "secondary" catalogue is fully synced with the images, it is easy and effective just to import these images into the "master" catalogue. All the labelling etc is added to the master database and nothing is lost (although a good backup strategy is ALWAYS recommended).
You are right, of course. I omitted it because I didn't want to complicate things too much...
I will always prefer the 'database method' as I have had situations where I have still had to adjust things after ingesting already catalogued images.
Problems searching the forum? Try Google Site Search by adding 'site:forum.idimager.com' to a standard Google search.

Post Reply