Photo Supreme V2 is available

HaraldE
Posts: 259
Joined: 29 Apr 07 22:30
Location: Bålsta, Sweden

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by HaraldE » 13 Jan 14 15:46

Hert,

My best thanks to a valuable upgrade. I have only used it for a few days but can say it is more quick that V1. To me it is seen when I move between Folder and Portfolie views.
I have quite many folders and collections and also above 83,000 images. This move now feels quicker. And also similar actions, like expanding a tree is more instant

And I am very very pleased with the uploader from PSU to SmugMug. It is a livesaver for me now since some recent changes in SmugMug

Very well done Hert ... keep the good things coming

Regards, Harald

frith
Posts: 105
Joined: 16 Dec 06 1:25

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by frith » 15 Jan 14 3:44

I have installed V2 on a Mac running Mavericks. I have downloaded the license from the User Control Panel at least 6 times and copied it to what I think is the correct folder (see below). I have even uninstalled and reinstalled V2. In every case, when I open Photo Supreme it says it has reverted to the trial version.

There is nothing in my Documents folder related to IDImager or Photo Supreme (path is Users/Name/Documents.

In the Library (Users/Name/Library there is a subfolder called IDImager Systems, Inc that appears to have all the files related to Photo Supreme. That is where I have copied the downloaded license, with no success (only can open PS in trial mode).

So the Documents folder does not seem to be the correct place for a Mac; the Library subfolder does not seem to be correct.

Now having spent a couple of hours trying to upgrade I'm seeking HELP!

Thanks

Hert
Posts: 6685
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by Hert » 15 Jan 14 10:00

Frith,

You give your own answer ;)
There is nothing in my Documents folder related to IDImager or Photo Supreme (path is Users/Name/Documents.
If there's no license file in the Documents folder then that is why the software can't find your license and you stay in Trial.
That is where I have copied the downloaded license, with no success (only can open PS in trial mode).
You should to copy the file to the Documents folder; also see your earlier remark..."/Users/Name/Documents" that is the correct folder where you should store the idlic file.

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

frith
Posts: 105
Joined: 16 Dec 06 1:25

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by frith » 15 Jan 14 23:27

Hert - Bingo. So obvious that it didn't seem like the place to put it. The Documents folder on a Mac so often ends up as a catch-all for lots of things (including temp holding folder for stuff that needs to be eventually deleted) that I didn't expect the license file for an app to be put there (or at least not in a sub-folder to give you a little clue that it has some real significance). Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Hert
Posts: 6685
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by Hert » 16 Jan 14 12:07

Frith, the biggest advantage of using the Documents folder is that there's no additional user authorization required from the OS. That makes it easier for the user, especially the novice Mac/Windows user.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

jrcarden
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Dec 07 19:07

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by jrcarden » 22 Jan 14 6:23

I downloaded the V2 and I also am getting the "reverted to trial" message. I copied the license file to the documents folder and to the installation folder but I still get that "reverted to trial" message. I'm a longtime license holder now running Win 8.1

Can someone help me understand what I'm missing?

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/L ... directlink

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/Y ... directlink

Thanks
JImC.

Hert
Posts: 6685
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by Hert » 22 Jan 14 8:19

Hi Jim, when you downloaded the file, Your browser added a number to the download file when it saw that this file already existed. As you can see you have two files with the license name, one with a sequence number. Just delete all license files, and download it again and make sure that no sequence number is added by your browser.
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

jrcarden
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Dec 07 19:07

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by jrcarden » 23 Jan 14 16:01

Bingo! That worked. Thank you.

neilmwhite
Posts: 20
Joined: 08 Nov 11 14:50

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by neilmwhite » 21 Feb 14 19:50

I've got copies of the .idlic file in both my Libraries\Documents folder (which is on my C: drive) and in my D:\Program Files\Photo Supreme x64\ Folder, but I can't get passed the trial license expired message.

Note - I put ALL my non Microsoft apps on my D: drive to prevent the system drive from crashing with out of disk space errors.

How do I sort this out?

Neil

neilmwhite
Posts: 20
Joined: 08 Nov 11 14:50

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by neilmwhite » 21 Feb 14 19:55

And just to add - the file name is: removed.idlic (so it does not have the sequence numbers added to it as a result of multiple downloads)

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 858
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by weidmic » 21 Feb 14 19:59

Neil, I have removed the filename for the license file. I am sure you understand that this should not made be public

Regards,
Michael
PSUServer 6.x, PostgreSQL 12.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com

Hert
Posts: 6685
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by Hert » 22 Feb 14 0:36

Neil, make sure that the license file is stored in the Documents folder of the current user and not that of "All Users" (the public Documents folder). Typically this is something like C:\Users\loginname\Documents
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

neilmwhite
Posts: 20
Joined: 08 Nov 11 14:50

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by neilmwhite » 22 Feb 14 11:40

I can confirm that the file is stored here: C:\Users\Neil\Documents.

My suspicion is that the software is not happy about the app being installed on something other than the same drive as the "Documents" folder.

Hert
Posts: 6685
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by Hert » 22 Feb 14 13:52

That doesn't matter. PSU simply looks in the folder that the operating system (Windows) reports back as being the Documents folder.

I see two possibilities:
1. The downloaded license file is corrupt; try to download it again. If the license file can't be read then it won't recognize the license.
2. You changed the Documents folder in Windows to some other folder (verify in Windows Explorer by right clicking on the Document folder -> Properties

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

neilmwhite
Posts: 20
Joined: 08 Nov 11 14:50

Re: Photo Supreme V2 is available

Post by neilmwhite » 22 Feb 14 18:57

Good News - The license file was corrupted and replacing it with a fresh download gave me access to Photo Supreme. :)

Bad News - PS immediately offered me a further PS upgrade (I thought I'd already done this before I posted my problems as the trial licence problem only started after a database upgrade process completed which took about 40mins). I downloaded the upgrade, shutdown PS, installed the upgrade and restarted PS. It then proceeded with a further database upgrade. Unlike the previous one, no progress was shown in the progress window which showed as "Not Responding" After 2 hours in this state I had no option but to shut it down with task manager. Everytime I now start PS it enters the same state with the database upgrade unresponsive. I would really like to get back to my photo library so as to import some more photos :(

Post Reply