Compacting DB

Post Reply
WIanB
Posts: 17
Joined: 05 Aug 08 16:37
Location: Salisbury, UK

Compacting DB

Post by WIanB » 22 Nov 12 11:07

Probably a very silly question but how do I Compact the DB? I can find no option to do so, or does "Tools>Cleanup unused thumbs and previews" compact as well?
Ian
Home build - AMD 8 core 4.0 GHz, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. Photo Supreme 64 bit, Adobe Photo CC

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Compacting DB

Post by weidmic » 22 Nov 12 11:15

WIanB,
goto preferences | Catalog | click Compact...
options.PNG
options.PNG (73.84 KiB) Viewed 7620 times
Cheers,
Micahel
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

WIanB
Posts: 17
Joined: 05 Aug 08 16:37
Location: Salisbury, UK

Re: Compacting DB

Post by WIanB » 22 Nov 12 11:43

Thank you! I should have found that!! Sometimes the eyes just don't see :)
Ian
Home build - AMD 8 core 4.0 GHz, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. Photo Supreme 64 bit, Adobe Photo CC

blinkit0
moderator
Posts: 72
Joined: 30 May 06 2:30
Location: Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: Compacting DB

Post by blinkit0 » 04 Dec 12 1:16

WIanB wrote:Probably a very silly question but how do I Compact the DB? I can find no option to do so, or does "Tools>Cleanup unused thumbs and previews" compact as well?
Like Ian, Intuitively looked in the Tools directory for compacting the DB and Thumbs. The help file was no help.

Juan
Juan C

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Compacting DB

Post by Mike Buckley » 04 Dec 12 3:53

It really is counter-intuitive to look for compacting in a Preferences dialog menu. Compacting the databases is an action and doesn't belong in a dialog menu that configures Preference settings. Indeed, there are no other actions in the Preference settings for good reason.

I strongly recommend that this be changed if people are supposed to intuitively look for compacting or even become aware of it. I pity the new users who haven't used earlier IDimager Systems products and are not aware of the need for compacting. That's especially true while the manual continues to lack so much important information. Indeed, when I click "Compacting" in the Help file, there is absolutely no information.

Hert
Posts: 5857
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Compacting DB

Post by Hert » 04 Dec 12 11:30

I pity the new users who haven't used earlier IDimager Systems products and are not aware of the need for compacting.
You don't have to "pity" the new users, simply because the compacting is in the Preferences, haha.

Only old IDI users "intuitively" expect it in the Tools menu, because in IDimager that is where it is. I think Lightroom users will expect it in the "Catalog Settings"...and that is also where it is in PSU. So users that are already familiar with Lightroom will expect it exactly where it is now, which is better than in a Tools menu when this isn't a "tools", nor a relevant cataloging feature.

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Compacting DB

Post by Mike Buckley » 04 Dec 12 13:19

IDimager wrote: You don't have to "pity" the new users, simply because the compacting is in the Preferences, haha.
You're right, Hert, that I don't have to pity the new users for that but I do. I will always have a soft spot for new users that have never used a database having frustrating experiences that you folks who have been IT specialists for years perhaps understandably can no longer relate to. That's the whole reason I wrote the IDimager Version 5 Workbook. When I had been a new user, this is the sort of thing that had been frustrating to me because it made the product difficult to understand.

If you're only attending to the market of Lightroom users and are placing the Compact command in the Preferences dialog menu because of that, that's fine. But for someone such as myself who had never used Lightroom (and still hasn't), I wouldn't even know of the need to compact the database and, in my opinion, shouldn't have to hang out in the support forum to learn about it. That's a basic function that in my opinion should have been explained in the Help Screens upon the first release of Supreme. It is now more than two months later and we're up to version 1.5.0.80. Despite that the Help screen calls attention to the apparent need to compact, there is still no explanation of why that's so, that compacting rebuilds the database, or where to find the command. Perhaps it is at least explained in the Tips system of the latest version, which I have not installed; I hope so.

I agree with you that placing the Compact command in the Tools menu is not intuitive. It seems much more intuitive and logical to me to have a Maintenance tab. Doing so compels the user to mentally ask the question, "What should I be doing to maintain my database in optimum condition?" Items such as compacting, cleaning up unused thumbs and previews, and building missing thumbs and previews could be logical, intuitive menu items.

Just my thinking that perhaps is not very different from most of your new users.
Last edited by Mike Buckley on 04 Dec 12 15:15, edited 1 time in total.

jstartin
Posts: 400
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: Compacting DB

Post by jstartin » 04 Dec 12 14:04

IDimager wrote: I think Lightroom users will expect it in the "Catalog Settings"...and that is also where it is in PSU. So users that are already familiar with Lightroom will expect it exactly where it is now, which is better than in a Tools menu when this isn't a "tools", nor a relevant cataloging feature.
I don't think it matters where "Compact" is located as long as new users without much experience of "databases" are told that compacting is necessary for good performance, and told clearly how to do it. The "compacting" section of the online help text has no content other than the word "content".

That said, I think Hert's reasons for NOT having it on the tools menu are quite bizarre; compacting seems as relevant to "cataloguing", and as much of a "tool", as most of the items that ARE on that menu.

An argument for not putting it in "preferences" is that, on my system anyway, the appearance of the preferences panel takes quite a long time (it must be the slowest thing in PSU), and then the frequently used compact buttons are not even on the front page.
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: Compacting DB

Post by Mike Buckley » 04 Dec 12 14:07

jstartin wrote: the appearance of the preferences panel takes quite a long time
That panel displays almost instantaneously on my system, certainly in less than one-half second.

jstartin
Posts: 400
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: Compacting DB

Post by jstartin » 04 Dec 12 15:29

Mike Buckley wrote:
jstartin wrote: the appearance of the preferences panel takes quite a long time
That panel displays almost instantaneously on my system, certainly in less than one-half second.
Ooohhh! 1.5.0.80x64 on my AMD A8 quad core system (and with a mere 20k images in the catalogue) takes 10+ seconds. Everything else is in the range of "pretty quick" to "flying". It takes nearly as long to open the panel as it does to compact the database :wink:
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

Hert
Posts: 5857
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Compacting DB

Post by Hert » 04 Dec 12 15:40

Jim, can you send me your Options.imb file?

Thanks
Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

blinkit0
moderator
Posts: 72
Joined: 30 May 06 2:30
Location: Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: Compacting DB

Post by blinkit0 » 06 Dec 12 4:51

IDimager wrote:

Only old IDI users "intuitively" expect it in the Tools menu, because in IDimager that is where it is. I think Lightroom users will expect it in the "Catalog Settings"...and that is also where it is in PSU. So users that are already familiar with Lightroom will expect it exactly where it is now, which is better than in a Tools menu when this isn't a "tools", nor a relevant cataloging feature.

Hert
Senor Hert
Well, I respectfully disagree. :D I have not used V5 for a long time and As a former System Tester I intuitively looked for compacting the database under tools. Preferences to me mean Settings, and setting are static. Compacting the database is not a static setting, is done on demand. Compacting the DB, is an activity more closely related to the activities under tools.

My two cents.

Juan
Juan C

jstartin
Posts: 400
Joined: 23 Aug 06 13:47
Location: UK

Re: Compacting DB

Post by jstartin » 06 Dec 12 14:24

In case users have missed it, the new CTRL+SHIFT+C shortcut for switching catalogue files brings up a small menu which includes compact database. Not obvious, but rather convenient.
Jim (Photo Supreme: AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor 3.2 GHz; internal AMD Radeon™ HD7560D; 4GB DDR3 SDRAM; Win10x64)

andy@damroundup.com
Posts: 109
Joined: 13 Apr 08 19:54
Location: Boston, MA USA

Re: Compacting DB

Post by andy@damroundup.com » 06 Dec 12 16:18

Perhaps compacting the database should be an option box that pops up every 30 days when you close Idimager? Kinda like the LR backup reminder box? - Andy.
Check out our detailed DAM reviews at http://www.DAMRoundup.com
Custom designed books for publication or personal enjoyment - http://www.JingotheCat.com

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Compacting DB

Post by weidmic » 06 Dec 12 16:48

Andy, yeah maybe a good thing; but only if you can switch off the reminder!
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Post Reply