[solved] Removing / undoing versions?

Post Reply
freudenthaler
Posts: 91
Joined: 07 Aug 12 20:57
Location: Austria

[solved] Removing / undoing versions?

Post by freudenthaler » 05 Oct 12 21:44

While I appreciate the version feature and can imagine many "user stories" for creating versions, I ask myself, how it is possible to undo / remove a version *without* losing the picture? Neither the web help nor the tips do mention anything about undoing a version set? I see versioning as a kind of "stacking", so "un-stacking" is a natural need.
Removing a version from the version set ends up in losing the picture. I also notice the orange syncronize dot in the lower left corner. Clicking it or selecting the synchronize command doesn't have any impact - so what is it good for?

Any help appreciated - thanxs in advance.
R.

BTW - a proper manual, explaining all PSU concepts in deep, would highly be welcomed..
Last edited by freudenthaler on 05 Oct 12 22:52, edited 1 time in total.
Robert | glass stories | Fuji X | LR Classic CC | PSU 4 | Win 10/64 on AMD FX |

tstoddard
Posts: 584
Joined: 07 Sep 12 12:51

Re: Removing / undoing versions

Post by tstoddard » 05 Oct 12 22:21

When you have a version you will see tabs along the side of the thumbnail to indicate that there are versions. If you mouse over one of the tabs of a version, a horizontal bar will appear across the thumbnail that will have place holder icons on it. On the right end of that bar, right next to the tab, there is an X. When you click the X you will be prompted and asked if you want to remove that image from the version set. If you answer yes, then that image will be taken out of the set but it will appear as a separate image in the catalog browser. The image will not be removed from the catalog or deleted from you hard drive. At least that is how my system is functioning.

I have noticed that clicking on the orange dot has been a little unpredictable. Usually it works as expected and disappears after the first click but other times I've had to click it twice and in some instances it seems to never go away. I just tested what I described to you in the previous paragraph and I ended up with an image that was taken out of the version set that had an orange dot that wouldn't go away even after being clicked multiple times. I selected a different category so that those images where no longer displayed and then went back to them and the dot was no longer there.
Tom Stoddard

freudenthaler
Posts: 91
Joined: 07 Aug 12 20:57
Location: Austria

Re: Removing / undoing versions

Post by freudenthaler » 05 Oct 12 22:51

Tom,

I already noticed the small menu appearing when hovering over the tabs and also clicked the "x" for removing the version from the set. Unfortunately I didn't get the version restored as picture - a fault of mine, because the I moved the pictures to another folder 2 days ago.
The reason why I asked the question was simply due ti the fac, that I expected the removed version to appear by side of the set and not at the bottom / end of the collection displayed. Tryed it for several times now and it worked like you described above - thanks a lot.

Robert
Robert | glass stories | Fuji X | LR Classic CC | PSU 4 | Win 10/64 on AMD FX |

Post Reply