In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by Mike Buckley » 24 Sep 12 14:23

Batch versioning using the Version Detection Wizard available in IDI V5 is very important to me. However, after reading many posts, I'm beginning to wonder if Supreme doesn't have a reasonable workaround if not a better way of accomplishing the same thing. I would appreciate your feedback about my idea explained below. I haven't tried anything in Supreme beyond using only small parts of the initial beta version for a very brief period, so please pardon my ignorance.

I see that It is possible to use the Import capability in Supreme to automatically version images and to select which file format and placeholder will be the Main Version. I also have seen reports that Supreme is far faster than IDI V5. (Indeed, I couldn't believe the incredible increase in speed when almost instantly displaying my 27,000 thumbnails in Supreme that would have taken comparatively forever using IDI V5.) So, I'm actually wondering if using the Import capability in Supreme to automatically version my images isn't actually faster and easier than configuring and using the VDW in IDI V5 to accomplish the same task. I would import a second time in Supreme near the end of my workflow as a substitute for the VDW also near the end of my workflow.

I would appreciate feedback about my idea, again apologizing that I haven't gotten around to trying it for myself.
Last edited by Mike Buckley on 24 Sep 12 14:32, edited 1 time in total.

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by weidmic » 24 Sep 12 14:31

Mike,
So, I'm actually wondering if using the Import feature to automatically version my images isn't actually faster and easier than configuring the VDW in IDI V5 to accomplish the same task.
I have never thought about this...
Maybe I need to take a look at the import feature again to see if I could get that to work the way I need.
Damn, now I need to install PSU again to give that a try :shock: :mrgreen:

Thanks for this thought.
Michael
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by Mike Buckley » 24 Sep 12 14:36

Michael,

I would need the versioning to match other versions by file name. I don't suppose I could talk you into trying to version the following file names for me. :mrgreen:

Mike 2012-09-24--001-N.nef
Mike 2012-09-24--001-L.jpg (the Main Version, which could also be the Album Display placeholder )
Mike 2012-09-24--001-W.jpg

mphillips
Posts: 236
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by mphillips » 24 Sep 12 14:55

Hi Mike

I think that the versioning during import may be a little "simple" for your needs.

There are really only two options - Raw as Main version OR JPG as main Version (you can assign which version place holder to pop version)

But I have only tried it with the Same file name - different extension - raw and JPG - shot in camera scenario - so I don't know what parameters it used to find the version. (Exif, File name, Portion of file name /)

Will experiment tonight

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by weidmic » 24 Sep 12 15:00

Thanks MikeP,
I'll wait for your report.

Cheers,
Michael
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by Mike Buckley » 24 Sep 12 15:21

Thanks for your help, MikeP. Sorry to learn that Michael is unwilling to do my work for me. :mrgreen:

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by Mike Buckley » 24 Sep 12 15:32

A thought just occurred to me, MikeP. I'm finding one of my versions less and less necessary, so I would probably get by just fine with using only a RAW file and one JPEG. I would rather not have to take the trouble to rename all of my images to have the same file name with the only difference being the extension, but that would not be beyond my consideration.

Have you noticed that Michael has not yet thrown a rotten tomato through my modem? :mrgreen:

mphillips
Posts: 236
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by mphillips » 24 Sep 12 15:40

Hi Mike and Michael

bad news - it seems to only work on names (not on exif, etc)

Created 3 files in a source directory = A.NEF and A-L.JPG and A-S.Jpg

Upon import NO versioning took place

Renamed One of the jpg's to A.JPG - re did the import and that got versioned.

So it seems that the versioning taking place during the import is just based on file name ? and thus cannot be used as a versioning wizard :-(

Regards

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 834
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by weidmic » 24 Sep 12 15:44

Thanks Mr. P for your report!
PSUServer 5.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by Mike Buckley » 24 Sep 12 16:21

MikeP,

If I understand you correctly, it seems to be based on the file name (as opposed to the filename, which I interpret to be the information to the left of the dot in the file name). It would be really interesting to learn if the process automatically versions a RAW file, a TIFF and a JPEG that have the same filename. I don't use TIFFs, but a lot of people do and I'm sure they would be eager to know whether three file formats can be included in one version set.

Thanks for your help!

mphillips
Posts: 236
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by mphillips » 24 Sep 12 16:44

Hi

It pops ALL images with the same "file name" before the extension as versions. So A.NEF becomes the Main, A.TIF, A.PSD and A.JPG are versioned

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by Mike Buckley » 24 Sep 12 17:04

Thanks for the addition information, MIkeP!

Everything is now perfectly clear to me except one thing: If you import 50 RAW files into Supreme and then use the Batcher to create a JPEG of each of them, will using the Import capability a second time to then "version" the two file formats be at least as fast as using the VDW in V5 to do the same thing?
Last edited by Mike Buckley on 24 Sep 12 17:10, edited 1 time in total.

mphillips
Posts: 236
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by mphillips » 24 Sep 12 17:09

Hi Mike

I think I'll leave that for you to test :-)

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

Mike Buckley
Posts: 1194
Joined: 10 Jul 08 14:18

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by Mike Buckley » 24 Sep 12 17:11

mphillips wrote: I think I'll leave that for you to test :-)
It's decisions such as that one that cause me to respect you more and more every day. :mrgreen:

Hert
Posts: 5863
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: In lieu of the Version Detection Wizard?

Post by Hert » 24 Sep 12 18:14

Mike Buckley wrote:Everything is now perfectly clear to me except one thing: If you import 50 RAW files into Supreme and then use the Batcher to create a JPEG of each of them, will using the Import capability a second time to then "version" the two file formats be at least as fast as using the VDW in V5 to do the same thing?
With the Batcher you can store the output file as a version of the original, and optionally also store it in a placeholder
BatchVersions.jpg
BatchVersions.jpg (48.75 KiB) Viewed 3800 times
Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Post Reply