Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post Reply
ilan
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Sep 12 14:40

Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by ilan » 23 Sep 12 19:57

Hi,

Will it be possible to drag image thumbnails from PS to to other programs that support this? Is there another way of opening some images in another program that were selected in PS?

Thanks,
Ilan

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by mphillips » 23 Sep 12 20:13

Hi Ilan

Supreme doesn't support drag and drop.

To pass image / images to another program - define the programs under Preferences - Other Settings (Supreme may have already found some for you)

Then Highlight the images to pass and click on the icon of the program in the top right of top bar or Supreme. *you can also use Shift and the relevant Number to access the program quickly

Hope this helps

Regards

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

ilan
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Sep 12 14:40

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by ilan » 23 Sep 12 20:39

Thank you MikeP. This helps for some situations but it is not a full substitute for the drag-and-drop functionality.

Ilan

Hert
Posts: 21501
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by Hert » 24 Sep 12 12:07

This is implemented in the next update. However... you need to Alt+Drag to be able to drag outside of the application.

This only works on Windows.

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 4494
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by weidmic » 24 Sep 12 12:08

:)
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

Hert
Posts: 21501
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by Hert » 24 Sep 12 12:13

We didn't enable drag/drop to the Operating System before because we haven't implemented this on MacOS and I did't want to deploy a different feature set between Mac and Windows.

But based on all the sentiments about missing D&D we've now enabled it for Windows. This will only work on Windows though. Mac users will get this feature in a future update.

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by mphillips » 24 Sep 12 14:57

Thanks Hert
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

ilan
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Sep 12 14:40

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by ilan » 24 Sep 12 19:37

Thanks a lot.

Menace
Posts: 121
Joined: 17 Dec 09 16:26

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by Menace » 24 Sep 12 20:05

Still didn't work with QuarkXpress, but nevermind. :)

Hert
Posts: 21501
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by Hert » 24 Sep 12 20:14

Menace wrote:Still didn't work with QuarkXpress, but nevermind. :)
You did alt drag? If it doesn't work with quarkxpress then that tool probably doesn't support drop files from the OS. This is an OS feature triggered from the application. Another possibility is that that tool doesn't accept copy-drop types.


Edit; while giving this a few more secs thought i think the latter is the case. If this works with IDI (mwhich uses link type by default) the this is for sure the cause

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by mphillips » 24 Sep 12 20:33

Hi Hert

It also doesn't work for Glamour and Splash - and they do accept D'nD from the OS. But they also don't seem to accept D'nD from V5 either.

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

Menace
Posts: 121
Joined: 17 Dec 09 16:26

Re: Drag and drop thumbnails to another program

Post by Menace » 24 Sep 12 21:00

It didn't work with V5 either. I wrote this in one other thread I guess. With IMatch and Daminion I haven't a problem.

http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php ... ess#p94154

But, how I said, never mind. I guess I am the only one, who need QuarkXpress and I'll changer (because of workflow and filemanager) the software.

Post Reply