How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post Reply
mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by mphillips » 22 Jun 12 15:35

Hi

Not quite sure how to phrase this :-)

Before when I had a smaller camera the Build In Max Preview Size of 1680 was okay for zooming in and seeing detail - when I zoomed in too much I lost resolution" but it was the same whether I zoomed in in CNX2 or Supreme

Now that I have been blessed with a 36mp Camera the built in preview size is too "small" for a zoom in that when I zoom in using Supreme at 400% the resolution plummets but its equivalent to a 100% zoom in CNX2. And In CNX2 the image is still viewable. See the attached Picture - which tries to explain what I mean.

Hence my question - how do I turn on and off using the preview database so that when I want to zoom in at 400% in Supreme (which is not all that often - but I am having fun playing at the moment ;-)) I can use the Raw High Res JPG rather than the, now small, 1680 preview image ?
22-6-2012 16-28-44 PM.png
22-6-2012 16-28-44 PM.png (507.09 KiB) Viewed 4052 times
Thanks

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 4494
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by weidmic » 22 Jun 12 15:54

Mike,

If I understood you correct, then you want to load the full size image...
loadfullsize.PNG
loadfullsize.PNG (362.41 KiB) Viewed 4049 times
Does this help?
Michael
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by mphillips » 22 Jun 12 16:06

Perfect

That's exactly right.

You are a star

Thanks
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

weidmic
moderator
Posts: 4494
Joined: 04 Dec 06 22:21

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by weidmic » 22 Jun 12 16:12

Mike,

You owe me a beer ;)

Michael
PSUServer 4.x, PostgreSQL 10.x
My homepage http://www.michaelweidner.com
PSU Tips and Tricks http://www.michaelweidner.com/WP/psu/

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by mphillips » 22 Jun 12 16:34

Anytime!
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

sjusko
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Nov 08 12:54

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by sjusko » 18 Sep 12 22:59

How can I switch to on "Load full size images" pernamently espacialy in light table?

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by mphillips » 19 Sep 12 7:05

Hi sjusko

Can't be done at this time :-(

Regards

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

sjusko
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Nov 08 12:54

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by sjusko » 21 Sep 12 23:07

Will be able use in lighttable "full size image" in future?

Tom
Posts: 427
Joined: 05 Dec 05 15:23
Location: Estonia

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by Tom » 23 Sep 12 18:37

I wish to ask, what does the "load the full size image" actually do? I get very inconsistent results with my DNG files when using this option. Sometimes it makes the preview bigger, sometimes not, sometimes ticking this option would display a small (embedded?) image instead.

Another question: is it possible to predefine the size of previews in PSU?

Tom

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by mphillips » 23 Sep 12 19:45

Hi Tom
Another question: is it possible to predefine the size of previews in PSU?
Under Preferences-Catalog you can define the size of the Preview up to 1680 pixels

Regards

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

Tom
Posts: 427
Joined: 05 Dec 05 15:23
Location: Estonia

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by Tom » 23 Sep 12 20:28

Thank you, Mike. But then comes the next question: how to rebuild the previews, e.g. if one wishes to have them bigger. Is it enough to change the size in preferences, and apply Ctrl+Alt+T ? What is the function of "cleanup unused thumbs and previews?

Tom

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: How to not Use Preview Database in Lighttable

Post by mphillips » 23 Sep 12 20:37

Hi Tom

Yes - Once you have changed the size under preferences you need to select all your thumbnails and Ctrl+Alt+T to rebuild them.

As I understand it the function of clean up is to delete any thumbs and previews that may have been "left over" in the thumbs database after deleting images from the catalogue.

Regards

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

Post Reply