Does IDimager Supreme work with referenced masters?

Post Reply
Hert
Posts: 21433
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Does IDimager Supreme work with referenced masters?

Post by Hert » 01 Mar 12 23:19

IDimager Supreme does support working with offline images, you can work with images that are stored on media which aren't attached/mounted/available. if I understand your post correctly then that is what you call "referenced masters"(?)

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

george
Posts: 1163
Joined: 24 Jun 07 15:57
Location: USA

Re: Does IDimager Supreme work with referenced masters?

Post by george » 02 Mar 12 1:44

Hi Hert,

I think "referenced masters" is aperture-speak. It's pretty confusing:

http://documentation.apple.com/en/apert ... tasks=true

Let me know what it means when you figure it out.
:-)
George

Lou_Salkind
Posts: 2265
Joined: 25 Feb 06 8:03
Location: USA

Re: Does IDimager Supreme work with referenced masters?

Post by Lou_Salkind » 25 Mar 12 21:04

I can see the argument for not having the file creation time changed, but I can't see the argument for not having the file modified time changed. After all, any change to the file should show up in the filesystem.

Hert will have to speak to the implementation details.

Hert
Posts: 21433
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Does IDimager Supreme work with referenced masters?

Post by Hert » 26 Mar 12 11:50

As does Lou also mentions, the modification date should be changed, as the file content is changed. The metadata is just as much part of the file data as the image pixels data is.

You could argue about the date created. I'll try to explain why this changes. When a file is being updated (like when the metadata is written, or when the image pixel data is written) then a safety writing procedure is followed which recreates the file.

You say that most tools change the file-created date; now you know why as most software, especially from larger players, will all follow such a safe write procedure.

Hert
This is a User-to-User forum which means that users post questions here for other users.
Feature requests, change suggestions, or bugs can be logged in the ticketing system

Lou_Salkind
Posts: 2265
Joined: 25 Feb 06 8:03
Location: USA

Re: Does IDimager Supreme work with referenced masters?

Post by Lou_Salkind » 26 Mar 12 15:48

I forgot to mention that IDI has a way to redate files based on the file's creation date, and that once you have the file's creation date stored within IDI, you won't lose it. So the current date handling within IDI may not be what you asked for, but it can help you solve handling your misdated images.

mphillips
Posts: 2035
Joined: 31 May 07 12:02
Location: Parkwood,Johannesburg,South Africa

Re: Does IDimager Supreme work with referenced masters?

Post by mphillips » 27 Mar 12 7:54

Hi

Could you not use the Batch - Date function in Supreme to change the Date/time digitized ?

You can "Batch" all the images together and change each image by x seconds.

Regards

MikeP
Mike Phillips
http://www.mikeandmorag.co.za
D800, CNX2, Supreme

Post Reply