Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post Reply
Ulrich
Posts: 29
Joined: 14 Jul 21 12:59

Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post by Ulrich » 19 Jul 21 12:56

Hi there,
I looks like that photo supreme displays the cropped part of an raw image sometimes wrong.
Please see the included example.
Is this a known bug?
Can I fix this in any way be rebuilding the thumbs again?

Ulrich
Attachments
Visualisation of the cropped part of the photo.png
Visualisation of the cropped part of the photo.png (80.24 KiB) Viewed 890 times
Correct Thumbnail.png
Correct Thumbnail.png (1.82 MiB) Viewed 890 times
Thumbnail Foto in Photo Supreme.png
Thumbnail Foto in Photo Supreme.png (156.26 KiB) Viewed 890 times

Hert
Posts: 7053
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post by Hert » 19 Jul 21 15:27

Disable all the editors that you are not using in the Preferences. After that, rebuild the thumb manually with Ctrl+Alt+T (Windows) or Cmd+Opt+T (macOS). You can also disable all editors if that's what you prefer.

Editors.png
Editors.png (62.97 KiB) Viewed 877 times
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Ulrich
Posts: 29
Joined: 14 Jul 21 12:59

Re: Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post by Ulrich » 19 Jul 21 18:02

Hello Hert,
hmm.
Disabling the Ligtroom support and keeping Capture One active (regardless if option 1 or 2) changes the behaviour to a non croped version of the photo.
Disabling Capture One (then no option is active) leads to the same uncroped looking photo.

So, the choise is the complete wrong cropping with the lightroom setting or a uncropped view with Capture One or none in the settings.
Any clue? This way it's not possible to see how the developed (cature one) photo looks like.

Maybe the problem is, that the photo was first processed in lightroom and now is opened in capture one because I'm not using lightroom any more?

Greetings
Ulrich

Hert
Posts: 7053
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post by Hert » 19 Jul 21 18:36

Only enable the tool that you use (capture one is what you use?). Or don’t enable any of them
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

Ulrich
Posts: 29
Joined: 14 Jul 21 12:59

Re: Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post by Ulrich » 20 Jul 21 6:06

Hi,
as I wrote: If I only enable Capture One or even nothing, in both cases the photo is displayed uncropped in Photo Supreme, so you can't see what cropping you did in Capture One.

Hert
Posts: 7053
Joined: 13 Sep 03 7:24

Re: Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post by Hert » 22 Jul 21 10:32

PSU reads edits from a COS file. Are you saving COS files with C1?
This is a user-to-user forum. If you need product support then please send a message

HCS
Posts: 176
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post by HCS » 22 Jul 21 14:27

Can you confirm that you are indeed using Capture One (CO)?

If you are, are you using it in Session mode? If not, you're using Catalog mode and no sidecar files are created (*.cos, *.cop), because everyting is stored in the catalog of CO.

The way to use CO as a raw processor only, next to PSU (or any other photo manager for that matter) is to use it in Session mode.

I am using it that way and PSU does (generally) correctly creates thumbnails based on the crop in CO.

Ulrich
Posts: 29
Joined: 14 Jul 21 12:59

Re: Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post by Ulrich » 21 Oct 21 9:17

Hello @HCS,
unfortunately I wasn't aware of your last respone until now... :-(
This is still an unsolved topic for me and yes, I use Capture One, and I have used it until now as a catalog.
Because of your advice, I tried the session mode with an example folder, but PSU still doesn't show my Capture One editings.

Capture One is set to: Full Syncronization, Prefere XMP over IPTC and use Sidecar XMP instead of metadata embedding.
After that I did some example editings and synced the metadata in Capture One, changed to PSU and "read the metadata from file" there.
The thumb still looks unchanged. PSU shows me, that there are COS and COMASK sidecar information for that file.
Can you help me what workflow step is missing or wrong?

HCS
Posts: 176
Joined: 19 Feb 14 22:08

Re: Wrong presantation of the cropped part of a photo

Post by HCS » 25 Oct 21 15:26

Hi Ulrich,

I don't do any of the XMP stuff in Capture One, PSU manages my metadata. The files PSU is interested are the COS files. Keep in mind that PSU does a relatively rough estimated interpretation of what Capture One does perfectly, because in the end, PSU is not Capture One.

I find that crops are generally close enough for me to know whether or not i did crop the image in CO, some other edits don't show that well or at all.

Works well enough for me.

Sorry i cannot help you with your issues, perhaps you need to raise a ticket in Mantis.

Post Reply